Access to safe, healthy child care for Utah families.
To support working parents by protecting the health and safety of children in regulated child care programs. This is accomplished by:
- Establishing and enforcing health and safety standards for child care programs.
- Training and supporting providers in meeting the established health and safety standards.
- Providing the public with accurate information about regulated child care.
WHAT'S NEW? ...AND MORE.
Click purple links to learn more about the topic.
- Annual Training Requirements for All Regulated Providers
Beginning September 1, 2013, training in the signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect must include the signs and symptoms of child sexual abuse. Free downloads of training materials regarding child sexual abuse prevention and awareness can be found at the "Stop It Now!" website at: stopitnow.org. On the left side of the web page click "People Who Work With Children". In the middle of that page, click "Six Ways Organizations Can Keep Children Safe from Child Sexual Abuse" and "Free Downloads". There are also 1.5 hour online training modules available on "Stop it Now!"
Another option for online training and resourses is the "Darkness to Light" website at D2L.org. Look under "Popular Pages" and "Stewards of Children". D2L offers 2.5 - 3 hours of online training in both English and Spanish. The cost is 10 dollars.
For face-to-face training options you can contact Sandy Craft at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 801-326-4379.
- New Requirements for Fingerprints
Effective July 1, 2013, there are new requirements for who must submit fingerprints with background screening forms.
- Contact Information
Some Child Care Licensing Specialists and Regional Managers have new phone numbers. To see the updated list of contact information for Child Care Licensing, click on the Contact Us link on the left side of the home page.
Regulated providers now have decals showing that have a license or certificate from Child Care Licensing.
- H.B. 81 Cytomegalovirus Public Health
Initiative has Begun! - IMPORTANT INFORMATION for Child Care Providers
(2013 General Session) Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative was signed into law by the
governor and is now known as Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 26-10-10 Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public
Education and Testing. This law takes effect on July 1, 2013. For more information and documents about CMV,
please visit (www.health.utah.gov/cshcn/CHSS/CMV.html)
- News Release - Utah Babies to Benefit from Education, Screening for Congenital Cytomegalovirus
- Use Zones Required for Licensed Home Providers
Effective September 1, 2013, all
licensed home child care providers are required to have a three foot use zone around all
stationary play equipment.
- All Regulated Providers
Begining April 1, 2013, the outdoor portion of your Annual Announced Inspection will be done
by one of our Playground Specialists.This means that your Annual Announced Inspection will be done by your regular Licensing Specialist, but this inspection will not include your outdoor area. One of our Playground Specialists will contact you to let you know when he or she will be scheduling the assessment of your outdoor area.
Please contact your Licensing Specialist or any of our offices if you have any questions.
- Changes for Home Providers on how
Compliance to the Immunization Rule will be Assessed
- New Crib Safety
Any crib used in a child care program
must meet these new standards by December 28, 2012.
Additional information is also available at
- Information for Providers and Parents about Pertussis
Whooping cough is a contagious and fairly common bacterial infection that causes a range of illnesses, from mild cough to severe disease. For additional information see,