## **Governance Committee**

December 21, 2020

Chair: Jeff Coombs

Present: Dr. Joseph Miner, Heather Borski, Jeff Coombs, Lloyd Berentzen, Janae Duncan, Brian Hatch, Gary

Edwards, Jill Parker

Visitors: Braden Ainsworth

Voting Members: Dr. Joseph Miner, Heather Borski, Janae Duncan, Lloyd Berentzen, Jeff Coombs, Brian Hatch

Co-Chairs: Heather Borski and Jeff Coombs

## **Minutes**

Approve minutes from December 7, 2020 Governance meeting.

Motion to approve minutes: 1st: Heather Borski 2nd: Lloyd Berentzen

Voting Members: Dr. Joseph Miner, Heather Borski, Janae Duncan, Lloyd Berentzen, Jeff Coombs, Brian Hatch

## Other Agenda Items:

Tobacco Funding Discussion - Braden Ainsworth and Janae Duncan

- o This item refers to the e-cigarette tax money that was received this legislative session.
- The restrictions for use of the e-cigarette tax money is specific to enforcement and does not allow for other activities.
- Concerns have been expressed regarding the amount of enforcement activities not able meeting the \$2 million funding amount.
- One option to maximize the reallocation of funding in a productive way is to include compliance checks in these activities as compliance checks are considered an allowable enforcement mechanism that encompasses all tobacco products.
- Compliance checks currently receive MSA funding which is a more flexible funding source.
- If compliance checks were taken out of e- cigarette tax funding, the more flexible MSA funding would be available for use elsewhere.
- It has been determined that Operation Storefront and Vapefront is an allowable activity that leads to enforcement.
- Distribution to local health departments will remain the same and MSA funding will return to the local health departments.
- This option will be reviewed the UDOH attorney and Communicated with Sheila Walsh-McDonald and Marc Watterson.
- Once this is reviewed and approved, information and key speaking points will be sent to Jill Parker and Marc Watterson to answer legislative questions regarding the shift from MSA funding.

Motion to move forward with recommendation from Governance - 1st: Lloyd Berentzen 2nd: Janae Duncan

Voting Members: Dr. Joseph Miner, Heather Borski, Janae Duncan, Lloyd Berentzen, Jeff Coombs, Brian Hatch

Next Meeting - January 4, 2021 - 12:30pm - Room 401/Google Meet

## **Motion to Adjourn**

Motion to Adjourn - 1<sup>st</sup>: Heather Borski 2<sup>nd</sup>: Brian Hatch

Voting Members: Dr. Joseph Miner, Heather Borski, Janae Duncan, Lloyd Berentzen, Jeff Coombs, Brian Hatch