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Utah Specific Transaction Instructions 
 

837 Health Care Claim: Institutional Long Term Care (LTC) 
ASCX12N 837 (004010X096A1) 

 
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires that Medicaid, and 
all health insurance payers in the United States, comply with the Electronic Data Interchange 
(EDI) standards for healthcare as established by the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services.  The ANSI ASC X12N 837I Version 4010 implementation guide has been 
established as the standard of compliance.  The implementation guide is available 
electronically at www.wpc-edi.com.  The following supplemental requirements are specific to 
Utah Medicaid and are intended to serve as a companion guide to the HIPAA ANSI X12N 
implementation guide.   For clarification regarding submission of encounter records, refer to 
the encounter provider manual.  Further billing instructions and policy are published in the 
Utah Medicaid Provider Manual. 
 
Requirements: 
 
1. For questions or suggestions about this companion guide, call (800) 662-9651 or (801) 

538-6155 option 3, option 5, Operational Support and Development (OS&D).  Go to 
http://health.utah.gov/hipaa/guides.htm to obtain the latest version of this guide.  OS&D 
can help resolve issues on electronic transmissions. 

 
2. All electronic data must pass through the Utah Health Information Network (UHIN), an 

independent, not-for-profit, value added network.  Contact UHIN at www.UHIN.com or 
(801) 466-7705 x200.  UHIN will assign a Trading Partner Number (TPN) for electronic 
data interchange. 

 
3. Use your TPN and your Utah Medicaid Provider number to complete the Online Utah 

Medicaid EDI Enrollment Form at http://health.utah.gov/hcfenroll (do not mail or fax, 
simply click on submit).  Without a successfully completed EDI enrollment, the Medicaid 
computer system cannot process or even acknowledge any transmission (e.g. no 997, 
no 277FE, etc). 

 
4. Beginning October 1, 2006, register your National Provider Identifier (NPI) with 

Medicaid, 538-6155, option 3, option 4, or fax your NPI (include 12-digit provider 
number, taxonomy code, and zip code +4) to 536-0471.  The 12-digit Medicaid Provider 
number will not be allowed on or after May 23, 2007, unless you are a provider type not 
eligible for the NPI.  Submit both the NPI and 12-digit Medicaid Provider number on 
claims from October 1, 2006 to May 22, 2007.  The Provider Taxonomy Code is 
required if there are multiple provider types/services under the same NPI.  Zip Code + 4 
is required if you are no longer using the 12 digit provider number. 

 

http://health.utah.gov/hipaa/guides.htm
http://www.uhin.com/
http://health.utah.gov/hcfenroll
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5. Transmit Institutional LTC claims anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Electronic 
claims received before the End of Business on Thursday usually adjudicate that 
weekend. Transactions received after the End of Business on Thursday will miss the 
adjudication cycle and will process the following weekend. 

 
6. Medicaid Customer Service agents are NOT able to see claims that have not processed 

through at least one weekend adjudication cycle.  Use the 997 and 277FE reports to 
determine status of electronic submissions prior to a weekend adjudication cycle.  After 
an adjudication cycle use the 276 for claim status; include the 17-digit Transaction 
Control Number (TCN) assigned to the claim by Medicaid. 

 
7. A 997 Functional Acknowledgment will be created for all 837 transactions. 
 
8. A 277FE Health Care Claim Status Notification - Front End Acknowledgment will be 

created for all 837 transactions. 
 
9. Currently, Utah Medicaid accepts monthly billing for LTC, unless discharged.  Charges 

may be billed at the time of discharge (claim must specify discharge date). 
 
10. Do NOT use this Companion Guide for Crossover Claims.  Follow the Institutional 

Companion Guide. 
 

Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

59  BHT06 Claim or Encounter 
Identifier 

ACH@ – Used for claims with at least one 
chargeable item. 

62 1000A NM108 Electronic Transmitter 
Identification Number 
(ETIN) 

“46” – ETIN 

63 1000A NM109 Submitter Identifier Submitter’s TPN 
68 1000B NM103 Receiver Name “Medicaid FFS” 
68 1000B NM108 Information Receiver 

Identification Number 
“46” – ETIN 

68 1000B NM109 Receiver Primary 
Identifier 

“HT000004-001” – Medicaid FFS 

72 2000A PRV02 Reference Identification 
Qualifier 

“ZZ” – Taxonomy Code 

72 2000A PRV03 Reference Identification Provider Taxonomy Code required for 
swing bed facilities utilizing same NPI as 
hospital. 

