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Important Contact Information
CHIP Premium Line: 1-866-435-7414 (select option 5)
CHIP Hotline: 1-877-KIDS-NOW (1-877-543-7669) or 1-888-222-2542 
Health Program Representative (HPR): 1-866-608-9422
CHIP Website: www.health.utah.gov/chip
CHIP Online Education: www.health.utah.gov/umb
My CHIP Case Number:   ___________________________________
My Local Eligibility Office:   ________________________________
My Doctor:   _____________________________________________
My Local Pharmacy:  ______________________________________
My Dentist: _____________________________________________

Health Plans
SelectHealth: 1-800-515-2220 or www.selecthealth.org
Molina: 1-888-483-0760 or www.molinahealthcare.com 

Dental Plans
Premier Access: 1-877-854-4242 or www.PremierLife.com
DentaQuest: 1-800-483-0031 or www.dentaquestgov.com

Other
Find an Eligibility Office Near You: 1-888-222-2542
DWS Eligibility Services Center: 1-866-435-7414
myCase (information about your case online): https://jobs.utah.gov/mycase
Primary Care Network (PCN): 1-888-222-2542 or www.health.utah.gov/pcn
Utah’s Premium Partnership (UPP): 1-888-222-2542 or www.health.utah.gov/upp
Medicaid: 1-800-662-9651 or www.health.utah.gov/medicaid
General Information: 2-1-1



CHIP
____________________________________

Children’s Health Insurance Program

1-877-KIDS-NOW   health.utah.gov/chip

Member Guide
 Effective 2014

1-877-KIDS-NOW
(1-877-543-7669)

health.utah.gov/chip





3

Table of Contents

Introduction 5
Welcome 6
Summary of Covered Benefits 6
Your Health Program Representative (HPR) 7
Your Eligibility Office 7
Enrollment Review 8
Interpretive Services 8
HIPAA Privacy Act 8

Choosing a Medical and Dental Plan 9
How To Choose a Medical Plan 10
Counties 11
Hospitals 12
How To Choose a Dental Plan 14
Common Questions about CHIP 15

Premiums and Co-pays 19
Premiums 20
Co-pays 21
Co-pay Plan Summary (B & C) 22
Maximum Out-of-Pocket Costs 24

Resources 27
Eligibility Services 28
Out-of-Pocket Maximum Claim Form 29
Health Plan Selection Form 31
CHIP Enrollee Rights and Responsibilities 33
Notice of Privacy Rights 34



4



i-877-KIDS-NOW

INTRODUCTION

health.utah.gov/CHIP

Member Guide

CHIP Member Guide



6

Welcome

Welcome to the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Many 
working Utah families who do not have health insurance for their 
children may qualify for low cost insurance. CHIP offers services 
through: 

Two Medical Plans
    •  SelectHealth 
    •  Molina Healthcare of Utah

Two Dental Plans
    •  Premier Access 
    •  DentaQuest

After you have been approved for CHIP, it is time for you to 
choose a health plan so that you can begin using your benefits 
and services. CHIP benefits are the same no matter which 
medical or dental plan you choose. Your local Health Program 
Representative (HPR) will help you through that process (see page 
10).

For information about CHIP policies, please see the CHIP Policy 
Manual by visiting www.utahcares.utah.gov/infosourcechip. 

Summary of Covered Benefits

CHIP covers the following benefits for your children:
    • Well-child exams ($0 co-pay)
    • Immunizations ($0 co-pay)
    • Doctor visits 
    • Medical emergency services
    • Prescriptions 
    • Hearing and vision exams 
    • Mental health services 
    • Dental services for prevention and treatment of tooth decay
       ($0 co-pay for exams and cleanings)

Because preventive care is so important in keeping your child 
healthy, CHIP does not require a co-pay for well-child exams and 
immunizations. For a more detailed list of benefits and co-pays, 
see page 19. 
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Your Health Program Representative

Your HPR will help you choose your health and dental plans.  See 
“How to Choose a Health Plan” on page 10 for more information. 
Your HPR will also:
    •  Offer free classes to you about how CHIP works
    •  Answer general questions about your health plan
    •  Give online education tools about CHIP at 
        www.health.utah.gov/umb

Your Eligibility Office

An eligibility representative from the Department of Workforce 
Services (DWS) reviews your CHIP application, determines if you 
are eligible, and conducts your annual review. You must call the 
eligibility office if you have a:
    •  Change in the number of family members living at home
    •  Change of address, phone number, or move out of state
    •  Change in health insurance coverage (Let DWS know within 
        10 days if your child enrolls in other health insurance or if 
        insurance becomes available through your work.  Read more   
        about other insurance on page 17.)

You do not need to call your eligibility worker when your income 
changes. However, if your income goes down a lot, you may want 
to call your eligibility office to see if you qualify for lower
co-pays, premiums, or for a different medical assistance program.

You may talk with a DWS eligibility worker or find out the status of 
your application, review, pending verifications, etc., by:
    •   Phone: 1-866-435-7414
    •   Online access through myCase (24 hours) at 
         https://jobs.utah.gov/mycase
    
Eligibility Concerns. If you do not agree with the decision made 
on your case or if you feel you have been treated unfairly, you 
have the right to: 
    •  Talk with an eligibility worker or his/her supervisor
    •  Call the DWS Office of Constituent Services at 1-800-331-4341
    •  Ask for a fair hearing no later than 90 days after the notice of         
        action from DWS
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Enrollment Review

CHIP reviews your eligibility every twelve months. 
    •  At that time, CHIP will send you a review form. 
    •  You will need to follow the instructions and complete the   
        review form.
    •  You may complete your CHIP renewal or apply for benefits at
        myCase online:  https://jobs.utah.gov/mycase

It is important to complete the review process on time or your 
case may be closed. If your case is closed for more than three 
months, you will need to re-apply. 

