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Utah Specific Transaction Instructions

837 Health Care Claim: Institutional Long Term Care (LTC)
ASCX12N 837 (004010X096A1)

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires all health insurance
payers in the United States to comply with the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) standards
for healthcare as established by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. The ANSI
ASC X12N 8371 Version 4010 implementation guide is the standard of compliance --
available at www.wpc-edi.com. The following supplemental information is specific to Utah
Medicaid and serves as a companion guide to the implementation guide. Utah Medicaid
Provider Manuals are available at
http://www.health.utah.gov/medicaid/manuals/directory.php?p=Medicaid%20Provider%20Ma
nuals/.

Electronic Claims:

1. Telephone number for Medicaid EDI customer support (OS&D) is 801-538-6155 or
800-662-9651 menu 3, menu 5, menu 2. Hours of operation are Monday through
Wednesday (7 am to 6 pm) and Thursday (11 am to 6 pm). Telephones are down
between 12 noon and 1 pm.

2. AccessNow, telephone automated system for member eligibility, is available from 6
am to 12 midnight Monday through Saturday and 12 noon to 12 midnight on Sundays.

3. Medicaid companion guides are available at https://health.utah.gov/hipaa/guides.htm.

4. All EDI must pass through the Utah Health Information Network (UHIN), an
independent, not-for-profit, value added network serving all payers in Utah. Contact
UHIN at www.uhin.org or call 801-466-7705 x200. UHIN will assign a Trading Partner
Number (TPN) for EDI.

5. Use your TPN and your National Provider Identifier (NPI) to complete the online EDI
Enrollment Form at https://mmcs.health.utah.gov/hcfenroll2/index.jsp. The TPN in the
835 field of the EDI Enrollment will receive the 835 electronic remittance advice.

6. The NPl and Tax ID (or SSN) must match to a single Medicaid contract. If a provider
affiliates their NPI to more than one Medicaid Contract, a uniqgue Taxonomy Code or
unique address must be affiliated to their Contract. Update contract information with
the Medicaid Provider Enrollment team at 801-538-6155 or 800-662-9651, menu 3,
menu 4, or fax to 801-536-0471.

7. Providers, billers, and clearinghouses must separate batches by receiving TPN
(HTO00004-001 and HT0O00004-005). If submitted as one batch, claims will be applied
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

to the first receiver TPN on the submission.

Transmit claims anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Medicaid’s cut-off for claims
acceptance is before the end of business on Thursday. Transactions received after
the end of business on Thursday may miss the adjudication cycle and will process the
following weekend.

A 997 Functional Acknowledgment will be available for pickup (download) within two
hours of transmission for all 837 transactions. If you find no 997, contact OS&D.

A 277FE Health Care Claim Status Notification - Front End Acknowledgment will
usually be available for pickup (download) the next business day after the
transmission of the 837. If you find no 277FE, contact OS&D. This transmission
assigns a 17-digit Transaction Control Number (TCN) to any claim that is accepted
into the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS). The lack of a TCN
indicates a claim was rejected. Use the Claim Status Codes http://www.wpc-
edi.com/content/view/715/1 to determine why the claim was rejected. Make
corrections and resubmit.

Utah Medicaid cannot accept a line with a negative submitted charge (method used by
Medicare for adjusting claims). A negative amount will generate the 484 error code
(Business Application Currently Not Available). For adjustments, Medicaid requests
submission of a void or replace claim (see instructions below).

Medicaid Customer Service agents are unable to see claims that have not processed
through at least one weekend adjudication cycle. Use the 997 and 277FE reports to
determine status of electronic submissions prior to a weekend adjudication cycle.
After an adjudication cycle, use the 276 transaction for claim status.

Transmit claims for all Medicaid programs (Non-Traditional Medicaid, Primary Care
Network, Select Access, Baby Your Baby, etc.) to Medicaid Fee-For-Service (FFS),
HT000004-001 or Medicare/Medicaid Crossover claims to HTO00004-005. Services
not covered by Medicare should be billed to Medicaid FFS using the policy and
procedures of Medicaid.

Providers should submit their own corrections by submitting either a replacement or
void claim. If the original claim was denied, submit claim as an original claim.
Medicaid will allow for submission of electronic corrections or voids to a previously
paid claim. Acceptable Values: “7” — Replacement “8” — Void. The TCN of the claim
to be replaced or voided must be reported. Do not submit hyphens or spaces.
The following is information about replacement/void claims:

e The provider number on the original claim must match the provider number being
submitted on the replacement claim, or the claim will reject.

e If the TCN of the original claim cannot be identified in the Medicaid system, or the
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claim has already been reprocessed, the replacement/void claim will be rejected.

e Replacement claim(s) void the original claim. The replacement claim is then
processed in the Medicaid system as an original claim.

