Site SettingsSettings

LICENSES AND CERTIFICATES


The Utah Department of Health, Child Care Licensing Program, regulates child care centers and family child care providers. According to Utah statute, child care means continous care and supervision of five or more qualifying children in lieu of parental care, for less than 24 hours a day, and for direct or indirect compensation.


The Department does not regulate providers who only care for children related to them or who only provide care on a sporadic basis.


You are required to be licensed or certified to provide child care for four or more hours a day for more than four children who are not related to you. Unless the care is only for children related to you or the care is on a sporadic bases, you may choose be licensed or certified.


To be licensed or certified, complete the following steps:

FIRST - Determine your Facility Type. Click on names below for short descriptions.
CENTER BASED:
The care or program is in a nonresidential setting.
Licensed Center
Child care is provided in a nonresidential setting and children have regular schedules of care. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements. There must be a safely accessible fenced outdoor play area.
Licensed Hourly Center
Child care is provided in a nonresidential setting and children don't have regular schedules of care. An outdoor play area is not required. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements.
Licensed Out of School Time Program
The program is in a nonresidential setting and is only for school age (ages 5-12) children. The program is open to children on an ongoing basis, on three or more days a week, and for 30 or more days in a calendar year. The number of children allowed is determined by the facility's total square footage. There must be a director who is at least 21 years old and meets the educational requirements.
HOME BASED:
The care is in a private home.
Licensed Family
Child care is provided in a private home for up to 16 children (unless otherwise determined by the city), including the provider's own children less than four years old. Providers must be at least 18 years old. Two qualified caregivers are required when there are more than eight children in care and when there are more than two children less than two years old in care. With two caregivers, providers can care for up to (but not more than) four children less than two years old. A compliant outdoor play area is required.
Residential Certificate
Child care is provided in a private home for up to eight children (unless otherwise determined by the city), including the provider's own children less than four years old. There can be up to (but not more than) two children less than two years old in care. Providers must be at least 18 years old. An outdoor play area is not required.
Licensed Family and Residential Certificate Comparison
Licensed Family and Residential Certificate Comparison Chart
SECOND - According to your facility type:

Licensed Center
Read the rules.
R381-100
and submit all of the following:
  • application fee
  • copy of current city business license
  • copy of current fire inspection
  • copy of current kitchen inspection
  • copy of director educational credentials
  • copy of facility floor plans
  • copy of Health and Safety Plan
Submit:
  • How to Submit Background Check Forms
  • Licensed Hourly Center
    Read the rules.
    R381-60
      and submitall of the following:
    • application fee
    • copy of current city business license
    • copy of current fire inspection
    • copy of current kitchen inspection
    • copy of director educational credentials
    • copy of facility floor plans
    • copy of Health and Safety Plan
    Submit:
  • How to Submit Background Check Forms
  • Licensed Out of School Time Program
    Read the rules.
    R381-70
      and submitall of the following:
    • application fee
    • copy of current city business license
    • copy of current fire inspection
    • copy of current kitchen inspection
    • copy of director educational credentials
    • copy of facility floor plans
    • copy of Health and Safety Plan
    Submit:
  • How to Submit Background Check Forms
  • Licensed Family
    Read the rules.
    R430-90
    and submit all of the following:
    Submit:
  • How to Submit Background Check Forms
  • Residential Certificate
    Read the rules.
    R430-50
    and submit all of the following:
    Submit:
  • How to Submit Background Check Forms
  • THIRD - A licensor will contact you with the date and time of the Pre-License/Certificate Inspection. After you are in compliance with all rules and all covered individuals pass the background check, you will receive your license or certificate.

    For confidentiality purposes, only the Program Administrator sees your comments.

    If you would like a response, please fill out your name and email address.

    1. (Optional)
    2. (Optional)
    3. Feedback Submitted. Thank you!