77 2010AA NM101 Entity Identifier Code “85” – Billing Provider 
77 2010AA NM102 Entity Type Qualifier “2” – Non-Person Entity 
77 2010AA NM108 Code Qualifier “XX” – NPI 
78 2010AA NM109 Identification Code NPI 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

81 2010AA N403 ZIP Code Zip Code + 4 required if not using 12-digit 
provider number in REF02 below.  Do not 
submit hyphens or spaces. 

83 2010AA REF01 Reference Identification 
Qualifier 

A1D@ – Medicaid Provider Number 
Not allowed on or after May 23, 2007. 

84 2010AA REF02 Billing Provider 
Additional Identifier 

Use the 12-digit identifier assigned by 
Medicaid. 

100 2000B HL04 Hierarchical Child Code A0" – The subscriber is always the patient, 
there are no dependents in Medicaid. 

104 2000B SBR09 Claim Filing Indicator 
Code 

AMC@ – Medicaid 

109 2010BA NM102 Entity Type Qualifier A1" – Person 
109 2010BA NM103 Subscriber Last Name Patient’s last name.  Match the name on the 

Medicaid Card. 
109 2010BA NM104 Subscriber First Name Patient’s first name is required.  Match the 

name on the Medicaid Card.  See UHIN 
Standard #37 for additional guidance. 

110 2010BA NM108 Identification Code 
Qualifier 

AMI@ – Member Identification Number 

110 2010BA NM109 Subscriber Primary 
Identifier 

Use the 10-digit identifier assigned by Utah 
Medicaid.  Do not submit hyphens or 
spaces. 

127 2010BC NM103 Payer Name “Medicaid FFS” 
127 2010BC NM108 Identification Code 

Qualifier 
“PI” – Payer Identification 

128 2010BC NM109 Payer Identifier “HT000004-001” - Medicaid FFS 
139 2000C HL Patient Hierarchical 

Level 
The subscriber is always the patient in 
Medicaid.  Do NOT use this loop. 

158 2300 CLM01 Patient Account Number Provider assigned number unique to this 
particular claim. 

159 2300 CLM02 Total Claim Charges Total Claim Charges 
159 2300 CLM05-1 Facility Type Code Acceptable codes: “18", “21", “22", “23", 

“25", “26", “28", “65", “66", “68" 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

159 2300 CLM05-3 Claim Frequency Code For original submission (or re-submission 
of denied claims) use value: 
“1” – Original 
Medicaid will allow for submission of 
electronic corrections or voids to a 
previously paid claim. 
Acceptable Values: 
“7” – Replacement 
“8” – Void 
The Provider Number must match.  To 
correct a Provider Number, void out the 
paid claim, then submit an original claim 
using the correct Provider Number. 

165 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “096” – Discharge 
165 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 
“TM” – Hour 

166 2300 DTP03 Discharge Hour Use format HHMM 
167 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “434” – Statement 
167 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 
“RD8” – Date Range 

168 2300 DTP03 Statement From or To 
Date 

Use format CCYYMMDD– CCYYMMDD 

169 2300 DTP01 Date/Time Qualifier “435” – Admission 
169 2300 DTP02 Date Time Period Format 

Qualifier 
“DT” – Date and time 

170 2300 DPT03 Admission Date/Hour Use format CCYYMMDDHHMM 
171 2300 CL101 Admission Type Code Type of admission 
172 2300 CL102 Admission Source Code Source of admission 
172 2300 CL103 Patient Status Code Discharge patient status 
178 2300 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “C5” – Claim Amount Due - Estimated 
179 2300 AMT02 Estimated Claim Due 

Amount 
Estimated Amount Due 

180 2300 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “F3” – Patient Responsibility - Estimated 
181 2300 AMT02 Patient Responsibility 

Amount 
Estimated Amount Due 

191 2300 REF01 Reference Identification 
Qualifier 

“F8” – Original Reference Number 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

192 2300 REF02 Claim Original Reference 
Number 

When codes A7" or A8" are submitted in 
Loop 2300 CLM05-3, the TCN assigned to 
the original claim must be reported.  Do not 
submit hyphens or spaces.  Do not submit 
replacement/void claims until the original 
TCN processes through a weekend cycle. 

