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The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act Compliance Checklist is developed to highlight key points 
business managers, supervisors, and employees particularly need to be aware of. It helps identify 
key aspects of the statute and rule that must be addressed.  If you need additional assistance, state 
and local health department contact and website information is listed below.   
 
 Effective in 2012 the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act generally prohibits the use of electronic 
cigarettes and hookah in the same places that smoking tobacco cigarettes is prohibited. 

 
Note: There is no requirement that smoking must be allowed, even in areas that are 
exempted in the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act.  §26-38-2(2)(o) and R392-510-4  

 
*All Items That Apply Should Be Checked 

 
___1. Smoking is prohibited in all enclosed indoor places of public access. §26-38-3(1)” Public 

access is any enclosed indoor place of business, commerce, banking, financial service, or 
other service-related activity, whether publicly or privately owned...., to which persons 
not employed at the place have general and regular access or which the public uses.” 
(Includes buildings, offices, shops, elevators, restrooms restaurants, shopping malls, 
arenas, theaters)  § 26-38-2(2) 

___2.  Smoking is not allowed in any publicly owned buildings and offices. (Libraries, court 
houses, etc.) § 26-38-2(f) and §26-38-2(3) 

___3.  Outside smoking designated areas are not allowed within 25 feet of building entrances, 
exits, air intakes, or windows. (Ashtrays placed closer than 25 feet from these locations 
are signed “No Smoking”, “For extinguishing cigarettes only- No Smoking”, or similar 
and a reference to the 25 foot prohibition.) R 392-510-9(1),(2) 

___4.  There is an employee policy in place that prohibits employees from smoking within 25 
feet of building entrances, exits, air intakes, or windows. R 392-510-9(3)  

___5. Smoking may be allowed in vehicles used for work only when there are no ex or non-
smokers present in the vehicle. R 392-510-6(3). 

___6.  In a place where smoking is prohibited entirely, a sign using the words “No Smoking is 
permitted in this establishment” or a similar statement which includes a universal no- 
smoking symbol must be posted. Signs must be easily readable and unobscured. The 
words “No Smoking” must be not less than 1.5" in height.  R392-510-12.  

___7.  If smoking is permitted, (only allowed if section §26-38-3(2) (a), (b), or (c); §26-38-3.5  
conditions are met), smoking areas must be clearly indicated by appropriate signage, 
HVAC systems maintained, and other requirements for those areas.  §26- 38-3(2)(c),  

  R 392-510-6, 7, 8, and 12.  
___8.  Since  January 1, 2009 private clubs, taverns, and social clubs are prohibited from 

allowing smoking inside buildings  and other enclosed structures or within 25 feet of 
entryways, exits, open windows or air intakes. § 26-38-2 (d), (p); R 392-510-9(1) 

 
 



 
 
 
 
___9. Smoking permitted areas, if allowed by § 26-38-3(2)(a), (b),  and (c), are designed and 

operated to prevent the drift of smoke outside the area. (If you can see or smell smoke 
assume drift is occurring). R 392-510-6(1), 7, and 8. 

___10  Smoking may be allowed in guest rooms of lodging facilities but smoking is prohibited in 
the common areas of these facilities, including dining areas, lobbies, laundry facilities;  
club houses, etc; air handling systems must not allow air from smoking-allowed areas to 
mix with air of nonsmoking areas. §26-38-3(2)(b); R 392-510-6(1) and (2)(a), (b), (c), (d) 

__11. Smoking is prohibited at all times in public and private elementary or secondary school 
buildings and the property on which those facilities are located. §26-38-2(2)(k)  

__12. Smoking is prohibited at all times at buildings operated by social, fraternal, or religious 
organizations when used solely by the organization members or their guests.  
§26-38-2(2)(l)  

__13. Smoking is prohibited at any facility rented or leased for private functions from which the 
general public is excluded and arrangements for the function are under the control of the 
function sponsor. (Examples include wedding parties, conventions, and trade shows). 
§26-38-2(2)(m)  

__14. Where child care is provided, smoking is not allowed when any child, other than the child 
of the provider, is present. 26-38-2(2)(j)(i) and (ii). 

 __15. An employer does not discriminate or take adverse action against an employee or 
applicant because: that person has sought enforcement of provisions of law (§  26-38- 
Chapter 38, R392-510), and/or the smoking policy of the workplace, and/or otherwise 
protested the smoking of others. R 392-510-13. 

 
*This checklist is designed to answer general questions that commonly arise and to help 
businesses, government agencies, and other organizations comply with the Act. It does not list all 
requirements of the statute and rule. The checklist should not be considered legal advice and 
should not be considered a substitute for obtaining assistance from a qualified legal advisor.  For 
more specific and detailed information refer to the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act Statute §26-38-1 
through 9 and Rule 392-510-1 through 17. 

A printer-friendly copy of this checklist can be obtained by going to: 
http://www.tobaccofreeutah.org/uicaachecklist.pdf 
 
State and Local Contacts  
Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, Utah Department of Health 
1-877-220-3466 (toll-free; in-state); (801) 538-6260  
Office of Environmental Sanitation, Utah Department of Health 
(801) 538-6754  
Local Health Department Contacts 
Check local phone listings 
 
On the Web 
For more information about the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, developing tobacco policies, or 
cessation resources go to the Tobacco Prevention and Control Program website at: 
 
Utah Indoor Clean Air Act- http://www.tobaccofeeutah.org/uicaastat&rule.html   
Developing Tobacco Policies- http://www.tobaccofreeutah.org/shsguide.html    
Cessation Resources-  http://www.tobaccofreeutah.org/quit-1.html   
 
 


