Accessibility Note: This site uses JavaScript menus, but not for animation. All menus should be accessible with JavaScript activated.

HAI Governance Committee

The Utah Healthcare Infection Prevention (UHIP) Governance Committee is a multi-disciplinary panel of state leaders in patient safety, infectious diseases, and infection control. Membership is comprised from a broad base of care delivery groups across the State, and it is organized and staffed by the Utah Department of Health. The UHIP Governance Committee meets quarterly at the State Capitol, Senate Office Building in the Olmstead Room.


To provide leadership and direction for healthcare-associated infection prevention and reporting activities in Utah.



  1. Adi Gundiapalli, MD - Landmark Hospital
  2. Alessandro Rossi, PhD - Utah Public Health Laboratory
  3. Allyn Nakashima, MD - Utah Department of Health
  4. Amanda Smith, PhD - Utah Department of Health
  5. Andi Stubbs, RN - Utah Association for Home Health
  6. Andy Pavia, MD - Primary Children's Hospital
  7. Angela Dunn, MD - Utah Department of Health
  8. Arlen Jarrett, MD, FACOG - Iasis Healthcare, Utah Division; Utah Hospitals and Health Systems Administration
  9. Bert Lopansri, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  10. Boaz Markewitz, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics
  11. Brett Heikens, RN, MBA - University of Utah/Kolff Dialysis Center
  12. BrieAnna Hatch, RN - APIC
  13. Carolyn Reese, RN - Utah Healthcare Association
  14. Carrie Taylor, RN - Intermountain Healthcare
  15. Cathy Gray, RN - University of Utah
  16. Cherie Frame, RN - Intermountain Healthcare
  17. Corryn Silon, MPH - Utah Department of Health
  18. David Hasleton, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  19. Emily Sydnor-Spivak, MD, MHS - VA Salt Lake Health Care System
  20. Jeanmarie Mayer, MD - University Health Care/University Hospitals and Clinics, UHIP Chair
  21. Josh Cline, RN - Primary Children's Hospital
  22. Juliana Preston, MPA - Healthinsight, Utah Quality Improvement Organization
  23. Karen Singson, RN - Utah Department of Health
  24. Kashif Memon, MD
  25. Kelly Criddle, RN - Utah Department of Health
  26. Kevin Mcculley - Utah Department of Health
  27. Kashif Memon, MD - Iasis Healthcare, Utah Division
  28. Kristin Dascomb, MD - Intermountain Healthcare
  29. Linda Egbert, RN - HealthInsight, Utah Quality Improvement Organization
  30. Lindsay Snodgrass, MPH - Utah Department of Health
  31. Lisa Evans, RN - Uintah Basin Medical Center
  32. Lisa Pearson, MSN, RN, ADON - South Davis Community Hospital
  33. Mark Fisher - ARUP Laboratories
  34. Marsha Meyer, RN, CIC - Mountainstar Healthcare
  35. Mary Jordan, RN - Steward Health Care (formerly IASIS)
  36. Mark Oliver, MD - St. Mark's Hospital
  37. Mimi Ujiie - Utah Department of Health
  38. Patti Watkins, RN - Salt Lake Regional Medical Center
  39. Randall Probst - Wasatch County Health Department
  40. Randon Gruninger, MPH - Utah Department of Health
  41. Rhonda Hensley, MS, SM(ASCP), CMC - ARUP Laboratories
  42. Robyn Atkinson, PhD - Utah Public Health Laboratory
  43. Sandra DeBry - HealthInsight
  44. Sara Phillips - HealthInsight
  45. Steve Mickelson, RN - Utah County Health Department
  46. Wayne Kinsey, BSN, RN - Promise Hospital of Salt Lake


Utah Department of Health
Bureau of Epidemiology
Fax: 801-538-9913
288 North 1460 West
PO Box 142104
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2104

24-Hour Urgent Event & Disease Reporting

1-888-EPI-UTAH (374-8824)

Regular Business Hours:

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Site Map

Social Media