
 

 

R381.  Health, Child Care Center Licensing Committee. 
R381-XXX.  Preschool Programs. 
R381-XXX-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with Utah 
Code, Title 26, Chapter 39. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards necessary 
to protect the health and safety of children in commercial preschool 
programs and defines the general procedures and requirements to obtain 
and maintain a license to provide this type of child care. 
 
R381-XXX-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has applied for 
a new or a renewal of a license, certificate, or exemption from Child 
Care Licensing. 
 (2)  "ASTM" means American Society for Testing and Materials. 
 (3)  "Background Finding" means information in a background 
check that may result in a denial from Child Care Licensing. 
 (4)  "Background Check Denial" means that an individual has 
failed the background check and is prohibited from being involved with 
a child care program. 
 (5)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure such as a fence, 
wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent accidental or deliberate 
movement through or access to something. 
 (6)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, and/or 
saliva. 
 (7)  "Business Days/Hours" means the days of the week and times 
the facility is open for business. 
 (8)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children for whom 
care can be provided at any given time. 
 (9)  "Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of caregivers 
responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (10)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program in the 
Department of Health that is delegated with the responsibility to 
enforce the Utah Child Care Licensing Act. 
 (11)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision of 5 or 
more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home, 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day, and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (12)  "Child Care Center Licensing Committee" means the Child 
Care Center Licensing Committee created in the Utah Child Care 
Licensing Act. 
 (13)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business that offers 
child care. 
 (14)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable part on an 
object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inch and a length of less 



 

 

than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat blocking 
their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (15)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk of 
losing their child care license because compliance with licensing 
rules has not been maintained. 
 (16)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  a director; 
 (c)  a member of the governing body; 
 (d)  an employee; 
 (e)  a caregiver; 
 (f)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the child 
care program; 
 (g)  an individual age 12 years or older who resides in the 
facility; and 
 (h)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (17)  "CPSC" means the Consumer Product Safety Commission. 
 (18)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (19)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible elevated 
surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; or an 
accessible flat surface at least 2 by 2 inches in size and having an 
angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (20)  "Director" means a person who meets the director 
qualifications in this rule, and who assumes the child care program's 
day-to-day responsibilities for compliance with Child Care Licensing 
rules. 
 (21) “Early Childhood Education” means a program of study that 
prepares an individual for the teaching of children in their early 
years, normally from birth up to the age of eight years old.  
 (22)  "Emotional Abuse" means behavior that could harm a child's 
emotional development, such as threatening, intimidating, 
humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using profane 
language, and/or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (23)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 3-1/2 by 
6-1/4 inches and less than 9 inches in diameter where a child's body 
could fit through but the child's head could not fit through, 
potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (24)  "Facility" means a child care program or the premises 
approved by the Department to be used for child care. 
 (25)  "Group" means the children who are supervised by one or more 
caregivers. 
 (26)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered individual 
and is at the child care facility with the provider's permission. 
 (27)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, and 
adequate nighttime residence as described in the McKinney-Vento Act.  
McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (Title IX, Part A of ESSA) 



 

 

 (28)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by being: 
 (a)  locked, such as in a locked room, cupboard, or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, such as a child safety 
cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located in a cupboard or on a shelf that is at least 36 inches 
above the floor; or 
 (e)  in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface from 
where a child could stand or climb.   
 (29)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable of 
being spread from one person to another. 
 (30)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the following 
at or for a child care program licensed by the Department: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c) own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e) count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (31)  "License" means a license issued by the Department to 
provide child care services. 
 (32)  "Licensee" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (33)  "LIS Supported Finding" means background check information 
from the Licensing Information System (LIS) database for child abuse 
and neglect, maintained by the Utah Department of Human Services. 
 (34)  "McKinney-Vento Act" means a federal law that requires 
protections and services for children and youth who are homeless 
including those with disabilities.  McKinney-Vento Homeless 
Assistance Act (Title IX, Part A of ESSA)  
 (35)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication that can be 
purchased without a written prescription including herbal remedies, 
vitamins, and mineral supplements. 
 (36)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child in 
care. 
 (37)  "Person" means an individual or a business entity. 
 (38)  "Physical Abuse" means causing nonaccidental physical harm 
to a child. 
 (39)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a piece 
of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child to stand 
on, and upon which the children can move freely. 
 (40)  "Preschooler" means a child age 2 through 4 years old. 
 (41)  "Protective Barrier" means a structure such as bars, 
lattice, or a panel that is around an elevated platform and is intended 
to prevent accidental or deliberate movement through or access to 
something. 
 (42)  "Protective Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing surface 



