BACKGROUND SCREENING INFORMATION
---You need Adobe Reader to open the PDF files. If you don't have Adobe Reader, please click here to download it.Initial Background Clearance Form: owners and members of the governing body, directors, employees, providers of care, volunteers, anyone age 12 or older who lives in a home where care is provided, and anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in care is required to have a background screening.
For a new child care license or certificate: All background screening forms must be submitted and cleared before a license or certificate can be issued.
For an ongoing existing child care license or certificate:
- New individuals: the Licensee or Certificate Holder must submit an initial background screening document within 5 working days of a new person volunteering, starting work, moving into the home, or turning age 12.
- License or certificate renewal: all owners and members of the governing body, directors, employees, providers of care, volunteers, anyone age 12 or older who lives in a home where care is provided, and anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in care is required to have an annual background screening in order to renew the child care license or certificate.
Each individual whose name is listed on the "Annual Renewal of CBS/LIS" form must also be listed on the "Disclosure & Consent Statement", and must sign the Disclosure & Consent Statement next to their printed name. Instructions for Completing Forms for Background Clearances
Fingerprints: A fingerprint card is required for any new individual who is 18 years of age or older and who has not resided in Utah continuously for the past five years. If a person turned 18 after they moved to Utah, he/she does not need to submit a fingerprint card and fee.
Required individuals must obtain an acceptable set of fingerprints from local law enforcement or Public Safety and submit them to Child Care Licensing along with the fingerprint fee of $36.50 per person.
Fingerprint cards are available at the Child Care Licensing offices or by calling Public Safety at 801-965-4445.
Background Screening Frequently Asked Questions