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You are receiving this information because one of the children in your care has met CMV testing criteria. 
PLEASE add “CC: UDOH CMV (Fax# 801-536-0492)” to your LAB REQUEST 

UCA 26-10-10 Cytomegalovirus (CMV) Public Education and Testing Law 
(3) If a newborn infant fails the newborn hearing screening test(s) under Subsection 26-10-6(1) (Utah Newborn
Hearing Screening Law), a medical practitioner shall:
(a) test the newborn infant for CMV before the newborn is 21 days of age, unless a parent of the newborn

     infant objects; and 
(b) provide to the parents of the newborn infant information regarding:

(i) birth defects caused by congenital CMV; and
(ii) available methods of treatment.

R398-4-5. Reporting requirements 
Medical practitioners are required to submit results of the CMV testing to UDOH for each newborn 
under their care who is referred for CMV testing within 10 days of receiving results.(Fax:801-536-0492) 

 Important CMV PCR Testing Information 
• Many laboratories currently offer PCR-based CMV testing. Testing should be performed only on SALIVA

(via OraCollect 100 swab) or URINE. At present, ARUP Laboratories is the only local facility that has a
validated test for saliva. Saliva samples should be collected at least 120 minutes after
breastfeeding to prevent false positives, as CMV can be present in breast milk.

• Each primary care provider should submit specimens through their normal laboratory testing
mechanism.  ARUP, Intermountain and ViraCor-Eurofins Laboratories can conduct qualitative CMV PCR
testing on saliva.

• Many Utah laboratories have validated qualitative CMV PCR assay testing on urine, including:
LabCorp, Quest, Intermountain, and ARUP.  ViraCor-Eurofins Laboratories has quantitative testing
only utilizing urine.

• Pricing will vary depending on the laboratory and the specific hospital contract. Primary care
providers will need to consult their affiliated hospitals or reference laboratories to obtain pricing
information.

• The CPT code for CMV detection (qualitative) by PCR is 87496, and is covered by Medicaid and other insurances.

• An appropriate ICD-10 code would be H91.90 (neonatal hearing loss).

For additional help:    Utah EHDI (801) 273-6600   or     health.utah.gov/CMV   or    cmv@utah.gov 
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