 

 

under and around play equipment that reduces the severity of injuries 
from falls. 
 (43)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (44)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of a person other than the child care provider or caregiver, 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years old 
and is the child of a person other than the provider or caregiver, or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than 4 years old and is the child of 
the provider or a caregiver. 
 (45)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is the 
parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, 
great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 

(46) “Room” will be define as follows: 
When a large room is divided into smaller rooms/areas with barriers 
such as furniture or with half walls, the room/area will be considered: 

(a) One room, when the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is 24 inches or less, whether the barrier is movable or 
immovable.  

(b) One room, when the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is between 25 and 40 inches in height and there is an opening 
in the barrier through which caregivers and children can move 
freely. 

(c) Two rooms, when the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is between 25 and 40 inches in height and there is no opening 
in the barrier through which caregivers and children can move 
freely, or there is an opening between the two sides but the 
opening is blocked such as with a child safety gate. This applies 
to a diaper changing station that is located behind a closed 
gate. 

(d) Two rooms, when the room is divided by a solid barrier that 
is over 40 inches in height and there is no opening in the barrier 
through which caregivers and children can move freely, or there 
is an opening between the two sides but the opening is blocked 
such as with a child safety gate. If there is an opening through 
which caregivers and children can move freely and it the opening 
is not blocked, refer to the instructions for a large opening, 
archway, or doorway. 

When two rooms/areas are connected by a large opening, archway, or 
doorway, the rooms/areas will be considered: 
(e) One room, when the width of the opening or archway is equal 

to or greater than the combined width of the walls on each side 
of the opening or archway (in the larger of the two rooms/areas), 
and there is no furniture or other dividers blocking the opening 
or archway. Otherwise this will be considered two rooms. 



 

 

(f) Two rooms, when the width of the opening or archway is 
smaller than the combined width of the walls on each side of 
the opening or archway (in the larger of the two rooms/areas). 

When in outdoor areas separated by interior fences, consider it: 
(g) One area – when the interior fence is 24 inches or lower 

in height, whether or not the fence has an opening. 
(h) One area – when the interior fence is 40 inches or lower 

in height with an opening through which caregivers and children 
can move freely. 

(i) Two areas – when the interior fence is higher than 24 inches 
and there is no opening. 

(j) Two areas – when the interior fence is higher than 40 inches 
whether or not the fence has an opening. 

 (47)  "Sanitize" means to use a chemical product to remove soil 
and bacteria from a surface or object.   
 (48)  "Sexual Abuse" means abuse as defined in Utah Code, Title 
76-5-404(1). 
 (49)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction of 
sexually explicit conduct as defined in Utah Code, Title 
76-5b-103(10).   
 (50)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment such as a 
climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring rocker that is meant 
to stay in one location when a child uses it.  Stationary play 
equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and has no 
attached equipment, such as a slide, swing, or climber. 
 (51)  "Strangulation Hazard" means something on which a child's 
clothes or drawstrings could become caught, or something in which a 
child could become entangled such as: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than 2 threads beyond 
the face of the nut; 
 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space between 
components such as a protruding S-hook; or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
 (52)  "Substitute" means a person who assumes a caregiver's 
duties when the caregiver is not present.   
 (53)  "Unrelated Child" means a child who is not a "related child" 
as defined in R381-XXX-2(45). 
 (54)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring for, 
communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a caregiver 
or other employee who is at least 18 years old and has passed a Child 
Care Licensing background check. 
 (55)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and surrounding a play 



 

 

structure or piece of equipment that is designated for unrestricted 
movement around the equipment, and onto which a child falling from or 
exiting the equipment could be expected to land. 
 (56)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no form of 
direct or indirect compensation for their service. 
 (57)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the Department 
is open for business. 
 
