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Utah Bicycle Injury Facts

Do You Know These Facts About Bicycle Injuries in Utah?
« 91% of bicyclists involved in a bicycle/motor vehicle crash are injured.!
« The most serious bicycle related injuries are head injuries.

« Bicyclists most often involved in a crash with a motor vehicle are
between the ages of 5-24 years.®

« Utah had the 15th highest bicycle fatality rate in the U.S. from 1996-2005."

1996-2005 Bicycle Injury Data

Bicycle/Motor Vehicle Crashes (Bike/MVC)

« 8,533 bicyclists were hit by motor vehicles *

« 41% of bicyclists hit by motor vehicles were children
5-14 years of age and 27% were between the ages of
15-24 years *

« 79% of bicyclists hit by motor vehicles are male

« 32% of Bike/MVC occur between 3 - 6 PM *

« $6.9 million was spent in 2005 in Utah to treat bicyclist
injuries sustained in crashes with motor vehicles at
hospitals and emergency departments °

Bicycle Fatalities «Bicvelists fare best wh
icyclists were killed in crashes with motor vehicles ® Bicyclists fare best when
« 58 bicyclis they act and are treated as

« 39% of bicyclists killed in crashes with motor vehicles drivers of vehicles”
were 14 years of age and younger and 28% were - John Forester ,
between the ages of 24-34 years Author and Bieyele Advocate

« 74% of bicyclists killed were males *
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. . . Violence & Injury|
For more information, contact the Utah Department of Health VIPP at PO Box 142106 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106 Prevention

http://health.utah.gov/vipp Telephone: (801) 538-6141 Fax: (801) 538-9134 E-mail: vipp@utah.gov. VIPP Program




Prevention Information

Most bicycle injuries can be prevented by choosing safe

behaviors and obeying traffic laws.

ot AR
ROAD

Tips For Motorists
Treat bicyclists the same as other vehicles.
Don’t underestimate the speed of a bicycle, many
bicyclists can travel 25 to 30 mph.
Slow down and be careful around young bicyclists.
Give bicyclists space on the road. The law requires a
motorist to allow at least 3 feet of clearance when
passing a bicycle.
Do not drive or park in a bike lane.
Check for bicycles before opening the car door.

Tips For Bicyclists
Bicyclists must obey traffic signs, signals, and lane
markings.

Ride with the flow of traffic on the right side of the road.

Be predictable, ride in a straight line.

Bicyclists should use hand signals to let other roads
users know where they plan to go.

Never move to the left on a roadway, without first
looking back for faster moving traffic.

Always wear a helmet.
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Bicycle Helmets

Helmets reduce the risk of head and
brain injury by 85 — 88%°

Utah is one of 14 states in the U.S.
that does not have any type of bicycle
helmet law’

In the U.S. 93% of bicyclists killed
are not wearing helmets while only
5% of bicyclists wearing helmets are
killed?

Bicycle helmet use in Utah for
several years was increasing, but
recently has started declining for
bicyclists under the age of 12 years

Data Sources: 1-Utah Crash Summary - Utah Highway Safety Office. 2-Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. 3-Violence and Injury Prevention Program - Utah Department of Health. 4-National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 5-Utah Department of Health, http://ibis.health.utah.gov 6-New England Journal of Medicine. 7-Bicycle Safety Helmet Institute, http://www.helmets.org/




