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About the Act
The Utah Indoor Clean Air

Act went into effect January
1, 1995 and was amended in
2006 and 2007. The law is
designed to protect Utahns
and visitors to the state

from harmful exposure to
secondhand tobacco smoke
(SHS). It bans smoking in
most public places, including
private businesses.

What the Law Requires
The Act:

Prohibits the possession of
lighted tobacco products in
enclosed places of public
access and publicly owned
buildings and offices.
§26-38-3(1)

Under very specific
circumstances allows for
limited exceptions under

§ 26-38-3(2)

When in Doubt

If in doubt about the smoking
status of a place, assume no
smoking is allowed until
clarified by your local health
department or the Utah
Department of Health.

It’s Easy to Comply With the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act

Publicly Accessible Places

Place of public access means any
enclosed indoor place business,
commerce, banking, financial service,
or other service-related activity to
which the persons not employed at
the place of public access have regular
and general access. The designation
applies whether the place is publicly
or privately owned and whether
operated for profit or not. To
determine the status of your own |
business or the place you are
visiting refer to §26-38-2.

B Buildings owned, rented or leased
or operated by social, fraternal, or
religious organizations

Specific Examples

B Common areas of nursing homes,
hospitals, resorts, motels, hotels,

“bed and breakfast” lodging facilities

B Child care facilities, including those
in private homes

(7 . M Public or private
elementary or
secondary schools

Select Examples and their grounds

W Buildings, offices, shops,

rest rooms, elevators

B Means of transportation,
common carrier waiting areas

B Restaurants, cafes, cafeterias

While publicly accessible
areas are not required to
have a written employee
policy, employers are
encouraged to develop
written tobacco policies
and to review them on a
routine basis.

M Taverns or cabarets and clubs

B Shopping malls, retail stores, grocery
stores, or arcades

M Libraries, theaters, concert halls,
museums, art galleries,
planetariums, historical sites,
auditoriums, or arenas

B Barber shops, hair salons,
Laundromats




The 25 Foot Rule

R 392-510-9 requires employers to establish a policy that
prohibits employee smoking within 25 feet of any entrance-
way, exit, open window, or air intake of a building where

smoking is prohibited.

It also prohibits building owners, agents, or operators of a
place from designating an outdoor smoking permitted area
within 25 feet of the above locations next to a building
where smoking is prohibited.

Who Enforces the Law?

Building owners, agents. or operators of places where
smoking is prohibited under §26-38-3(1) are required to
enforce the law by asking persons to extinguish any lighted
If the
person refuses, he/she must be asked to leave the premises

as per §26-38-7.

tobacco products where smoking is prohibited.

Employers have a duty to assure employees comply with

workplace smoking policies.

Local health departments and the Utah Department
of Health are charged with investigating complaints

regarding violations and for enforcing the Utah Indoor
Clean Air Act .

Penalties for Violations

A person in possession of a lighted tobacco product in a
smoking prohibited area as per §26-38-3 or 4 is subject
to a civil penalty of not more than $100 for the first
violation and not less than $100 but no more than $500
for subsequent violations.

The statute and rule also place duties on owners, agents,
and operators. In cases where compliance is not carried
out a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per occurrence may be
imposed by local or state health departments and Class B

or A misdemeanor charges may be filed.

The scientific evidence indicates there is

no risk-free level of exposure to secondhand
smoke.

U.S. Surgeon General Report, 2006

UTAH INDOOR CLEAN AIR ACT

Resources to Hel

Utah Department of Health

Tobacco Prevention and Control Program
1-(877)-220-3466; or (801) 538-6260
Environmental Sanitation Program

(801) 538-6754

Local Health Departments
B Bear River Health Department Box Elder,
Cache, Rich Counties (435) 792-6507
B Central Utah Public Health Department — Juab,
Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne Counties
(435) 896-5451
B Davis County Health Department— Davis
County (801) 451-3296
B Salt Lake City/County Health Department— Salt
Lake County (801) 313-6641
B Southeastern Utah Health Department— Carbon,
Emery, Grand, San Juan Counties (435) 637-3671
B Southwest Utah Public Health Department—
Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane, Washington Counties
(435) 673-3528; (435) 586-2437
B Summit County Health Department— Summit
County (435) 336-4451
B Tooele County Health Department— Tooele
County- (435)277-2440
B TriCounty Health Department— Daggett,
Duchesne, Uintah Counties (435) 781-5473
B Utah County Health Department— Utah County-
(801) 370-8700
B Wasatch County Health Department- Wasatch
County (435) 654-2700
B Weber/Morgan Health Department- Morgan,
Weber Counties (801) 7176

Internet Resources
Tobacco Prevention and Control Program
http://www.tobaccofreeutah.org

Environmental Sanitation Program

http;//www.health.utah.gov/epi/envsve

Quitting Resources
Utah Quit Line
1-888-567-8788