R381-XXX-3.  License Required. 
 (1)  A person or persons shall have a preschool program license 
if they provide care: 
 (a)  in the absence of the child's parent, 
 (b)  in a place other than the provider's home or the child's 
home, 
 (c)  for 5 or more qualifying children between the ages of 2 and 
4 years old, and 5 years old if the child is not attending school. 
 (d)  for each individual child for less than 4 hours per day, 
 (e)  on an ongoing basis for more than 2 days a week and for 4 
or more weeks in a year, 
 (f)  for direct or indirect compensation, and 
 (g)  where care does not include preparing meals to children. 
 (2)  The Department may not license, nor is a license required 
for: 
 (a)  a person who cares for related children only, or 
 (b)  a person who provides care on a sporadic basis only. 

(3)  A provider may not be licensed to provide child care in a 
facility that is also licensed to offer foster or respite care 
services, or another licensed or certified human services program, 
unless the part of the building requesting a CCL license is physically 
separated from the other building services. 
  
R381-XXX-4.  License Application, Renewal, Changes, and Variances. 
 (1)  An applicant for a new preschool program license shall 
submit to the Department: 
 (a)  an online application; 
 (b)  a copy of a current local fire clearance or a statement from 
the local fire authority that a fire inspection is not required; 
 (c)  a copy of a current local business license or a statement 
from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (d)  a copy of the educational credentials of the person who will 
be the director as required in R381-XXX-7; 
 (e)  a copy of a completed Department health and safety plan form; 
 (f)  CCL background checks for all covered individuals as 
required in R381-XXX-8; 
 (g)  CCL new provider training completion no more than six months 
before the date of the application; and 
 (h)  all required fees, which are nonrefundable. 



 

 

 (2)  The applicant shall pass a Department's inspection of the 
facility before a new license or a renewal is issued. 
 (3)  If the local fire authority states that a fire inspection 
is not required, a Department's CCL inspection for a new license or 
a renewal of a license shall verify compliance with the following: 
 (a)  address numbers and/or letters shall be readable and visible 
to the public; 
 (b) exit doors shall operate properly and shall be well 
maintained;  
 (c) obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and stairways shall 
be removed;  
 (d) exit doors shall be unlocked from the inside during business 
hours;  
 (e) exits shall be clearly identified;  
 (f) there shall be at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher 
on each level of the building, currently charged and serviced, and 
mounted not more than 5 feet above the floor;  
 (g) there shall be working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and  
 (h) boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms shall not be 
used for storage.  

(4)  If the provider serves food and the local health department 
states that a kitchen inspection is not required, a Department's CCL 
inspection for a new license or a renewal of a license shall verify 
compliance with the following: 
 (a)  the refrigerator shall be clean, in good repair, and working 
at or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there shall be a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces shall be washed, rinsed, and sanitized with an approved 
sanitizer before each use; 
 (d)  chemicals shall be stored away from food and food service 
items; 
 (e)  food shall be properly stored, kept to the proper 
temperature, and in good condition; and 
 (f)  there shall be a working handwashing sink in the kitchen and 
handwashing instructions posted by the sink. 
 (5)  If the applicant does not complete the application process 
within 6 months of first submitting any portion of the application, 
the Department may deny the application and to be licensed, the 
applicant shall reapply. This includes resubmitting all required 
documentation, repaying licensing fees, and passing another 
inspection of the facility. 
 (6)  The Department may deny an application for a license if, 
within the 5 years preceding the application date, the applicant held 
a license or a certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting from 



 

