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You are receiving this information because one of the children in your care has met CMV testing criteria. 

PLEASE add “CC: UDOH CMV (Fax# 801-584-8492)” to your LAB REQUEST 
 

UCA 26-10-10 Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public Education and Testing Law  
(3)  If a newborn infant fails the newborn hearing screening test(s) under Subsection 26-10-6(1) (Utah Newborn 
Hearing Screening Law), a medical practitioner shall: 
(a) test the newborn infant for CMV before the newborn is 21 days of age, unless a parent of the newborn  

     infant objects; and 
 (b)  provide to the parents of the newborn infant information regarding: 
 (i) birth defects caused by congenital CMV; and 
 (ii) available methods of treatment. 
 
R398-4-5. Reporting requirements 

Medical practitioners are required to submit results of the CMV testing to UDOH for each newborn under  
their care who is referred for CMV testing within 10 days of receiving results. (Fax: 801-584-8492) 
 

           Important CMV PCR Testing Information 
• Many laboratories currently offer PCR-based CMV testing. Testing should be performed only on SALIVA 

(via OraCollect 100 swab) or URINE. At present, ARUP Laboratories is the only local facility that has a 
validated test for saliva. Saliva samples should be collected at least 90 -120 minutes after 
breastfeeding to prevent false positives, as CMV can be present in breast milk. 

 
• Each primary care provider should submit specimens through their normal laboratory testing 

mechanism. If the laboratory service does not normally use ARUP as the referring laboratory and 
the saliva test is desired, please specify the testing location as ARUP, and include test name and 
test code listed below. All laboratories have the ability to forward specimens to ARUP through 
their channels. 

 
• Many Utah laboratories have validated qualitative CMV PCR assay testing on urine, including: 

LabCorp, Quest, PAML, IHC, and ARUP.  Viracor-IBT Laboratories has quantitative only. 
 
• Pricing will vary depending on the laboratory and the specific hospital contract. Primary care 

providers will need to consult their affiliated hospitals or reference laboratories to obtain pricing 
information. 

 
• The CPT code for CMV detection (qualitative) by PCR is 87496, and is covered by Medicaid and other insurances. 

 
• An appropriate ICD-10 code would be H91.90 (neonatal hearing loss). 

                                                                                   
For additional help:    Utah EHDI (801) 584-8215    or     health.utah.gov/CMV   or    smcvicar@utah.gov 
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