Interpretive Services

If you are deaf or hearing impaired, or speak another language, 
you can get an interpreter. When you call the CHIP hotline or 
CHIP premium office, CHIP provides an interpreter over the 
phone to help you. If you need interpretive services at your 
doctor or dentist’s office, call you health plan (SelectHealth/
Molina) or dental plan (Premier Access/DentaQuest) before your 
appointment to make arrangements.

Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act (HIPAA)

The HIPAA Privacy Act describes how medical information about 
you may be used and disclosed and how you may get the 
information. The Utah Department of Health is committed to 
protecting your medical information, providing this notice to you, 
and abiding by the terms of the notice (see page 34). 
Reference: www.health.utah.gov/hipaa
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How To Choose a Medical Plan

CHIP has two health plans: SelectHealth and Molina. You may 
choose the one you want.  

The CHIP benefits and co-pays for SelectHealth and Molina are the 
same but the list of doctors and hospitals may be different.  Please 
check with your current doctor to see which medical plan they 
accept.  Or you may contact each plan toll-free, to find out if your 
doctor is already in their network.

Follow the steps below to choose your medical plan:

1. Decide between SelectHealth and Molina 
    •  If you are approved for CHIP, you will get a letter asking you 
        to choose a medical plan. 
    •  Your HPR will help you choose your plan.
    •  Use the following charts (pages 11-13) to help you decide 
        which medical plan is best for your family. 
  
2. Contact your Health Program Representative (HPR)
    •  Once you have chosen a medical plan, contact your HPR by:
	 •  Email. Send an email to chiphpr@utah.gov with 
              your plan choice, case number, names of parent/
              guardian and children, and contact information.
    	 •  Mail. Using the “Health Plan Selection Form” (page 31), 
	     mail it to: 
		  BMHC CHIP  HPR
		  PO Box 143108, SLC, UT 84114 
	 •  Fax. Using the “Health Plan Selection Form” (page 31), 
	     fax it to: (801) 237-0743 
	 •  Phone. Call your HPR using the following phone numbers:
		  If you live in Salt Lake County:	 (801) 526-9422
		  Call toll-free:			   1-866-608-9422

It is critical that you choose your medical plan within two weeks 
of approval, or one will be assigned.  If your child was seen by a 
doctor or hospital that is not covered under the medical plan you 
select or is assigned to you, you may be responsible for payment. 

Note: If you do not tell your HPR which medical plan you want, 
one will be chosen for you.



Counties
This is a list of counties where CHIP services are offered.    
Contact the health plans if you need more information.
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Counties
Available		

SelectHealth
1-800-515-2220

www.selecthealth.org

Molina
1-888-483-0760

www.molinahealthcare.com

Beaver  

Box Elder  

Cache  

Carbon  

Daggett 

Davis  

Duchesne  

Emery 

Garfield  

Grand  

Iron  

Juab  

Kane  

Millard  

Morgan  

Piute  

Rich  

Salt Lake  

San Juan  

Sanpete  

Sevier  

Summit  

Tooele  

Uintah  

Utah  

Wasatch  

Washington  

Wayne  

Weber  
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Hospitals
This is a list of hospitals where CHIP services are offered.

Hospitals		  SelectHealth Molina

Alta View Hospital 

American Fork Hospital 

Ashley Regional Medical Center 

Bear River Valley Hospital  

Bear Lake Memorial Hospital 

Beaver Valley Hospital  

Blue Mountain Hospital  

Brigham City Community Hospital  

Cache Valley Specialty Hospital  

Cassia Regional Medical Center  

Castle View Memorial Hospital  

Central Valley Medical Center  

Davis Hospital  & Medical Center  

Delta Community Medical Center  

Dixie Regional Hospital  

Fillmore Community  Medical 
Center

 

Franklin County Medical Center 

Garfield Memorial Hospital  

Gunnison Valley Hospital  

Heber Valley Medical Center  

Huntsman Cancer Hospital 

Intermountain Medical Center 

Jordan Valley Hospital 

Kane County Hospital  

Lakeview Hospital 

LDS Hospital  *
Logan Regional Hospital  

McKay Dee Medical Center 

Milford Valley Memorial Hospital  

Moab Regional Hospital  

Mountain View Hospital 

Mountain West Medical Center  

Ogden Regional Medical Center 
*Requires prior approval from the health plan
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Hospitals		  SelectHealth Molina

Oneida County Hospital 

Orem Community Hospital 

The Orthopedic Specialty 
Hospital



Park City Medical Center 

Pioneer Valley Hospital 

Primary Children’s Medical 
Center

 

Riverton Hospital 

Salt Lake Regional Medical 
Center



San Juan Hospital  

Sanpete Valley Hospital  

Sevier Valley Medical Center  

St. Marks Hospital 

Timpanogos Regional Hospital 

Uintah Basin Medical Center  

University of Utah Hospital 

Utah Valley Regional Medical 
Center

 *

Valley View Medical Center  

*Requires prior approval from the health plan

Hospitals (continued)
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How To Choose a Dental Plan

CHIP has two dental plans:  Premier Access and DentaQuest  

Wasatch Front.  If you live along the Wasatch Front (including 
Salt Lake, Utah, Weber and Davis counties) you have the choice 
to choose between DentaQuest and Premier Access.  

