EMS HOME PAGE About Us Complaint, Compliance and Enforcement Unit Conferences, Courses & Seminars Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) Data EMS Grants EMS Laws & Rules EMS Providers EMS Certification Life With Dignity/POLST/DNR Operations Preparedness Specialty Care Systems (Pediatric, STEMI, Stroke, Trauma) State EMS Committee State Protocol Guidelines Training

Training Courses and Seminars

New EMS Instructor Course

Dates, Location, and Cost

Dates: October 12–14, 2016

Times: October 12: 7:30 am–5:00 pm
October 13: 7:30 am–5:00 pm
October 14: 7:30 am–1:00 pm

Location: Utah Public Health Laboratory, 4431 S 2700 W, Taylorsville
Cost: $150

If you are a Fire Instructor, see New Instructor Course for Currently-certified Fire Instructors.


  1. Must be currently certified in Utah as an EMD, EMR, EMT, AEMT, EMT-IA, or Paramedic (you must submit a front and back copy of your certification card with your application).
  2. Submit three (3) letters of recommendation outlining and describing your EMS skills and teaching abilities.
  3. Submit documentation to verify you have fifteen (15) hours of instruction experience.
  4. Submit documentation to verify that you have provided thirty (30) hours of actual patient care within the past year prior to application (EMT, EMT-IA, or Paramedic only).
  5. Complete U-Train registration (see link below) and submit payment by October 5, 2016. Registrations and payments received after the deadline will be subject to a $25.00 late fee.
  6. Incomplete registrations will be denied.
  7. Documents may be e-mailed to Gay Brogdon at gbrogdon@utah.gov or faxed to 801-274-0738.


Applications will be accepted until the course is full.

  1. Register on U-Train (Course ID 1027032).
  2. Submit supporting documentation (see instructions on U-Train course page).


Questions? Contact Gay Brogdon at gbrogdon@utah.gov or 801-273-6603.

Updated August 17, 2016