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Utah Specific Transaction Instructions  
 

837 Health Care Claim:  Institutional  
ASCX12N 837 (004010X096A1) 

 
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires that 
Medicaid, and all health insurance payers in the United States, comply with the 
Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) standards for healthcare as established by the 
Secretary of Health and Human Services.  The ANSI ASC X12N 837P Version 
4010 implementation guide has been established as the standard of compliance.  
Utah Medicaid will implement the Addenda corrections for the Health Care Claim: 
Institutional (004010X096A1).   The implementation guide is available 
electronically at www.wpc-edi.com.  The following supplemental requirements 
are specific to Utah Medicaid and are intended to serve as a companion guide to 
the HIPAA ANSI X12N implementation guide.   For clarification regarding 
submission of encounter records, refer to the encounter provider manual.  
Further billing instructions and policy are published in the Utah Medicaid Provider 
Manual and the Utah Uniform Billing Instruction Manual (UB92 Manual).  
 
Requirements: 
 

1. An Electronic Commerce Agreement must be in place.  The form is 
available at www.UHIN.com. 

 
2. A Utah Medicaid EDI Enrollment form must be completed and on file 

prior to the submission of claims.  The form is available at 
http://www.health.utah.gov/hipaa/medicaid_pcn.htm .  Transactions 
submitted without an Electronic Transmitter Identification Number 
(ETIN) or Trading Partner Number (TPN) on file with Medicaid will be 
rejected back to the sender.   

 
3. 837 claims may be sent anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  

Transactions sent after noon on Friday will not be included in the 
following week remittance. 

 
4. Utah Medicaid recommends submitting 60 or fewer service lines for 

each Institutional claim.  Claims submitted with more than 60 service 
lines will be split and may encounter processing delays. 

 
5. An 837 transaction will be rejected if the monetary amounts do not 

balance. 
 

6. A 997 Functional Acknowledgment will be created for all 837 
transactions. 
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7. A 277 Health Care Claim Status Notification - Front End 
Acknowledgment will be created for all 837 transactions. 

 
8. All references to Medicaid are used for simplicity, but other programs 

supported by Health Care Financing (HCF) are also included, e.g., 
Non-Traditional Medicaid, Primary Care Network, IHC Access, Baby 
Your Baby, etc. 

 
9. Units must be reported in full units.  No decimals will be accepted.  

When procedure codes contain time increments in the definition, 
Health Care Financing’s policy is to round to the nearest unit or 
procedure code.  

 
Example:  T1002 - RN services, up to 15 minutes.   

20 minutes of service, units billed = 1.   
28 minutes of service, units billed = 2. 

 
Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

59  BHT06 Claim or Encounter 
Identifier 

“CH” 

63 1000A NM109 Submitter Identifier Trading partner number 

68 1000B NM103 Receiver Name “Utah Medicaid FFS” 

68 1000B NM109 Receiver Primary 
Identifier 

“HT000004-001” 

82 2010AA REF01 Reference 
Identification 
Qualifier 

“1D” 

83 2010AA REF02 Billing Provider 
Additional Identifier 

Use the 12 digit identifier 
assigned by Utah Medicaid.  

100 2000B HL04 Hierarchical Child 
Code 

“0” – The subscriber is always the 
patient.  There are no dependents 
in Utah Medicaid. 

104 2000B SBR09 Claim Filing Indicator 
Code 

“MC” 

109 2010BA NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “1” 

110 2010BA NM108 Identification Code 
Qualifier 

“MI” 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

110 2010BA NM109 Subscriber Primary 
Identifier 

Use the 10 digit identifier 
assigned by Utah Medicaid.  Do 
not submit hyphens or spaces. 

127 2010BC NM103 Payer Name “Utah Medicaid FFS” 

128 2010BC NM109 Payer Identifier “HT000004-001” 

139 2000C HL Patient Hierarchical 
Level 

The subscriber is always the 
patient in Utah Medicaid.  It is not 
necessary to complete this loop. 

158 2300 CLM01 Patient Account 
Number 

Provider assigned account 
number to identify claim. 

159 2300 CLM02 Total Claim Charge 
Amount 

Total Claim Charge.  REV Code 
0001 to report total claim charge 
is only used on paper claims. 

159 2300 CLM05-1 Facility Type Code Use appropriate codes as 
identified in the UB92 Manual. 

159 2300 CLM05-3 Claim Frequency 
Code 

Medicaid will allow for submission 
of electronic corrections and voids 
to a previously paid claim.  
However, a code “6" or “7" in this 
data sub-element will be treated 
as a “replacement” for the original 
claim. 

161 2300 CLM11 Property & Casualty 
Related Cause 
Codes 

Use appropriate code to indicate 
type of accident 

166 2300 DTP03 Discharge Hour Report discharge hour. 

168 2300 DTP03 Statement From or 
To Date 

Statement Date 

170 2300 DTP03 Admission Date and 
Hour 

Date of admission and hour. 

171 2300 CL101 Admission Type 
Code 

Type of Admission 

172 2300 CL102 Admission Source 
Code 

Source of Admission 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

172 2300 CL103 Patient Status Code Discharge patient status. 