¢ If there is a line item that did not pay on the original claim, it is not necessary to
submit a replacement claim. You may submit a new claim for only the services not
paid on the original claim. However, if additional units are being added to an already
paid procedure code, or you are changing procedure codes, a replacement claim must
be submitted.

¢ |f wanting to replace an original claim that was split by Medicaid for processing, it
is necessary to submit a void claim for each of the split claims. A new original claim
would then be submitted for processing.

¢ |If a claim was paid under the wrong provider number, submit a void claim with the
provider number of the original claim and a new original claim with the correct provider

number.

¢ If the original claim was denied, do not submit a replacement claim. Make the
necessary correction(s) and resubmit the claim as an original claim.

15. Itis not necessary to report Family Liability (Cost of Share) on the claim. Medicaid
applies the Family Liability based on internal records.
Page | Loop | Segment |Data Element Values / Comments
59 BHTO06 |Claim or Encounter “CH” — Used for claims with at least one
Identifier chargeable item.
62 1000A | NM108 |Electronic Transmitter “46” — ETIN
Identification Number
(ETIN)
63 1000A | NM109 |Submitter Identifier Submitter’s TPN
68 1000B | NM103 |Receiver Name “Medicaid FFS” OR
“Medicaid Crossover”
68 1000B | NM108 |Information Receiver “46” — ETIN
Identification Number
68 1000B | NM109 |Receiver Primary “HT000004-001” — Medicaid FFS
Identifier “HT000004-005" — Crossover
72 2000A | PRVO02 |Reference Identification |“ZZ” — Taxonomy Code
Qualifier
72 2000A | PRVO03 |Reference Identification |Provider Taxonomy Code required for
swing bed facilities utilizing same NPI as
hospital.
77 |2010AA | NM101 |Entity Identifier Code “85” — Billing Provider
77 | 2010AA | NM102 |Entity Type Qualifier “2” — Non-Person Entity
77 | 2010AA | NM108 |Code Qualifier “XX” — NPI
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Page | Loop | Segment |[Data Element Values / Comments
78 | 2010AA | NM109 |Identification Code NPI
79 |2010AA| N301 |Billing Provider Address |Address that coordinates with Medicaid
Line Contract Service Location
80 |2010AA| N401 |Billing Provider City City that coordinates with Medicaid
Name Contract Service Location
81 |2010AA| N402 |Billing Provider State State that coordinates with Medicaid
Contract Service Location
81 |2010AA| N403 |ZIP Code Zip Code+4 required if not using 12-digit
Contract number in REF02 below. Do not
submit hyphens or spaces.
83 |2010AA | REFO1 |Reference Identification |“EI”—Tax ID
Qualifier
84 |2010AA| REF02 |Billing Provider Tax ID
Additional Identifier
100 | 2000B HLO4 |Hierarchical Child Code |“0” — The subscriber is always the patient,
there are no dependents in Medicaid.
104 | 2000B | SBRO09 |Claim Filing Indicator “MC” — Medicaid
Code
109 |2010BA | NM102 |Entity Type Qualifier “1” — Person
109 | 2010BA | NM103 |Subscriber Last Name Patient’s last name. Match the name on the
Medicaid Card.
109 |2010BA | NM104 |Subscriber First Name Patient’s first name is required. Match the
name on the Medicaid Card.
110 |2010BA | NM108 |Identification Code “MI” — Member Identification Number
Qualifier
110 |2010BA | NM109 |Subscriber Primary Use the 10-digit identifier assigned by Utah
Identifier Medicaid. Do not submit hyphens or
spaces.
127 |2010BC | NM103 |Payer Name “Medicaid FFS” OR
“Medicaid Crossover”
127 |2010BC | NM108 |Identification Code “PI” — Payer Identification
Qualifier
128 | 2010BC | NM109 |Payer Identifier “HT000004-001” — Medicaid FFS
“HT000004-005" — Crossover
139 | 2000C HL Patient Hierarchical Level | The subscriber is always the patient in
Medicaid. Do NOT use this loop.
158 2300 CLMO1 |Patient Account Number |Provider assigned number unique to this
particular claim.
159 2300 CLMO02 |Total Claim Charges Total Claim Charges
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Number