Non-Wasatch Front. If you live in any other county besides Salt 
Lake, Utah, Weber and Davis, you will have Premier Access as 
your dental plan.  Before you receive dental treatment, please 
check with your dentist to make sure they accept Premier Access 
insurance.

The benefits and co-pays for Premier Access and DentaQuest are 
the same but the list of dentists may be different.   Please check 
with your current dentist to see which dental plan they accept.  
Or you may contact each plan toll-free, to find out if your dentist 
is already in their network.

Once you have selected your dental plan, contact your HPR with 
your dental plan selection:
	 • Email. Send an email to chiphpr@utah.gov with 
             your plan choice, case number, names of parent/
             guardian and children, and contact information.
    	 • Mail. Using the “Health Plan Selection Form” (page 31), 
	    mail it to: BMHC CHIP  HPR, PO Box 143108, SLC, UT 
             84114 
	 • Fax. Using the “Health Plan Selection Form” (page 31), 
	    fax it to: (801) 237-0743 
	 • Phone. Call your HPR using the following phone numbers:

	 If you live in Salt Lake County:		  (801) 526-9422
	 Call toll-free:				    1-866-608-9422

Note: If you do not tell your HPR which dental plan you want, 
one will be chosen for you.
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Common Questions 

What will my medical and dental plans do for me?
    • Process your claims
    • Send you medical and dental ID cards
    • Send you a booklet of health care providers for you 
       to choose from
    • Pre-authorize procedures when needed
    • Answer your questions about benefits

When will I get my medical and dental cards?
You will receive your ID cards within 2-3 weeks after 
selecting your medical and dental plan for each child 
enrolled in CHIP. If you do not get your card or if you lose 
it, call your plan. 

What should I do if my children need health care before we 
get the CHIP ID cards?

In some cases you may need to pay for services.  You may 
be reimbursed for CHIP covered services.  Contact your 
medical or dental plan or an HPR if you have questions.

Will I get a new card if I add a family member to CHIP?
You will get a new medical card for any child added to 
CHIP.  If you need medical coverage for a family member 
that is not currently covered by Medicaid or CHIP, contact 
your eligibility worker at the Department of Workforce 
Services to see if the child is eligible. 

How do I know what is covered by CHIP?
Your medical and dental plans will send you a packet 
that includes information about covered benefits, pre-
authorization, and a list of providers you may use. Call 
your health plan if you do not receive it within 4-6 weeks.
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Do we have to use a participating provider?
Yes. Both your medical and dental plans require you to use 
a provider that participates in their networks.

Do I need to get a referral before I can see a specialist?
Check with your medical and dental plan before visiting a 
specialist.

Which pharmacies can I use?
You may use any SelectHealth approved or Molina approved 
pharmacy. Your health plan will send you more details.

Can I get help in coordinating my medical services?
Yes. SelectHealth and Molina offer case management 
services to help you coordinate your medical services. 
Contact your health plan for more information.

Can I change my health and dental plans?
You must stay with your selected medical and dental plans 
through June 30 of each year. However, you can change 
your plan during the yearly plan switch period from May to 
mid-June. Any changes made at that time will be effective 
July 1 of that year. You will get a letter each year to 
remind you of the yearly plan change period. 

If you move to a different county within Utah, you must 
call your HPR because your current medical or dental plan 
may not be available in your new county. 

For more information, contact your HPR (see page 10).

Are there any other benefits I should know about?
Call SelectHealth or Molina to learn about incentives or 
other programs they may offer. 

What if I disagree with the actions or decisions of my health 
plan?

If you do not agree with the actions of your medical or 
dental plan, you can request an appeal.  You must pursue 
an appeal with your medical or dental plan within 30 days 
from the date you are told of their action or decision.  
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

What if I disagree with the actions or decisions of my health 
plan? (continued)

If you disagree with the outcome of your medical or dental 
plan’s appeal process, you can request a hearing with 
the Hearing Unit at the Division of Medicaid and Health 
Financing. The request must be made within 30 days of 
when you are told of your medical or dental plan’s appeal 
decision.  

You must pursue an appeal with your health plan first 
before you can have a hearing with the State’s Hearing 
Unit. If you do not appeal with your health plan first, you 
cannot have a hearing with the State.

What if my child enrolls in other insurance?
Your child cannot have other insurance and be covered by 
CHIP unless the insurance is a limited coverage plan (such 
as a dental or vision only plan, etc.).  You must notify DWS 
within ten (10) days of enrollment. 

Once DWS is notified, they will review the information to 
determine if your child will continue to qualify for CHIP.  If 
your CHIP case closes, notify your child’s medical providers 
to bill your other insurance, instead of CHIP.  

What happens when my child gains access to insurance?
If your child gains access to insurance after they are 
approved for CHIP, you must notify DWS within ten (10) 
days.  If you choose not to enroll in the insurance, your
child may continue to be covered by CHIP until renewal.  If 
you choose to enroll in the insurance your child (or family)
may be eligible for UPP (Utah’s Premium Partnership) and 
may qualify for a premium reimbursement.   

Visit www.health.utah.gov/upp for more information or 
contact DWS at 866-435-7414 and ask to speak with an UPP 
specialist. 
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

What happens if my child has been covered by other insurance 
for a while, and I did not report it or I did not know about it?

