Image Link: Home Image Link: For Families Image Link:  En Español Image Link: For Providers Image Link: Statistics Image Link: Law and Rule Image Link: Related Sites

Newborn Screening Home

Newborn Screening is a special blood test done on each Utah baby. It is specifically designed to reduce the occurrence of diseases or conditions that alter health and quality of life (morbidity) and increase the risk of death (mortality) due to certain metabolic, endocrine, and hematological disorders by identifying the disorder prior to the onset of symptoms.

This allows treatment to begin before clinical symptoms of morbidity (i.e. permanent brain damage, growth retardation, sepsis, or severe anemia) or death can occur in the newborn.

Utah collects two newborn screening specimens which test for 39 disorders. The first screen is usually done between 24 hours and 5 days of life, or right before discharge from the hospital. The second screen is done between 7 and 28 days of age, usually at the two week well-child check with the baby's pediatrician. Identifying and treating infants with these disorders early can help ensure a long, healthy life, so it is important to get these tests done correctly and on time.

Kit Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2018

Starting July 1, 2018, the kit fee for newborn screening will increase to $115.07 per kit. The Utah State Legislature approved this increase to screen for Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). The Utah Department of Health appreciates your strong and ongoing cooperation to provide this service to Utah’s citizens. We look forward to continued collaboration with you to offer this critical screen for Utah’s newborns.

We look forward to continued work with you in offering this critical screening for Utah's newborns.

 

Newborn Screening Rule 438-15

Rule Changes Effective January 29, 2018

https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r438/r438-015.htm

The Newborn Screening Rule (R398-1) was repealed and reenacted as the New born Screening Rule R438-15.

 

Newsletters