VISION

Access to safe, healthy child care for Utah families.

MISSION

To support working parents by protecting the health and safety of children in regulated child care programs. This is accomplished by:
  • Establishing and enforcing health and safety standards for child care programs.
  • Training and supporting providers in meeting the established health and safety standards.
  • Providing the public with accurate information about regulated child care.
- - - - - - - - WORKS BEST WHEN USING CHROME OR FIREFOX - - - - - - - -

WHAT'S NEW? ...AND MORE.

Click purple links to learn more about the topic.

  • Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public Health & Policy Conference
    If you are interested in learning how you can help reduce the number of babies born with CMV, please attend the CMV Public Health & Policy Conference on September 26th and September 27th at the Little America Hotel in Salt Lake City. Click on the above purple link for more information.

  • Proposed Change to Background Screening Rules
    A proposed change to the Background Screening Rules was filed with the Division of Administrative Rules and is open for public comment until July 15th. The proposed change increases the time frame to submit identifying information of new covered individuals from five to ten working days. To view the full text,go to http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bulletin.htm. Scroll down to "Utah State Bulletin Issues" and go to Vol. 2014, No.12 (06/15/2014).

  • Increased Licensing Fees for Center Providers
    Effective July 1, 2014, there are new Child Care Licensing fees. This increase was part of House Bill 8 that was passed during the 2014 Utah Legislative session. Click on the above purple link to see the fees.

  • Increased Licensing Fees for Home Providers
    Effective July 1, 2014, there are new Child Care Licensing fees. This increase was part of House Bill 8 that was passed during the 2014 Utah Legislative session. Click on the above purple link to see the fees.

  • Annual Training Requirements for All Regulated Providers
    Beginning September 1, 2013, training in the signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect must include the signs and symptoms of child sexual abuse. Free downloads of training materials regarding child sexual abuse prevention and awareness can be found at the "Stop It Now!" website at: stopitnow.org. On the left side of the web page click "People Who Work With Children". In the middle of that page, click "Six Ways Organizations Can Keep Children Safe from Child Sexual Abuse" and "Free Downloads". There are also 1.5 hour online training modules available on "Stop it Now!"
    Another option for online training and resources is the "Darkness to Light" website at D2L.org. Look under "Popular Pages" and "Stewards of Children". D2L offers 2.5 - 3 hours of online training in both English and Spanish. The cost is 10 dollars.
    For face-to-face training options you can contact Sandy Craft at sandy@cssutah.org or at 801-326-4379.

  • New Requirements for Fingerprints
    Effective July 1, 2013, there were new requirements for who must submit fingerprints with background screening forms.

  • H.B. 81 Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative has Begun! - IMPORTANT INFORMATION for Child Care Providers
    H.B. 81 (2013 General Session) Cytomegalovirus Public Health Initiative was signed into law by the governor and is now known as Utah Code Annotated (UCA) 26-10-10 Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public Education and Testing. This law takes effect on July 1, 2013. For more information and documents about CMV, please visit (www.health.utah.gov/cshcn/CHSS/CMV.html)

  • News Release - Utah Babies to Benefit from Education, Screening for Congenital Cytomegalovirus

  • Information for Providers and Parents about Pertussis (Whooping Cough)
    Whooping cough is a contagious and fairly common bacterial infection that causes a range of illnesses, from mild cough to severe disease. For additional information see, http://www.umm.edu/ency/article/007334.htm