ELS

MOUNTAINS

Disease Information
Contact Us


Communicable Disease Control

Epidemiology

 

 


Food Handler Training

Regulation:

Food Handler applicants:

All food handlers must obtain a permit from a local health department before they are allowed to handle food which will be served to the public.  In order to receive the permit from the local health department, a food handler applicant must take a course offered by an approved food handler training provider, pass the exam, and receive a certificate from the training provider that they have taken the course and successfully passed the exam.  The local health department will not issue a food handler permit without receiving documentation of this certificate.

For questions regarding food handler training, contact either an approved food handler training provider or the local health department within whose jurisdiction you live. For permit questions, contact your local health department. A list of approved food handler training providers is located on this website.

Food Handler Training Providers:

Food handler training providers must first be approved by the Utah Department of Health before they can offer courses and exams to food handler applicants. Please click on the link below for information on how to apply to the Utah Department of Health for course approval. The link will explain the process, and provide contact information for questions, if needed.

Approved Providers must contact the local health department listed below to obtain the contact information you will need to send food handler certificate information required by rule and to make agreements regarding the manner of collection of the $15.00 permit fee. The standardized template that approved food handler training providers must use to send food handler data to all local health departments in Utah can be found by linking here.

The food handler certificate and information must be sent to the local health department within whose jurisdiction the food handler applicant lives.  For example, if an applicant lives in Carbon County, the information and certificate must be sent to Southeastern Utah Public Health Department; for Salt Lake, Salt Lake County Health Department, and so forth. In both cases, the provider must also abide by agreements made regarding the manner of collection of the $15.00 permit fee.

For your convenience, we have included a list of the local health departments in Utah, and the counties which are located within their jurisdictions.

Utah Food Handler Training Instructions/Application

The Utah Food Handler Training Provider Instructions/Application can be downloaded and printed by following the link below:

Instructions/Application (links to pdf)

Questions?

If you have questions regarding the food handler training provider application and approvals, please contact Ron Marsden, Garth Miner, or Cassandra Fairclough at the Utah Department of Health at 801-538-6191, or by email at foodhandler@utah.gov.

If you have questions regarding how to get trained as a food handler, contact either an approved food handler training provider or the local health department within whose jurisdiction you live.

If you have questions specifically regarding food handler permits, contact the local health department within whose jurisdication you live.

For your convenience, we have included a list of the local health departments in Utah, and the counties which are located within their jurisdictions.

List of Food Handler Training Providers Approved under R392-103.

For your convenience we have compiled a list of providers (and their assigned two digit code) that have submitted their application and have been approved to provide food handler training in Utah. As providers are approved, the list will be updated. The list of approved providers can be found by linking here.

Food Handler Training Providers who have been previously approved by local health departments before the new rule was enacted on August 1, 2013, are allowed a 90 day grace period (from August 1) to continue offering training and to become approved by the Utah Department of Health under the new rule R392-103.  After October 28, 2013, all food handler training providers must be approved by the Utah Department of Health under R392-103 to offer training in the state.