198 2300 REF01 Reference Identification 
Qualifier 

“G1" – Pre-admission (10A) 

199 2300 REF02 Prior Authorization Use the 7-digit pre-admission (10A) 
208 2300 NTE01 Note Reference Code AADD@ – Additional Information 
209 2300 NTE02 Billing Note Text Additional claim level notes 
228 2300 HI01-2 Principal Diagnosis Primary diagnosis 
228 2300 HI02 -2 Admitting Diagnosis Admitting diagnosis 
233 2300 HI01-2 Other Diagnosis Additional diagnosis 
257 2300 HI01-2 Occurrence Span Codes “74” – Therapy Leave Days/Leave of 

Absence 
257 2300 HI01-4 Occurrence Span Code 

Associated Date 
Date range for Occurrence Span Code 

268 2300 HI01-2 Occurrence Code “42" – Date of Discharge 
268 2300 HI01-4 Occurrence Code 

Associated Date 
Date of Discharge 

281 2300 HI01-2 Value Code “D3” – Family Responsibility/Liability 
281 2300 HI01-5 Monetary amount Amount assigned by Medicaid as family 

responsibility for covered days.  Amount 
should not exceed submitted charge. 

306 2300 QTY Claim Quantity Used to report covered and non-covered 
days. 

359 2320 SBR Other Subscriber 
Information 

If the patient has 3rd party coverage, repeat 
this loop for each payer.  Do not put 
information about Utah Medicaid 
coverage/payment in this loop. 

367 2320 CAS01 Claim Adjustment Group 
Code 

As reported by other payer 
If other payer reported claim level patient 
responsibility, but did not provide a group 
code, use “PR” to report patient 
responsibility 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

367 2320 CAS02 Adjustment Reason Code As reported by other payer. 
If other payer reported claim level patient 
responsibility, but did not provide a reason 
code, use: 
A1" - deductible amount 
A2" - coinsurance amount 

367 2320 CAS03 Adjustment Amount – 
Claim Level 

As reported by other payer. 
 

371 2320 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “C4” – Prior Payment - Actual 
371 2320 AMT02 Payer Paid Amount As reported by other payer. 
372 2320 AMT01 Amount Qualifier Code “B6” – Allowed - Actual 
372 2300 AMT02 Allowed Amount As reported by other payer. 
415 2330B DTP03 Adjudication or Payment 

Date 
As reported by other payer. 

446 2400 SV201 Product/Service ID Use appropriate 4-digit REV codes, for 
example: room and board (0120).  Must 
have at least one REV Code. 

448 2400 SV204 Unit or basis for 
measurement 

“DA” – days 
“UN” – units 

449 2400 SV205 Quantity Number of days associated with charges or 
hospital/therapy leave days. 

490 2400 SVD Service Line 
Adjudication Information

Use this loop if line level payment was 
received from another payer. 

491 2400 SVD02 Service Line Paid 
Amount 

As reported by other payer. 

37A* 2410 LIN02 ID Qualifier “N4” – NDC 
37A* 2410 LIN03 NDC Number NDC is required on all drugs containing a 

NDC in addition to the HCPCS/CPT code, 
effective January 1, 2007. 

40A* 2410 REF01 Reference Identification 
Qualifier 

“XZ” – Prescription  
Applicable if dispensing of the drug has 
been done with an assigned Rx number. 

40A* 2410 REF02 Prescription Number Pharmacy Prescription Number 
491 2430 SVD02 Service Line Paid 

Amount 
As reported by other payer. 

495 2430 CAS01 Claim Adjustment Group 
Code 

As reported by other payer. 
If other payer reported line level patient 
responsibility, but did not provide a group 
code, use “PR” to report patient 
responsibility. 
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Page Loop Segment Data Element Values / Comments 

496 2430 CAS02 Adjustment Reason Code As reported by other payer.  
If other payer reported line level patient 
responsibility, but did not provide a reason 
code, use: 
A1" - deductible amount 
A2" - coinsurance amount 

496 2430 CAS03 Adjustment Amount – 
Line Level 

As reported by other payer.  
 

*Addenda page number 


