Medical, Utah Medicaid Program
entering the United States are eligible to apply for Medicaid
for eight months after their date of entry. Refugee financial
assistance automatically provides Medicaid eligibility.
The income standard, after allowable deductions, is based
on a percentage of the financial assistance grant level,
as determined by the Utah State Legislature.
Refugees who have a medical emergency and do
not qualify for Medicaid may apply for the Emergency
Medicaid Program. Medicaid offers language
services for those who do not speak or read English.
Eligibility Standards in Monthly Amounts
(as of January 2010)
Size *Monthly Income Household
Size *Monthly Income
. . . . . . . . . . . $ 382
6 . . . . . . . . $ 857
2 . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 468
7 . . . . . . . . $ 897
3 . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 583
8 . . . . . . . . $ 938
4 . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 682
9 . . . . . . . . $ 982
5 . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 777
10 . . . . . . . . $ 1,023
$90.00 from the countable earned income of each working
family member, child care expenses, health and accident
premiums, and Medical expenses. The $30 plus 1/3 of working
income disregard may be allowed only if a client has a type
of family Medicaid in one of the last four months.
applicants whose income exceeds the monthly income standard may be considered
for the Medically Needy program, sometimes referred to as the Spenddown Program.
This program allows a person who is otherwise eligible either to pay "excess"
monthly income to the state or to accept responsibility for a portion of their
monthly medical bills.
(see definition of "assets")
2 Persons - $3,000.00
For each additional person, add $25.00. Assets too
high? See NOTE at bottom of page.
for any of the three months prior to the month of application.
Most Medicaid programs allow an applicant to request coverage
for medical services for up to three months prior to the
month in which the person filed a Medicaid application.
A person who received medical, dental or mental health services
and subsequently qualifies for Medicaid may return to each
provider with a Medicaid Identification Card for the month
in which service was provided. A provider who has already
rendered services may subsequently choose to accept Medicaid
as payment in full or refuse to seek Medicaid payment
because the patient had not been determined eligible for
Medicaid at the time of service. If the provider accepts
Medicaid, Medicaid may pay for the service. If the
provider refuses Medicaid, the patient is responsible for
Federally Qualified Health Centers are clinics that offer
low-cost medical care. It does not matter whether
the person qualifies for Medicaid or has health insurance.
The cost of care is based on income. There is a list
of health centers in the brochure "Exploring Medicaid".
The brochure comes in two versions depending on where a
person lives. One version of Exploring
Medicaid is for people living in the Wasatch Front
(Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber,
and Morgan Counties). The other version of
is for people who live in other areas of the state. In either
version, look for telephone numbers for Federally Qualified
Health Centers in the Resource section of the brochure.