
R430.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Child Care Licensing. 
R430-8.  Exemptions From Child Care Licensing. 
R430-8-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
(1) This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with Utah Code, Title 26, Chapter 39. 
(2) This rule defines what constitutes child care that is excluded from any of the regulatory requirements of the 

Utah Department of Health, Child Care Licensing Program. 
 
R430-8-2.  Definitions. 
(1) "Background Finding" means information in a background check that may result in a denial from Child Care 

Licensing. 
(2) "Background Check Denial" means that an individual has failed the background check and is prohibited from 

being involved with a child care program. 
(3) "Calendar Week" means from Sunday through Saturday. 
(4) "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program in the Department of Health that is delegated with the 

responsibility to enforce the Utah Child Care Licensing Act. 
(5) "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision of five or more qualifying children that is: 

(a) in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the parent's home; 
(b) for less than 24 hours a day; and 
(c) for direct or indirect compensation. 

(6) "Child Care Program" means a person or business that offers child care. 
(7) "Covered Individual" means any of the following individuals involved with a child care program: 

(a) an owner; 
(b) a director; 
(c) a member of the governing body; 
(d) an employee; 
(e) a caregiver; 
(f) a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the child care program; 
(g) an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in the facility; and 
(h) anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in care. 

(8) "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
(9) "Facility" means a child care program or the premises used for child care. 
(10) "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the following at or for a child care program: 

(a) care for or supervise children; 
(b) volunteer; 
(c) own, operate, direct; 
(d) reside;  
(e) count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
(f) have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 

(11) "LIS Supported Finding" means background check information from the Licensing Information System (LIS) 
database for child abuse and neglect, maintained by the Utah Department of Human Services. 

(12) "Parochial Education Institution" means an institution that meets all of the following criteria: 
(a) operates as a substitute for, and gives the equivalent of, instruction required in public schools for any grade 

from first through twelfth grade; 
(b) has a governing board that actively supervises and directs the educational curriculum used by the 

institution and exercises oversight over the health and safety of the children in the program; 
(c) is owned and operated by a religious institution that is registered with the federal government as an 

501(c)(3) religious organization; 
(d) is not directly funded at public expense; 
(e) does not receive: 

(i) child care grant or subsidy funds, directly or indirectly, from the Department of Workforce Services; or 
(ii) child care food program funds, directly or indirectly, from the State Office of Education; and 

(f) does not provide instruction in the home in lieu of instruction required in public schools for any grade from 



first through twelfth grade. 
(13) "Private Education Institution" means an institution that meets the following criteria: 

(a) operates as a substitute for, and gives the equivalent of, instruction required in public schools for any grade 
from first through twelfth grade; 

(b) has a governing board that actively supervises and directs the educational curriculum used by the 
institution, and exercises oversight over the health and safety of the children in the program; 

(c) is not directly funded at public expense; 
(d) does not receive: 

(i) child care grant or subsidy funds, directly or indirectly, from the Department of Workforce Services; or 
(ii) child care food program funds, directly or indirectly, from the State Office of Education; and 

(e) does not provide instruction in the home in lieu of instruction required in public schools for any grade from 
first through twelfth grade. 

(14) "Public School" means a school, including a charter school, that is directly funded at public expense and is 
regulated by a board of education governed by Title 53A, Chapter 3, Local School Boards. 

(15) "Qualifying Child" means: 
(a) a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child of an individual other than the child care provider 

or caregiver; 
(b) a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years old and is the child of an individual other than the 

provider or caregiver; or 
(c) a child who is younger than four years old and is the child of the provider or a caregiver. 

(16) "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-
uncle. 

(17) "Relative Care" means care provided to a qualifying child by or in the home of the parent, legal guardian, step-
parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, uncle, step-aunt, step-
uncle, great-aunt, or great-uncle. 

(18) "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no form of direct or indirect compensation for their service. 
 
R430-8-3.  License or Certificate and Background Check Not Required. 
(1) The following types of care do not require a child care license or certificate from, or the submission of 

background check documents to, the department: 
(a) Care provided on no more than two days during any calendar week; 
(b) Care provided in the home of the provider for less than four hours per day, or for fewer than five unrelated 

children in the home at one time; 
(c) Care provided in the home of the provider on a sporadic basis only; 
(d) Care provided by a facility or program owned or operated by an agency of the United States government; 
(e) a group counseling provided by a mental health therapist who is licensed to practice in this state; 
(f) a health care facility licensed pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and 

Inspection Act; or 
(g) care provided at a residential support program that is licensed by the Department of Human Services. 

 
R430-8-4.  Exempt Application and Public Notice Required. 
(1) The following types of care do not require a child care license or certificate from the department, but do 

require the provider to meet the application and public notice requirements outlined in this rule: 
(a) Care provided to a qualifying child as part of a course of study at or a program administered by an 

educational institution that is regulated by the boards of education of this state, a private education 
institution that provides education in lieu of that provided by the public education system, or by a parochial 
education institution; 

(b) Care provided to a qualifying child by a public or private institution of higher education, if the care is 
provided in connection with a course of study or program, relating to the education or study of children, 
that is provided to students of the institution of higher education; 

(c) Care provided to a qualifying child at a public school by an organization other than the public school, if: 



(i) the care is provided under contract with the public school or on school property; or 
(ii) the public school accepts responsibility and oversight for the care provided by the organization; 

(d) Care provided to a qualifying child as part of a summer camp that operates on federal land pursuant to a 
federal permit; 

(e) Care provided by an organization that: 
(i) qualifies for tax exempt status under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; 
(ii) provides care pursuant to a written agreement with: 

(A) a municipality that provides oversight for the program; or 
(B)  a county that provides oversight for the program; and 

(iii) provides care to a child who is over the age of four and under the age of 13; 
(f) Care provided to a qualifying child at a facility where: 

(i) the parent or guardian of the qualifying child is physically present in the building where the care is 
provided while the child is in care and the parent or guardian is near enough to reach the child within 
five minutes if needed; 

(ii) the duration of the care is less than four hours for an individual qualifying child in any one day, 
(iii) the care is provided on a sporadic basis, 
(iv) the care does not include diapering a qualifying child, and 
(v) the care does not include preparing or serving meals to a qualifying child. 

