Utah Indoor Clean Air Act

Penalties for Violating the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act

There are Penalties For Failure to Comply

Civil monetary penalties can be assessed by state and local health departments on those persons who violate provisions of the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act. For a first violation of Section 26-38-3 a civil penalty of up to $100 may be imposed. For a second or subsequent violation the individual is subject to a penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $500.

Failure to abide by the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act requirements and failure to respond to orders by state or local health departments to comply may also be subject to civil penalty of up to $10,000 (which can be assessed on a per occurrence basis) and class B and A misdemeanor criminal penalties according to Section 26-23-6.

There are Resources Available to Help You Avoid Penalties

By carefully reviewing requirements of the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act statute (Section 26-38-1 through 9) and administrative rule (R392-510-1 through 16), businesses, government agencies, and organizations can avoid being penalized. State and local health departments are readily available to address any questions you may have about the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act .

For assistance call: 1.877.220.3466 (toll-free) or 801.538.6260.


way to quit


Utah Tobacco Facts 2010

Jan. 7, 2010

The Utah Tobacco Facts Report provides an overview of tobacco use as well as health and economic indicators associated with smoking among Utah's adult and youth populations. more...