Your child cannot have CHIP in addition to other medical 
insurance coverage.  Unless the other medical insurance is 
a limited coverage plan.  

If your child is covered by another medical insurance 
policy while receiving CHIP coverage you will have an 
overpayment.  You may be responsible for paying back to 
the State the amount of the medical premium that the 
State had paid for your child’s CHIP medical plan for each 
month that your child was ineligible for CHIP.  Contact 
your DWS eligibility worker to report changes in insurance 
coverage within ten (10) days of the change.  

Will my child’s medical information be added to the cHIE?
CHIP enrollees are automatically enrolled in the Utah 
Clinical Health Information Exchange (cHIE). The cHIE 
provides a safe place for participating healthcare providers 
to share and view patient medical information. 

Once you enroll your child in CHIP, your child’s consent 
status is set to PARTICIPATE. This will remain in effect until 
your child turns 18 years old. You have the right to change 
your child’s consent status to not participate in the cHIE 
at any time. For more information or to opt out of cHIE 
participation, visit My cHIE at http://www.mychie.org/ or 
talk to a healthcare provider.
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Premiums

Depending on your income, you may need to pay a premium (up 
to $75) every quarter.  The premium is a set amount no matter 
how many children you have. 

The Department of Workforce Service (DWS) Business Office will 
send an invoice when your premiums are due.  You will receive a 
new invoice every three (3) months, starting with the first month 
that your child enrolled in CHIP.

DWS has monthly payment options available for you, too.  Just 
call the DWS Business Office and ask.

You may choose any of the following ways to pay your premiums:

    • Online: https://jobs.utah.gov/mycase
    • Phone: DWS Business Office 1-866-435-7414 (select option 5)
                   (Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.)
    • Mail:  Department of Workforce Services
                Business Office
                P.O. Box 143250
                Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3250

Late Fee

It is very important that you pay your premium on time. If you do 
not pay it by the due date, a $15 late fee will be charged to your 
account. You will then have to pay the premium and the late fee 
to keep your child on CHIP.  If you do not pay your premium, your 
case will be closed.  

There may be a delay in getting benefits until your medical and 
dental plans are notified that your child is eligible again.  Contact 
your HPR if your child has an immediate need.  
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Co-pays

Most CHIP families will need to pay a co-pay for medical and 
dental services. Based on your income, a representative from 
your local eligibility office will determine which CHIP Co-pay Plan 
A, B, or C you are eligible for. The co-pay plan you are assigned 
to will be listed on your CHIP ID card. The next few pages outline 
the benefits and co-pays for each plan. Preventive care services 
like immunizations and well-child exams do not have a co-pay.

Deductible. Plan A does not have a deductible. However, Plan 
B and Plan C require that you pay a deductible. A deductible is 
the part of a claim that is not covered by CHIP. You must pay the 
deductible first before CHIP can pay the remaining cost of these 
bills. This applies to inpatient, outpatient hospital, and major 
diagnostic services. 

Who Does Not Pay Co-pays or Premiums

Verified American Indian and Alaska Native children do not pay 
co-pays or quarterly premiums.  A CHIP enrollee must provide 
tribal membership verification.  The tribe must be recognized by 
the federal government. 

Acceptable verification of American Indian and Alaska Native 
status includes:
	 • Tribal Identification/Enrollment Card or Number
	 • Certificate of Degree of Indian or Alaska Native Blood 
             (CDIB) signed by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
	 • Indian Health Services (IHS) Face Sheet (IHS Face Sheet 
             is a medical record certified by IHS as being from their 
             original records)
	 • Tribal Court Documents

Zero Countable Income.  CHIP families that do not have income 
in the benefit period do not have to pay co-pays or deductibles 
for CHIP covered services.  
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CHIP Co-Pay Plan B 
Out-of-Pocket Maximum 5% of family’s annual gross income, including 

dental expenses*

Premium $30/family/quarter

Pre-existing Condition No waiting period

Medical Benefits

Deductible $40 per family

Well-Child Exams $0

Immunizations $0

Doctor Visits $5

Specialist Visits $5

Emergency Room $5; $10 for non-emergency

Ambulance 5% of approved amount after deductible 

Urgent Care Center $5

Ambulatory Surgical & Outpatient Hospital 5% of approved amount after deductible

Inpatient Hospital Services $150 after deductible 

Lab & X-ray $0 for minor diagnostic tests and x-rays; 5% of 
approved amount after deductible for major 
diagnostic tests and x-rays

Surgeon 5% of approved amount

Anesthesiologist 5% of approved amount

Prescriptions
     Preferred Generic Drug
     Preferred Brand Name Drug
     Non-Preferred Drug

- $5
- 5% of approved amount
- 5% of approved amount

Mental Health Services
     Inpatient & Outpatient Facility 
     Office Visit

- $150 after deductible
- $0 

Residential Treatment 5% of approved amount after deductible (25 day 
limit per year)

Physical Therapy $5 (20 visit limit per year)

Chiropractic Visits Not a covered benefit

Home Health & Hospice Care 5% of approved amount after deductible

Medical Equipment & Supplies 5% of approved amount after deductible

Diabetes Education $0

Vision Screening $5 (1 visit limit per year)

Hearing Screening $5 (1 visit limit per year)

Dental Benefits
Deductible $0

Maximum Benefit (Preventive, Basic & Major services) $1,000 per plan year, per child

Preventive Services
- Routine exams and cleanings (2 per year),   
  topical fluoride, x-rays

$0

Basic Services
- Fillings, extractions, oral surgery, endodontics, periodontics

5% of approved amount

Major Services   (Crowns, bridges, dentures) 5% of approved amount

Orthodontics
- Covered ONLY if medically necessary

5% of approved amount ($1,000 lifetime 
maximum**).  Requires Prior Authorization.

