Accessibility Note: This site uses JavaScript menus, but not for animation. All menus should be accessible with JavaScript activated.

Utah Healthcare Infection Prevention (UHIP) Governance Committee


The Utah Healthcare Infection Prevention (UHIP) Governance Committee is a multi-disciplinary panel of state leaders in patient safety, infectious diseases, and infection control. Membership is comprised from a broad base of care delivery groups across the State, and it is organized and staffed by the Utah Department of Health. The UHIP Governance
Committee meets quarterly at the State Capitol, Senate Office Building in the Olmstead Room.


To provide leadership and direction for healthcare-associated infection prevention and reporting activities in Utah.

UHIP Agenda/Minutes



  • Allyn Nakashima, MD - Utah Department of Health
  • Andi Stubbs, RN - Utah Association for Home Health
  • Arlen Jarrett, MD, FACOG - Iasis Healthcare, Utah Division; Utah Hospitals and Health Systems Administration
  • Boaz Markewitz, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics
  • Brett Heikens, RN, MBA - University of Utah/Kolff Dialysis Center
  • Carolyn Reese, RN - Utah Healthcare Association
  • Dean Sanpei, MPA - Utah House of Representatives
  • Doug Smith, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  • Jack Draxler - Utah House of Representatives
  • Jeanmarie Mayer, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics, UHIP Chair
  • Joe Miner, MD - Utah County Health Department
  • Judy Daly, PhD - Primary Children's Medical Center
  • Juliana Preston, MPA - HealthInsight
  • Kashif Memon, MD - Iasis Health Care, Utah DIvision
  • Kristine Hegmann, MSPH, CIC - Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiolgy, Inc. (APIC), Utah Chapter
  • Linda Egbert, MS, RN, CPHQ - HealthInsight
  • Lisa Evans, RN - Uintah Basin Medical Center
  • Marsha Meyer, RN - Mountainstar/St. Marks
  • Patty Watkins, RN - Salt Lake Regional Medical Center
  • Terry Clemmer, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  • Wayne Kinsey, BSN, RN - Promise Hospital of Salt Lake



Utah Department of Health
Bureau of Epidemiology
Fax: 801-538-9913
288 North 1460 West
PO Box 142104
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2104

24-Hour Urgent Event & Disease Reporting

1-888-EPI-UTAH (374-8824)

Regular Business Hours:

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Site Map

Social Media