Division of Health System Improvement navigation The Office of Primary Care & Rural Health The Office of Child Care Licensing The Bureau of Health Facility Licensing, Program Certification and Resident Assesment The Bureau of Emergency Medical Services



David N. Sundwall, MD

Dr. Albu & Dr. Sundwall


Current Position: Dr. Sundwall was nominated by Governor Jon Huntsman Jr. to serve as Executive Director of the Utah State Department of Health (UDOH) on January 3, 2005, and was confirmed for this position by the Utah Senate on January 17, 2005. In this capacity he supervises a workforce of almost 1,400 employees, and a budget of almost $1.8 billion.

Previous positions: David Sundwall became President of the American Clinical Laboratory Association (ACLA) in September 1994, and served in this capacity until May 2003, when he was appointed Senior Medical and Scientific Officer. The ACLA is a not-for-profit organization representing the leading national, regional, and local independent clinical laboratories. Its member companies provide more than 60 percent of the clinical lab testing in the United States done by commercial laboratories.

Prior to his position at ACLA, he was Vice President and Medical Director of American Healthcare System (AmHS), at that time the largest coalition of not-for-profit multi-hospital systems in the country.

Dr. Sundwall has extensive experience in federal government and national health policy, including:

* Administrator, Health Resources and Services Administration [HRSA}, Public Health Service, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), and Assistant Surgeon General in the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service (1986-1988). During this period, he had adjunct responsibilities at HHS including: Co-Chairman of the HHS Secretary's Task Force on Medical Liability and Malpractice, and was the HHS Secretary's Designee to the National Commission to Prevent Infant Mortality.

* Director, Health and Human Resources Staff (Majority), U.S. Senate Labor and Human Resources Committee (1981-1986).