Specialists
- Endodontists, oral surgeons, periodontists, pediatric 
specialists, prosthodontists

5% of approved amount

* CHIP will send you an approval letter, telling you your family’s approximate out-of-pocket maximum amount.
** Orthodontic services are not included in the annual maximum benefit.
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CHIP Co-Pay Plan B 
Out-of-Pocket Maximum 5% of family’s annual gross income, including 

dental expenses*

Premium $30/family/quarter

Pre-existing Condition No waiting period

Medical Benefits

Deductible $40 per family

Well-Child Exams $0

Immunizations $0

Doctor Visits $5

Specialist Visits $5

Emergency Room $5; $10 for non-emergency

Ambulance 5% of approved amount after deductible 

Urgent Care Center $5

Ambulatory Surgical & Outpatient Hospital 5% of approved amount after deductible

Inpatient Hospital Services $150 after deductible 

Lab & X-ray $0 for minor diagnostic tests and x-rays; 5% of 
approved amount after deductible for major 
diagnostic tests and x-rays

Surgeon 5% of approved amount

Anesthesiologist 5% of approved amount

Prescriptions
     Preferred Generic Drug
     Preferred Brand Name Drug
     Non-Preferred Drug

- $5
- 5% of approved amount
- 5% of approved amount

Mental Health Services
     Inpatient & Outpatient Facility 
     Office Visit

- $150 after deductible
- $0 

Residential Treatment 5% of approved amount after deductible (25 day 
limit per year)

Physical Therapy $5 (20 visit limit per year)

Chiropractic Visits Not a covered benefit

Home Health & Hospice Care 5% of approved amount after deductible

Medical Equipment & Supplies 5% of approved amount after deductible

Diabetes Education $0

Vision Screening $5 (1 visit limit per year)

Hearing Screening $5 (1 visit limit per year)

Dental Benefits
Deductible $0

Maximum Benefit (Preventive, Basic & Major services) $1,000 per plan year, per child

Preventive Services
- Routine exams and cleanings (2 per year),   
  topical fluoride, x-rays

$0

Basic Services
- Fillings, extractions, oral surgery, endodontics, periodontics

5% of approved amount

Major Services   (Crowns, bridges, dentures) 5% of approved amount

Orthodontics
- Covered ONLY if medically necessary

5% of approved amount ($1,000 lifetime 
maximum**).  Requires Prior Authorization.

Specialists
- Endodontists, oral surgeons, periodontists, pediatric 
specialists, prosthodontists

5% of approved amount

* CHIP will send you an approval letter, telling you your family’s approximate out-of-pocket maximum amount.
** Orthodontic services are not included in the annual maximum benefit.

CHIP Co-Pay Plan C 
Out-of-Pocket Maximum 5% of family’s annual gross income, including 

dental expenses*

Premium $75/family/quarter

Pre-existing Condition No waiting period

Medical Benefits

Deductible $500 per child; $1,500 per family

Well-Child Exams $0

Immunizations $0

Doctor Visits $25

Specialist Visits $40

Emergency Room $300 after deductible

Ambulance 20% of approved amount after deductible 

Urgent Care Center $40

Ambulatory Surgical & Outpatient Hospital 20% of approved amount after deductible

Inpatient Hospital Services 20% of approved amount after deductible 

Lab & X-ray $0 for minor diagnostic tests and x-rays; 20% 
of approved amount after deductible for major 
diagnostic tests and x-rays

Surgeon 20% of approved amount after deductible

Anesthesiologist 20% of approved amount after deductible

Prescriptions
     Preferred Generic Drug
     Preferred Brand Name Drug
     Non-Preferred Drug

- $15
- 25% of approved amount
- 50% of approved amount

Mental Health Services
     Inpatient & Outpatient Facility
     Office Visit

- 20% of approved amount after deductible
- $0 

Residential Treatment 20% of approved amount after deductible (25 
day limit per year)

Physical Therapy $40 after deductible (20 visit limit per year)

Chiropractic Visits Not a covered benefit

Home Health & Hospice Care 20% of approved amount after deductible

Medical Equipment & Supplies 20% of approved amount after deductible

Diabetes Education $0

Vision Screening $25 (1 visit limit per year)

Hearing Screening $25 (1 visit limit per year)

Dental Benefits
Deductible $50 per child; $150 per family

Maximum Benefit (Preventive, Basic & Major services) $1,000 per plan year, per child

Preventive Services
- Routine exams and cleanings (2 per year), topical 
  fluoride, x-rays

$0

Basic Services
- Fillings, extractions, oral surgery, endodontics, periodontics

20% of approved amount after deductible

Major Services (Crowns, bridges, dentures) 50% of approved amount after deductible

Orthodontics
- Covered ONLY if medically necessary

50% of approved amount ($1,000 lifetime 
maximum**).  Requires Prior Authorization.

Specialists
- Endodontists, oral surgeons, periodontists, pediatric 
specialists, prosthodontists

Talk to your dental plan for an estimate of 
additional charges.

