During the 2014 Legislative Session, Utah lawmakers passed House Bill 105 allowing Utah residents, or their dependents, who are being treated for intractable epilepsy, to possess hemp extract as a means of treating their disease. To legally possess hemp extract under Utah law, an individual must apply for and obtain a hemp extract registration card from the Utah Department of Health, Office of Vital Records and Statistics (OVRS).
To apply for a hemp extract registration card, complete an application and submit it to OVRS using the contact information provided in the application. Submitting an application requires payment of a $200 fee.
If you currently hold a hemp extract registration card and need to renew it, complete a renewal application and submit it to OVRS using the contact information provided in the application. Cards expire one year after the date of issuance. Submitting a renewal application requires payment of a $50 renewal fee. If your card expired over 120 days ago, submitting a late renewal application requires payment of a $200 fee.
Once issued a hemp extract registration card, an individual should learn what additional steps must be taken in order to legally possess hemp extract in the State of Utah. Utah Code 58-37-4.3 describes standards for legal possession of hemp extract. These standards include obtaining the hemp extract’s certificate of analysis from the seller. Once purchased, the certificate of analysis must be kept in close proximity to the hemp extract.
In June 2018, researchers at the University of Utah released results from a study they completed on the effect of hemp extract on patients with hemp extract registration cards. The results were reported to the Utah Legislature’s Health and Human Services Interim Committee soon after the results were released.
To ask questions about the hemp extract registration card, please contact OVRS at firstname.lastname@example.org or 801-538-6264.