Page | Loop | Segment |[Data Element Values / Comments
159 2300 | CLMO5-1 |Facility Type Code Acceptable codes: “18”, “217, “227, “23”,
“257,267, “28”, “65”, “66”, “68”
159 2300 | CLMO5-3 |Claim Frequency Code |For original submission (or re-submission
of denied claims) use value:
“1” — Original
Medicaid will allow for submission of
electronic corrections or voids to a
previously paid claim.
Acceptable Values:
“7” — Replacement
“8” —Void
The TCN assigned to the claim voiding or
replacing must be reported in REF02.
165 2300 DTP01 |Date/Time Qualifier “096” — Discharge
165 2300 DTPO2 |Date Time Period Format |“TM” — Hour
Qualifier
166 2300 DTP03 |Discharge Hour Use format HHMM
167 2300 DTPO1 |Date/Time Qualifier “434” — Statement
167 2300 DTP02 |Date Time Period Format |“RD8” — Date Range
Qualifier
168 2300 DTPO3 |Statement From or To Use format CCYYMMDD- CCYYMMDD
Date
169 2300 DTPO1 |Date/Time Qualifier “435” — Admission
169 2300 DTP02 |Date Time Period Format |“DT” — Date and time
Qualifier
170 2300 DPTO03 |Admission Date/Hour Use format CCY YMMDDHHMM
171 2300 CL101 |Admission Type Code Type of admission
172 2300 CL102 |Admission Source Code |Source of admission
172 2300 CL103 |Patient Status Code Discharge patient status
180 2300 AMTO1 |Amount Qualifier Code |“F3” — Patient Responsibility
181 2300 AMTO02 |Patient Responsibility Amount Due — As reported by other payer.
Amount
191 2300 REFO1 |Reference ldentification |“F8” — Original Reference Number
Qualifier
192 2300 REF02 |Claim Original Reference |When codes “7” or “8” are submitted in

Loop 2300 CLMO05-3, the TCN assigned to
the original claim must be reported. Do not
submit hyphens or spaces. Do not submit
replacement/void claims until the original
TCN processes through a weekend cycle.
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Adjudication Information

Page | Loop | Segment |[Data Element Values / Comments
198 2300 REFO1 |Reference Identification |“G1” — Pre-admission (10A)
Qualifier
199 2300 REFO02 |Prior Authorization Use the 7-digit pre-admission (10A)
208 2300 NTEO1 |Note Reference Code “ADD” — Additional Information
209 2300 NTEO2 |Billing Note Text Additional claim level notes
228 2300 HI01-2 |Principal Diagnosis Primary diagnosis
228 2300 HI02 -2 | Admitting Diagnosis Admitting diagnosis
233 2300 HI01-2 |Other Diagnosis Additional diagnosis
257 2300 HI01-2 |Occurrence Span Codes |“74” — Therapy Leave Days/Leave of
Absence
257 2300 HI01-4 |Occurrence Span Code |Date range for Occurrence Span Code
Associated Date
268 2300 HI01-2 |Occurrence Code “42” — Date of Discharge
268 2300 HI01-4 |Occurrence Code Date of Discharge
Associated Date
306 2300 QTY |Claim Quantity Used to report covered and non-covered
days.
359 2320 SBR  |Other Subscriber If the patient has 3rd party coverage, repeat
Information this loop for each payer. Do not put
information about Utah Medicaid
coverage/payment in this loop.
367 2320 CAS01 |Claim Adjustment Group |As reported by other payer.
Code Report Patient Responsibility in Loop 2300
AMT Segment.
367 2320 CAS02 |Adjustment Reason Code | As reported by other payer.
367 2320 CAS03 |Adjustment Amount — As reported by other payer.
Claim Level
371 2320 AMTO01 |Amount Qualifier Code |“C4” — Prior Payment - Actual
371 2320 AMTO02 |Payer Paid Amount As reported by other payer.
372 2320 AMTO1 |Amount Qualifier Code |“B6” — Allowed - Actual
372 2300 AMTO02 |Allowed Amount As reported by other payer.
415 | 2330B | DTPO3 |Adjudication or Payment |As reported by other payer.
Date
446 2400 SV201 |Product/Service ID Use appropriate 4-digit REV codes.
448 2400 SV204 | Unit or basis for “DA” — days
measurement “UN” — units
449 2400 SV205 |Quantity Number of days associated with charges or
hospital/therapy leave days.
490 2400 SVD  |Service Line Use this loop if line level payment was

received from another payer.
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Page | Loop | Segment |[Data Element Values / Comments

491 2400 SVDO02 |Service Line Paid As reported by other payer.
Amount

490 2430 SVD |Line Adjudication Use this loop if line level payment was
Information received from another payer.

491 2430 SVDO02 |Service Line Paid As reported by other payer.
Amount

495 2430 CAS01 |Claim Adjustment Group |As reported by other payer.

Code If other payer reported line level patient
responsibility, but did not provide a group
code, use “PR” to report patient
responsibility.

496 2430 CAS02 |Adjustment Reason Code | As reported by other payer.
If other payer reported line level patient
responsibility, but did not provide a reason
code, use:
“1” - deductible amount
“2” - coinsurance amount
496 2430 CAS03 |Adjustment Amount — As reported by other payer.
Line Level
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