* CHIP will send you an approval letter, telling you your family’s approximate out-of-pocket maximum amount.
** Orthodontic services are not included in the annual maximum benefit.
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Maximum Out-of-Pocket Costs

What is the most I will need to pay?
You do not need to pay more than 5% of your household’s 
countable income for out of pocket expenses each benefit 
period. The out of pocket expenses include deductibles, 
premiums, and co-pays, owed for CHIP covered services.  DWS 
will send you an approval letter, telling you the approximate 
out-of-pocket maximum amount for your household.  

What happens when I have paid the maximum out-of- pocket?
Once you have reached 5% of your household’s annual income, 
your household will no longer have to pay co-pays for that 
benefit period.  Quarterly premium payments are still required 
for CHIP Plan B and C. 
 

When should I start tracking my out-of-pocket expenses?
Start tracking the day your child becomes eligible for CHIP.  We 
have included a form to help you track these expenses each 
year. See the “Out-of-Pocket Maximum Claim Form” on page 29, 
call 1-888-222-2542 for a form to be mailed to you, or download 
it from: www.health.utah.gov/chip/resources.  
 

What are the dates for the benefit period?
The benefit period is 12 months of CHIP coverage, beginning 
with the month your child became eligible for CHIP.  Check with 
DWS if you do not know which month your child’s CHIP coverage 
began.  

The benefit period may be shorter than 12 months if:
   • your child no longer qualifies for CHIP;
   • you request an early review of your medical eligibility;
   • your child becomes eligible for Medicaid; or
   • your child qualifies for a better CHIP plan 
 

How do I show that I have paid the maximum out-of-pocket?
• Each time you pay a co-pay or deductible , write the 
   information on the “Out-of-Pocket Maximum Claim Form” 
   (page 29).  
• Once the co-pays and deductibles add up to your 5% maximum 
   or more, mail or fax the completed claim form to:
       BMHC CHIP, PO Box 143108, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3108
       Fax: (801) 538-6099
       Or call 1-888-222-2542 or 801-538-6728 in Salt Lake County
• You can get more claim forms by calling 1-888-222-2542    
   or downloading it from: www.health.utah.gov/chip/resources
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

What happens next?
• CHIP will make sure you have met your 5% maximum
   out-of-pocket costs.
• If you have met your maximum, CHIP will send you a 
   letter verifying your out-of-pocket maximum is met and  
   that you do not owe co-pays or deductibles through the  
   end of the benefit period.    
• You can use the letter to show your health care 
   provider that you do not owe co-pays or deductibles 
   until you get a new card.
• You will receive new cards from your medical and dental
   plan showing that no co-pay is due, if you meet the out-
   of-pocket maximum before the end of your current 
   benefit period.  

What if my income changes?
If your income or household size changes, you may qualify 
for a lower cost CHIP plan.  You may also qualify for a 
different medical assistance program.  To find out, you 
may ask for an early review. If you still qualify for CHIP, the 
following changes occur:
• A new 12-month benefit period begins
• You will have a new 5% maximum amount for co-pays and 
   deductibles 
• The 5% maximum amount starts over
• Co-pays, deductibles or premiums paid in the previous 
   benefit year do not count toward the new benefit
   period’s maximum out-of-pocket amount
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.
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Eligibility Services

Talk to an eligibility worker by calling the DWS Eligibility Services Center at 
1-866-435-7414.  You may also access information about your case online, 
including your benefit status and verifications received by DWS.  You may 
also chat online with an eligibility worker at: https://jobs.utah.gov/mycase

An eligibility worker from DWS can also help you if you have family members 
on Medicaid, Primary Care Network (PCN), or Utah’s Premium Partnership 
for Health Insurance (UPP).

Find Your Local Tribal/Indian Health Services Office
Name Contact Phone

Confederated Tribes of 
Goshute Indian Reservation

Christine Steele (435) 234-1194

Fort Duchesne U & O Indian Health 
Services Clinic

Francine Kagenveama (435) 725-6828

Utah Navajo Health Systems, Inc.
     Blanding Family Practice
	
     Montezuma Creek 
     Community Health Center

     Monument Valley Health Center

     Navajo Mountain Health Center

Maure Keith

Darlene Eddie

Gilene Smith-Walker

Gilene Smith-Walker

(435) 678-3601

(435) 651-3746

(435) 727-3000

(435) 727-3000
Northwestern Band of 
Shoshone Nation

Gayla Pena (435) 734-2286

Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Laurel Yellowhorse
(Outreach & Benefits)

Shivwits Clinic

Cedar City Clinic

Koosharem Clinic

Kanosh Clinic

(435) 586-1112 or 
1-800-658-5340

(435) 688-8198

(435) 867-1520

(435) 893-0977

(435) 759-2610
Urban Indian Center of Salt Lake Victoria Migoli (801) 214-7664
Ute Mountain Ute Health Center Sophie Romero (970) 565-4441 
Ute Indian Tribe
     Ute Family Services

     Family Group Decision   
     Making Support Staff

Cecilia Bausch

Kaye Black

(435) 725-4054

(435) 725-4876
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              Out-of-Pocket 
              Maximum Claim Form

My out-of-pocket maximum is: $_________________________________
Parent/Guardian Name: ________________________________________
Health and Dental Plan:________________________________________

We have provided this form to help you keep track of your children’s medical 
and dental services. After your out-of-pocket maximum is met, return this 
form to CHIP (see below). Complete one line for each co-pay or co-insurance 
you pay. You do not need to submit receipts, but keep them for your records. 

You may submit claim forms up to one year after the end of the benefit year in 
which the expenses occur. 

