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A CLINICAL GUIDE TO 
CRYPTOSPORIDIOSIS 

 
Clinical Features: 

Infection with cryptosporidium can range from asymptomatic to severe, 
life-threatening illness.  The incubation period averages 7 days (range of 
2-10 days).  This disease frequently presents with watery diarrhea, and 
can be accompanied by dehydration, weight loss, abdominal pain, 
fever, nausea, and vomiting.  
 
In immunocompetent persons, symptoms are usually short-lived (1 to 2 
weeks) and self-limiting. Immunocompromised patients can experience 
disease that is more severe and may become chronic – especially in those 
with CD4 counts <200/ul.   

 
Diagnosis: 

The most sensitive test is enzyme immunoassay (EIA). This method is 
recommended over a routine ova and parasite microscopic exam (O&P).   
 
Clinicians should refer to their laboratory client services manual to 
determine appropriate specimen collection, storage, and transport 
methods. Stools should be treated as infectious materials until they have 
been in contact with formalin for 18-24 hours.  Multiple stool samples 
should be tested before a negative diagnostic interpretation is reported. 

 
Treatment: 

Rapid loss of fluids can be managed by fluid and electrolyte replacement.   
 
Infection in healthy, immunocompetent persons is self-limited.  
Nitazoxanide has been approved for treatment of diarrhea in these 
individuals who are aged one year or older.  For prescribing information 
see: http://www.rxlist.com/cgi/generic/alinia.htm. 
 
Immunocompromised persons and those in poor health are at highest risk 
for severe illness.  The effectiveness of nitazoxanide in these individuals is 
unclear.  For patients with AIDS, effective anti-retroviral therapy is 
indicated. An infectious disease consult is appropriate to guide treatment 
in these patients. For more information see: 
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/rr5108a1.htm 

 
Reporting: 

Cryptosporidiosis is a reportable disease in Utah.  Utah law requires that 
this be reported to public health within 3 days of identification.  You may 
report to your local health department or to the Utah Department of Health 
(801) 538-6191.   

 


