‘ CHILD CARE CENTER LICENSING COMMITTEE
UTAH DEPARTMENT OF

MEETING MINUTES
(‘ HEALTH 9 July, 2020

https://ccl.adobeconnect.com/advisorycommittee/

Child Care Licensing

Members Present: Jody Zabriskie, Dale Smith, Jamie Bitton, Alanna Brickley, Bree Murphy,
and Melissa Monsivais.

Members Excused:

Members Absent: Matt Wallace

Child Care Licensing Staff Present: Simon Bolivar, Mindy Young, Sarah Atherton, Kim Bond,
Kim Rice, Kat Martinez, Alisha Griffin, Charlotte Woodward, Cheryl Nak, Michele Evans-Rice,
Mindy Palmer, Rosemary Vander Mayden, Keri Hamblin, and Jacqueline Macias.

AGENCY REPORTS
Child Care Licensing — Simon Bolivar

o The proposed rules have been posted for public comment.

o CCL is working with the Office of Child Care, the Epidemiologist Department, and
the Health Department to help with the process of providing clear and faster answers
to providers regarding questions about COVID-19.

Office of Child Care — Karrie Phillips

o Subsidy rates will increased on September 1, 2020 for Licensed Family and Center
providers. A new market rate survey will go out in September.

o All Care About Child Care classes are currently being provided through a virtual
format. Classes are free for the month of July, August, and September. The Office of
Child Care is offering scholarships for the full cost of the National Administrator
Credential. The CDA scholarship is now open to all urban child system professionals.

o The Operations Grant will continue through August.

o The Child Care Quality System has been put on hold by OCC because the
Developmental Environment Rating Scale (DERS) stated that their tools should not
be used durig pandemic situations. Due to this situation the certify quality rating is
being extended through next year 2021.

o OCC is currently working on technical assistant support for Center and Family
providers.

Utah Afterschool Network — Kelly Riding

All professional learning events have been moved to virtual platform. Live conferences will be
provided by the end of October. The link to jump start conference is the following:
utahafterschool.org/what-we-do/professional-learning/item/444.

WELCOME
At 11:00 a.m., Jody Zabriskie welcomed everyone and started the meeting.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES



The minutes from the May meeting were approved via email.

NEW BUSINESS
Proposed rule changes public comment report
¢ Simon went over the main proposed rule changes. Comments were discussed.
o Jody Zabriskie moved to continue the process to make the proposed rule change
effective as long as there is no public comment opposing the intent of the rule.
Alanna Brickley seconded motion. All committee members were in favor of
motion. Motion passed.
Current COVID-19 emergency procedures status report
e We are currently on phase 3 emergency conditions and adhering to the recommendations.
These conditions will be in place until further notice by the Utah Department of Health.
However, every provider must follow and obey their local laws.
Simon explained the current status. No questions or comments were addressed.
New licensing and background check fee
e The recent increase in fees was a legislative decision. Effective July 1, 2020, the new
license fee was increased to $62.00 and the new background check fee to $20.00.
However, OCC is currently covering the cost of the background check fee for new
covered individuals due to COVID -19. Questions and comments were answered and
discussed.
Not required kitchen inspection certificate and business license for renewals
e Providers are no longer required to submit a copy of their business license or a current
kitchen inspection to renew their license/certificate.
However, a copy of the current fire inspection is still required to be submitted every year.
o Jamie Bitton moved to continue with the new rule, not required kitchen inspection
certificate and business license for renewals. Dale Smith seconded motion. All
committee members were in favor of motion. Motion passed.
Committee members comments and recommendations
e Jody Zabrieskie made a comment about continuing to meet through virtual meetings. All
the comments made from other members were in favor about having and attending virtual
meetings.
e Jody Zabrieskie suggested the by-laws to be added under new business on the next
agenda, and for all committee members to review them and bring their comments for
discussion to the next meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT
- All the comments entered on the chat box about having and attending virtual meetings
were positive.

ASSIGNMENTS
- Jacqueline Macias: Add the by-laws to the next agenda.

Jody Zabriskie adjourned the meeting at 11:49 a.m.



UPCOMING 2020 MEETINGS
September 10, November 12
10:30 a.m. — 12:30 p.m. virtual meeting

Anyone with a disability requiring accommodations to attend or fully participate in this program
should contact Jacqueline Macias at (385) 320-2147 or via email at jmacias@utah.gov to request
reasonable accommodations.

Note: These minutes are not intended to be a verbatim transcript of all items discussed, but are to
record the significant features of the business conducted in this meeting.