Child’s 
Name

Date of 
visit or 
claim

Did you 
pay this 
bill? Y/N

Health Care Provider’s 
Name and Mailing Address 

Amount of 
co-pay or 
co-insurance

Subtotal on this page:

Grand Total (for all pages) $_________

Return form to:
BMHC CHIP, PO Box 143108, SLC, UT 84114-3108 
Fax: (801) 538-6099
E-mail: chip@utah.gov 
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Child’s 
Name

Date of 
visit or 
claim

Did you 
pay this 
bill? Y/N

Health Care Provider’s 
Name and Mailing 
Address 

Amount of 
co-pay or 
co-insurance

Subtotal on this page:

Return form to:
BMHC CHIP, PO Box 143108, SLC, UT 84114-3108 
Fax: (801) 538-6099
E-mail: chip@utah.gov 
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Case #

Name of 
Parent/
Guardian

(First, Last) Date of Birth 

Name(s) of 
child/
children

(First, Last) 	                                        Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

Contact 
Information

(Address, City, State, Zip)            

(Daytime Phone)               
(Cell phone) 

(E-mail address) 

My Choice of 
Health Plan o SelectHealth    o Molina

My Choice of 
Dental Plan

(Salt Lake, Utah, Weber, and Davis County Residents Only)

o Premier Access        o DentaQuest

Note: You must stay with your selected health plan through June 30 of 
each year. 

Return form to:
BMHC CHIP HPR, PO Box 143108
SLC, UT  84114-3108
Fax: (801) 237-0743
E-mail: chiphpr@utah.gov

          Health Plan Selection Form

Once you have chosen a health and dental plan, please mail or fax this 
form to your HPR. Or e-mail chiphpr@utah.gov with your plan choice and 
the information below. 
(Please print clearly)
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Name(s) of 
child/
children:

(First, Last) 	                                        Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

(First, Last) Date of Birth

(First, Last)  Date of Birth

Return form to:
BMHC CHIP HPR, PO Box 143108
SLC, UT  84114-3108
Fax: (801) 237-0743
E-mail: chiphpr@utah.gov
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

CHIP Enrollee Rights and Responsibilities 

Persons who are eligible for CHIP have the right to:
 

• Receive correct and timely benefits. 
• Receive proper notice if there is a change in the benefits for 
   which they qualify. 
• Be treated with dignity, courtesy and respect.  
• Receive information about medical programs including 
   Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program.  
   Anyone can look at a copy of the policy manual for any 
   program.

Your Responsibilities as a CHIP Enrollee:

You must report the following changes to the Department of 
Workforce Services within ten (10) calendar days of the day you 
learn of the change.  

• You child begins to receive coverage under a group 
   health plan or other health insurance coverage.
• You gain access to coverage under a health 
   insurance plan offered by an employer where the cost         
   to enroll the child is less than 5% of your household 
   countable income.
• You begin to be covered or gain access to coverage under a 
   state employee’s group health plan due to a parent’s or 
   legal guardian’s employment with the state.
• Your enrolled child leaves the household or dies.
• Your enrolled child or your household moves out of state.
• Your enrolled child or your household changes your address.
• Your enrolled child enters a public institution or an 
   Institution for Mental Disease. 

An individual who intentionally provides false information and 
who completed the application on behalf of an enrollee is 
responsible for repaying any incorrect benefits received by the 
enrollee.
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

Utah Department of Health, Division of Medicaid and Health Financing

Notice of Privacy Rights
THIS NOTICE DESCRIBES HOW MEDICAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOU MAY BE USED 
AND DISCLOSED AND HOW YOU MAY ACCESS THIS INFORMATION. PLEASE REVIEW 
IT CAREFULLY.  Effective:  September, 1 2013

The Utah Department of Health, Division of Medicaid and Health Financing (DMHF) is 
committed to protecting your medical information. DMHF is required by law to maintain the 
privacy of your medical information, provide this notice to you, and abide by the terms of this 
notice.

How We Use and Disclose Your Protected Health Information
DMHF may use your health information for conducting our business. Examples:

Treatment - We may use your health information to appropriately determine approvals or 
denials of your medical treatment.  For example, if you are a Medicaid, Primary Care Network 
(PCN), Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or a Utah’s Premium Partnership for 
Health Insurance (UPP) recipient we may review the treatment plan provided by your health 
care provider to determine if it is medically necessary. 

Payment - We may use your health information to determine your eligibility in the Medicaid, 
PCN, CHIP, or UPP program and make payment to your health care provider. For example, we 
may review claims for payment by DMHF for medical services you received from your provider.

Health Care Operations - We may use your health information to evaluate the performance of 
a health plan or a health care provider. For example, DMHF contracts with consultants who 
review the records of hospitals and other organizations to determine the quality of care you 
received.

Informational Purposes - We may use your health information to give you helpful information 
such as health plan choices, program benefit updates, and free medical exams. 

Your Individual Rights
You have the right to:
•	 Request in writing restrictions on how we use and share your health information. We 

will consider all requests for restrictions carefully but are not required to agree to any 
restriction. *

•	 Request that we use a specific telephone number or address to communicate with you.
•	 Inspect and get a copy of your health information (including an electronic copy if we 

maintain the record electronically). Fees may apply. Under limited circumstances, we may 
deny you access to a portion of your health information and you may request a review of 
the denial.*

•	 Request in writing corrections or additions to your health information.*
•	 Change your participation in the Clinical Health Information Exchange (cHIE). Contact the 

cHIE by phone (801.466.7705), fax (801.466.7169), or at chie@uhin.org to change your 
participation status. 