174 2300 PWK01 Attachment Report 
Type 

Required if documentation is 
needed to support the claim.  
Claims may deny, however once 
documentation is received the 
claim will be re-processed. 

174 2300 PWK02 Attachment 
Transmission Code 

“BM”, “EM” or “FX” 

175 2300 PWK06 Attachment Control 
Number 

Must be unique with each claim 
and each attachment associated 
to the claim.  Attachment control 
number and provider Medicaid ID 
must be submitted on attachment 

179 2300 AMT02 Estimated Claim Due 
Amount 

Net claim charge. 

180 2300 AMT02 Patient 
Responsibility 
Amount 

Report patient responsibility 
amount applicable to this claim. 

192 2300 REF02 Claim Original 
Reference Number 

When codes “6", “7" or “8" are 
submitted in 2300 CLM05-3, the 
Transaction Control Number 
(TCN) assigned to the original 
claim must be reported. 

198 2300 REF01 Reference 
Identification 
Qualifier 

“G1” for prior authorizations.  
Medicaid does not utilize referral 
numbers. 

199 2300 REF02 Prior Authorization or 
Referral Number 

Use the 7 digit prior authorization 
number assigned by Medicaid. 

205 2300 NTE Claim Note  Provide necessary claim 
information.  

230 2300 HI01-2 Diagnosis Related 
Group (DRG) 
Information 

Medicaid calculates the DRG for 
payment and does not utilize this 
field. 

233 2300 HI Other Diagnosis 
Information 

The first 5 diagnoses will be used 
for claims processing (principal 
diagnosis and 4 others). 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

242 2300 HI Procedure 
Information and Date 

The first 3 surgical procedure 
codes will be used for claims 
processing (principal procedure 
and 2 others).  Report date of 
procedure. 

256 2300 HI Occurrence Span 
Information 

Nursing Homes should utilize 
span code “74” to report visit 
leave days. 

267 2300 HI Occurrence 
Information 

Information from the first 5 
occurrence codes will be used for 
claims processing. 

280 2300 HI Value Information Information from the first 3 value 
codes will be used for claims 
processing.  When using value 
code “68”, a revenue code and 
units must also be submitted 
(units should be rounded to full 
units). 

290 2300 HL Condition Information Information from the first 5 
condition codes will be used for 
claims processing. 

306 2300 QTY Claim Quantity Utilize to report covered and non-
covered days. 

326 2310A REF01 Reference 
Identification 
Qualifier 

“1D” 

327 2310A REF02 Attending Physician 
Secondary Identifier 

Use the 12 digit identifier 
assigned by Medicaid. 

333 2310B REF01 Reference 
Identification 
Qualifier 

“1D” 

334 2310B REF02 Operating Physician 
Secondary Identifier 

Use the 12 digit identifier 
assigned by Medicaid. 

359 2320 SBR Other Subscriber 
Information 

If the patient has Medicare or 
other coverage, repeat this loop 
for each payer.  Do not put 
information about Utah Medicaid 
coverage/payment in this loop. 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

367 2320 CAS02 Adjustment Reason 
Code 

Report standard codes as 
received on EOB.  Use 
adjustment reason code “1” to 
report deductible amount and “2” 
to report coinsurance amount. 

371 2320 AMT02 Payer Paid Amount Report amount received from 
other payer. 

372 2320 AMT02 Allowed Amount For Medicare Coordination of 
Benefits (COB), report amount. 

377 2320 AMT02 Medicare Paid 
Amount 

For Medicare COB, report 
amount. 

392 2320 MIA Medicare Inpatient 
Adjudication 
Information 

Report Medicare remark codes 
(inpatient). 

397 2320 MOA Medicare Outpatient 
Adjudication 
Information 

Report Medicare remark codes 
(outpatient). 

415 2330B DTP03 Adjudication or 
Payment Date 

Date claim paid by other payer. 

445 2400 SV2 Institutional Service 
Line 

Report all service information.  
Reference the UB92 Manual and 
Medicaid Provider Manual for 
specific instructions. 

453 2400 PWK01 Attachment Report 
Type 

Required if documentation is 
needed to support the line.    
Claims may deny, however once 
documentation is received the 
claim will be re-processed. 

454 2400 PWK02 Attachment 
Transmission Code 

“BM”, “EM” or “FX” 

454 2400 PWK06 Attachment Control 
Number 

Must be unique with each claim 
and each attachment associated 
to the claim.  Attachment control 
number and provider Medicaid ID 
must be submitted on attachment 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

456 2400 DTP Service Line Date Report line level date of service 
as appropriate.  Required for 
home health providers. 

491 2430 SVD02 Service Line Paid 
Amount 

Report amount paid by other 
payer. 

496 2430 CAS02 Adjustment Reason 
Code 

Report standard code as received 
on EOB.  Use adjustment reason 
code “1” to report deductible 
amount and “2” to report 
coinsurance amount. 

496 2430  CAS03 Adjustment Amount Report amount relating to 
adjustment reason code. 

 


