Disease Information
Contact Us

Communicable Disease Control


Communicable Disease


Environmental Sanitation Program

Systems Development Program

Utah Public Health Lab


Utah HAI Program Home Page

Utah Healthcare Infection Prevention
Governance Committee


The Utah Healthcare Infection Prevention (UHIP) Governance Committee is a multi-disciplinary panel of state leaders in patient safety, infectious diseases, and infection control. Membership is comprised from a broad base of care delivery groups across the State, and it is organized under and staffed by the Utah Department
of Health. The UHIP Governance Committee meets quarterly at the State Capitol, Senate Office Building in the Olmstead Room.


To provide leadership and direction for healthcare-associated infections (HAI) prevention and reporting activities in Utah, including support for the Utah HAI Work Group.



Governance Committee Chair: Jeanmarie Mayer, MD

  • Allyn Nakashima, MD - Utah Department of Health
  • Andi Stubbs, RN - Utah Association for Home Health
  • Arlen Jarrett, MD, FACOG - Iasis Healthcare, Utah Division; Utah Hospitals and Health Systems Administration
  • Boaz Markewitz, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics
  • Brett Heikens, RN, MBA - University of Utah/Kolff Dialysis Center
  • Carolyn Reese, RN - Utah Healthcare Association
  • Cherie Frame, RN, CIC - Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiolgy, Inc. (APIC), Utah Chapter
  • Dean Sanpei, MPA - Utah House of Representatives
  • Doug Smith, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  • Jack Draxler - Utah House of Representatives
  • Jeanmarie Mayer, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics, UHIP Chair
  • Joe Miner, MD - Utah County Health Department
  • Judy Daly, PhD - Primary Children's Medical Center
  • Juliana Preston, MPA - Healthinsight
  • Lisa Evans, RN - Uintah Basin Medical Center
  • Melissa Guseman, RN - Salt Lake Surgical Center
  • Patty Watkins, RN - Salt Lake Regional Medical Center
  • Rex Olsen, JD - Utah Department of Health
  • Terry Clemmer, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  • Tom Kurrus, MD - Mountainstar/St. Marks
  • Wayne Kinsey, BSN, RN - Promise Hospital of Salt Lake

Questions about the Governance Committee may be directed to Sherry Varley, Program Manager, Healthcare Associated Infections Program, Utah Department of Health, at 801-538-6191.