(2) Providers listed in this subsection shall submit to the department, each year the program is open for business, 
an application for verification of license exempt status on the form provided by the department. 

(3) Providers listed in this subsection shall post, in a conspicuous location near the entrance of the provider's 
facility, a notice prepared by the department that: 

(a) states that the facility is exempt from licensure and certification; and 
(b) provides the department's contact information for submitting a complaint. 

(4) Substantiated complaint allegations against providers listed in this subsection will be available to the public 
and posted by the department on the Child Care Licensing website. 

 
R430-8-5.  Background Check Requirements and Appeals. 
(1) An exempt provider who cares for a qualifying child as part of a program administered by an educational 

institution that is regulated by the State Board of Education is not subject to the background check 
requirements listed under this section, unless required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant, 42 
U.S.C. Secs. 9857-9858r. 

(2) Except as provided in Subsection R430-8-5(1), the requirements of this subsection apply to all facilities listed 
in Section R430-8-4. 

(3) The provider shall submit to the department background checks and fees for each covered individuals as 
defined in Subsection R430-8-2(7). 

(4) Before a new covered individual becomes involved with child care in the program, the provider shall use the 
CCL provider portal search to: 

(a) verify that the individual has a current CCL background check; and 
(b) associate that individual with their facility if the covered individual appears in the search. 

(5) Before a new covered individual who does not appear in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall: 

(a) have the individual submit an online background check form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years 
old and older; 

(b) authorize the individual's background check through the CCL provider's portal; 
(c) pay any required fees; and 
(d) receive written notice from CCL that the individual passed the background check. 

(6) The department may include a covered individual by name on the CCL provider portal and consider that 
covered individual’s background check to be current if the covered individual has: 

(a) passed a CCL background check; 
(b) resided in Utah since the last background check was completed; and 
(c) been associated with an active, CCL approved child care facility within the past 180 days. 



(7) The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared by a local law enforcement agency or an agency 
approved by local law enforcement. 

(8) If fingerprints are submitted electronically through live scan, the provider shall ensure that the agency taking 
the fingerprints is one that follows the department's guidelines. 

(9) The department may deny a covered individual from being involved with child care for any of the following 
background findings: 

(a) LIS supported findings; 
(b) the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or national sex offender registry; 
(c) any felony convictions; or 
(d) for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R430-8-5(10). 

(10) The department may also deny a covered individual from being involved with child care for any of the 
following convictions regardless of severity: 

(a) unlawful sale or furnishing alcohol to minors; 
(b) sexual enticing of a minor; 
(c) cruelty to animals, including dogfighting; 
(d) bestiality; 
(e) lewdness, including lewdness involving a child; 
(f) voyeurism; 
(g) providing dangerous weapons to a minor; 
(h) a parent providing a firearm to a violent minor; 
(i) a parent knowing of a minor's possession of a dangerous weapon; 
(j) sales of firearms to juveniles; 
(k) pornographic material or performance; 
(l) sexual solicitation; 
(m) prostitution and related crimes; 
(n) contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 
(o) any crime against an individual; 
(p) a sexual exploitation act; 
(q) leaving a child unattended in a vehicle; and 
(r) driving under the influence (DUI) while a child is present in the vehicle. 

(11) The department shall approve a covered individual if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 
contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years before the CCL background check was 
conducted. 

(12) If the provider fails to pass a background check, the department may suspend or deny their license until the 
reason for the denial is resolved. 

(13) If a covered individual fails to pass a CCL background check, including that the individual has been convicted, 
has pleaded no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion agreement for a felony or 
misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit that individual from being employed by the child care program or 
residing at the facility until the reason for the denial is resolved. 

(14) If a covered individual is denied a license or employment based upon the criminal background check and 
disagrees with the information provided by the Department of Public Safety, the covered individual may 
appeal the information to the Department of Public Safety. 

(15) If a covered individual disagrees with a supported finding on the Department of Human Services Licensing 
Information System (LIS), the covered individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 

(16) The provider and the covered individual shall notify the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the 
covered individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, conviction, or supported LIS 
finding.  Failure to notify the department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, including 
revocation of the license. 

(17) The Executive Director of the Department of Health may overturn a background check denial if the Executive 
Director determines that the nature of the background finding or mitigating circumstances do not pose a risk to 
children. 



(18) An applicant or exempt provider may appeal any department decision within 15 working days of being 
informed in writing of the decision. 

R430-8-6.  Voluntary Licensure. 
(1) A child care provider who is not required to be licensed or certified under this rule may voluntarily receive a 

license and agree to be subject to each of the terms and conditions of the license, except for the following: 
(a) relative care only as defined in Subsection R430-8-2(17); and 
(b) care provided in the home of the provider on a sporadic basis only. 
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