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State Leaders Celebrate 30 Years of Preventing
Violence and Injuries

(Salt Lake City, UT) — Injuries and violence can have a dramatic impact on a person’s ability to
lead an active, fulfilling life. Injuries are the leading cause of death for Utahns ages 1-44. Every
day in Utah, four people die and 475 are hospitalized or treated in an emergency department due
to injury or violence. But the fact is, these don’t have to happen, as research shows that most

injuries are predictable and preventable.

In 1983, Dr. Peter van Dyck, a longtime national leader in the maternal and child health field and
former Director of what was then known as the Family Health Services Division at the Utah
Department of Health (UDOH), recognized the danger unintentional injuries were to Utah
children. Together with Trisha Keller, Program Manager of the UDOH Violence and Injury
Prevention Program, he established a new program dedicated to keeping children safe. This
made the UDOH one of the first five state health departments in the country to have an injury

prevention program.

“Qur first project was figuring out where, when, how, and why students got hurt at school,” said
Keller. “We worked with the State Office of Education, local school districts, and individual
schools to develop a system to track student injuries. We would then use those data to make
changes like installing safer playground equipment to prevent further injuries.” That was in 1984

and the system, known as the Student Injury Reporting System, is still in existence today.

“It’s truly remarkable the progress we’ve made as a state over the last 30 years to help families
live safe and violence-free lives,” said Representative Tim Cosgrove, Utah House of
Representatives and Child Advocate with Primary Children’s Hospital. “But our work isn’t
finished yet. We’ve seen a rise in the number of prescription drug overdoses and suicides the last

few years. And we continue to see far too many lives lost on Utah roads due to distracted driving
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and the decision to not wear a seat belt. It will take strong commitment from state officials,

community partners, and families to stop these growing public health problems.”

In 2011, the top five injury-related causes of death in Utah were:
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Suicide

Poisoning (most are due to prescription pain medication overdoses)
Motor Vehicle Traffic Crashes

Falls

Unintentional Suffocation

To celebrate 30 years of violence and injury prevention, the UDOH hosted an open house to

thank the many dedicated state officials, community organizations, and individuals who have

dedicated their lives to preventing the heartache injuries and violence can bring. As part of the

celebration, the UDOH constructed a 15-foot timeline highlighting some of the major

accomplishments in the field. Highlights included:

1986 — Utah State Legislature enacted a seat belt law.

1993 — Safe Kids Utah, a 501(c) 3 organization dedicated to preventing injuries in children, is
formed.

1996 — UDOH and the University of Utah launched the Utah Youth Suicide Study.

1997 — Utah became the first Western state to implement a statewide, toll-free, 24-hour rape and
sexual assault crisis and information hotline.

1999 - Utah’s first Graduated Driver Licensing laws go into effect. Since 1999, there has been a
nearly two-thirds (62%) drop in the rate of teens ages 15-17 killed in motor vehicle crashes.

2004 — Utah joins 17 other states conducting surveillance on all violent deaths.

2005 — Primary Children’s Hospital and Safe Kids Utah launch the “Spot the Tot” campaign. The
campaign is released worldwide in 2006.

2008 — The Utah State Legislature enacted a law requiring children younger than 8 years of age
and less than 57 inches in height to be in an appropriate child restraint device like a car seat or
booster seat.

2008 — Utah State Legislature established the Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Fund.

2008 — The “Use Only As Directed” media campaign was launched to promote the safe use,
storage, and disposal of prescription medications.

2013 — The Utah State Legislature enacted a law that allows those in a dating relationship to get a
protective order when one of the dating partners commits abuse.

For more information about violence and injury prevention efforts in Utah, including the latest

statistics and prevention tips, visit http://www.health.utah.gov/vipp.
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The mission of the Utah Department of Health is to protect the public's health through
preventing avoidable illness, injury, disability and premature death, assuring access to

affordable, quality health care, and promoting healthy lifestyles.