•	 Request an accounting of certain disclosures of your health information made by us. The 
accounting does not include disclosures made for treatment, payment, and health care 
operations and some disclosures required by law. Your request must state the period of 
time desired for the accounting, which must be within the six years prior to your request. 
The first accounting is free but a fee will apply if more than one request is made in a 
12-month period.*

•	 Request a paper copy of this notice even if you agree to receive it electronically.
•	 Requests marked with a star (*) must be made in writing. 

*Must be made in writing. Contact the DMHF Privacy Officer for the appropriate form for your 
request.
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Big Title

Con vel iriusto ea acilla amconse consequam velit aute feum-
san hent nis nis eugue magnismod dolut wissequisit nit iure con 
hendre feuis nit aciduipsum atumsan ut la feugueril utpat. Dunt 
vel ute tin hent duisseq uipissequat, commolore tat, core velis-
sisit, se mod eratet, se tet prat. Alit adit nonsequ ismolut vel elit 
ilisit vel duiscilisl ex el ing endigna faccum verostrud modignibh 
eugiam esecte magnit praesenit landrem inis adipit lum ipsum 
quationse ea conullaor sum venis ad tat, quisl iure magnis nos non 
ulput nisl el utpate dolent luptat utpat prat atio ea feum zzrilis 
auguerci exercil iquamet, quam vel in endrem zzriure eugiat nos-
trud mod magna facidunt venissequi tat iliquat ad te mod dolorpe 
rcillum volore con ver ad magnit ecte veliquatum ipsumsa ndia-
tiniam dolor sim dolendipit, qui et adiate facipit irillandre digna 
facipissi elis nullaortio odolor susto dolestrud dolorem nummy 
nim dolesto od ercillan eugiamcon ullaore feugue vercin utpatum 
ationse tat. Duisi.

In ecte magnim quam aci tat. Lor suscin heniat, volor sisl ea 
faccummy nulput alit dip eu feugait dolore molore magna core 
dolendre dolenis nulla autpatie faciliquat, suscidunt lor si.

Contact the DMHF Privacy Officer to help you with any questions you may have about the privacy 
of your health information. The Privacy Officer will help you fill out any forms that are needed to 
exercise your privacy rights.

Sharing Your Health Information 
There are limited situations when we are permitted or required to disclose health information 
without your signed authorization.  These situations include activities necessary to administer 
the Medicaid, PCN, CHIP, and UPP programs and the following:
•	 To our business associates that perform services on our behalf. We require all business 

associates to appropriately safeguard your information in accordance with applicable law,
•	 As required by law. The use and disclosure will be made in full compliance with the applicable 

laws governing the disclosure.
•	 To the Department of Health to report communicable diseases, traumatic injuries, birth 

defects, or for vital statistics, such as a birth or a death;
•	 To a funeral director or an organ-donation agency when a patient dies, or to a medical 

examiner when appropriate to investigate a suspicious death;
•	 To state authorities to report child or elderly abuse;
•	 To law enforcement for certain types of crime-related injuries, such as gunshot;
•	 To the Secret Service or NSA to protect, for example, the country or the President;
•	 To a medical device’s manufacturer, as required by the FDA, to monitor the safety of a 

medical device;
•	 To court officers or an administrative tribunal as required by law, in response to an order or 

a valid subpoena;
•	 To governmental authorities to prevent serious threats to the public’s health or safety;
•	 To governmental agencies and other affected parties, to report a breach of health-information 

privacy;
•	 To a worker’s compensation program if a person is injured at work and claims benefits 

under that program. 

Other uses and disclosures of your health information, other than those explained above, 
require your signed authorization. For example, we will not use your health information unless 
you authorize us in writing to:
•	 Share any of your psychotherapy notes, if they exist, with a third party who is not part of 

your care;
•	 Share any of your health information with marketing companies; or
•	 Sell your identifiable health information.   

You may revoke your authorization at any time with a written statement.
 
Our Privacy Responsibilities 
DMHF is required by law to: 
•    Maintain the privacy of your health information;
•	 Provide this notice that describes the ways we may use and share your health information;
•	 Notify you if your health information was affected by a breach; and
•	 Follow the terms of the notice currently in effect.
 
We reserve the right to make changes to this notice at any time and make the new privacy 
practices effective for all information we maintain. Current notices will be posted in DMHF 
offices and on our website, http://health.utah.gov/hipaa. You may also request a copy of any 
notice from your DMHF Privacy Officer listed below:
 
Contact Us
If you would like further information about your privacy rights, are concerned that your privacy 
rights have been violated, or disagree with a decision that we made about access to your health 
information, Medicaid, PCN, CHIP, and UPP recipients should contact the DMHF Privacy Officer, 
Blake Anderson, 801-538-9925; 288 North 1460 West, PO Box 143102, Salt Lake City, Utah 
84114-3102; blakeanderson@utah.gov.



We will investigate all complaints and will not retaliate against you for filing a complaint. You may 
also file a written complaint with the Office of Civil Rights, 200 Independence Avenue, S. W. Room 
509F HHH Bldg., Washington, DC 20201.  Or you may contact the Federal Office for Civil Rights by 
phone (303) 844-2024 or online www.hhs.gov/ocr .



Information in the CHIP Member Guide may change without notice. This guide contains a 
brief description of coverage and is not a policy, coverage, or service agreement. A detailed 
description of services is available in SelectHealth, Molina, Premier Access and DentaQuest’s 
master policy and member handbook. 
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