 

a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice of 
immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an inspection of the facility found 
rule violations that would have resulted in a notice of intent to revoke 
or a notice of revocation had the provider not closed voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the Department. 
 (7)  Each child care license expires at midnight on the last day 
of the month shown on the license, unless the license was previously 
revoked by the Department, or voluntarily closed by the provider. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current license expires, the 
provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request, 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees, 
 (c)  any previous unpaid fees, 
 (d)  a copy of a current business license, and 
 (e)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  A provider who fails to renew their license by the expiration 
date may have an additional 30 days to complete the renewal process 
if they pay a late fee. 
 (10)  The Department may not renew a license for a provider who 
is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  The provider shall submit a complete application for a new 
license at least 30 days before any of the following changes occur: 
 (a)  a change of the child care facility's location, or 
 (b)  a change that transfers 50 percent or more ownership or 
controlling interest to a new individual or entity. 
 (12)  The provider shall submit a complete application to amend 
an existing license at least 30 days before any of the following 
changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of licensed capacity, including any 
change to the amount of usable indoor or outdoor space where child care 
is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation category of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; 
 (e)  an addition or loss of a director; or 
 (f)  a change in ownership that does not require a new license. 
 (13)  A license is not assignable or transferable and shall only 
be amended by the Department. 
 (14)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with a rule but 
can meet the intent of the rule in another way, they may apply for a 
variance to that rule by submitting a request to the Department. 
 (15)  The provider shall comply with the existing rule until a 
variance is approved. 
 (16)  If a variance is approved, the provider shall keep a copy 
of the written approval on-site for review by parents and the 



 

 

Department. 
 (17)  The Department may revoke a variance if: 
 (a)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as stated 
in their approved variance; 
 (b)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of the 
variance; or 
 (c)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis for 
the variance. 
 
R381-XXX-5.  Rule Violations and Penalties. 
 (1)  The Department may place a program's child care license on 
a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with rules; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule violation that places children's health or 
safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The Department shall establish the length of the conditional 
status and set the conditions that the child care provider shall 
satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The Department may increase monitoring of the program that 
is on conditional status to verify compliance with rules. 
 (4)  The Department may deny or revoke a license if the child care 
provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a license on conditional 
status; 
 (b)  violates the Child Care Licensing Act; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the Department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
license or any other document issued by the Department; 
 (e)  refuses to allow authorized representatives of the 
Department access to the facility to ensure compliance with rules; 
 (f)  refuses to submit or make available to the Department any 
written documentation required to verify compliance with rules; 
 (g)  commits a serious rule violation that results in death or 
serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk of death or 
serious harm; or 
 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude a person from 
having a license. 
 (5)  Within 10 working days of receipt of a revocation notice, 
the provider shall submit to the Department the names and mailing 
addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the Department can 
notify the parents of the revocation. 
 (6)  The Department may order the immediate closure of a facility 
if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in care 
and may require immediate action to protect their health or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the provider 
shall give the Department the names and mailing addresses of the 



 

 

parents of each enrolled child so the Department can notify the parents 
of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the Department may order the child care provider to suspend services 
and/or prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the Child Fatality 
Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause of death or 
injury by a medical professional. 
 (9)  If a person is providing care for more than 4 unrelated 
children without the appropriate license, the Department may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order, or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license, 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to the 
children in care, and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
within 30 calendar days of notification by the Department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate license 
agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an application and 
all required application documents within 30 days, the Department may 
issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A violation of any rule is punishable by an administrative 
civil money penalty of up to $5,000 per day as provided in Utah Code, 
Section 26-39-601. 
 (12)  Assessment of any civil money penalty does not prevent the 
Department from also taking action to deny, place on conditional 
status, revoke, immediately close, or refuse to renew a license. 
 (13)  Assessment of any administrative civil money penalty under 
this section does not prevent court-ordered or other equitable 
remedies. 
 (14)  The Department may deny an application or revoke a license 
for failure to pay any required fees, including fees for applications, 
late fees, returned checks, license changes, additional inspections, 
conditional monitoring inspections, background checks, civil money 
penalties, and other fees assessed by the Department. 
 (15)  An applicant or provider may appeal any Department decision 
within 15 working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R381-XXX-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years of age, 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check, and 
 (c) complete the new provider training offered by the 
Department. 
 (2)  If the owner is not a sole proprietor, the business entity 
shall submit to the Department the name(s) and contact information of 
the individual(s) who shall legally represent them and who shall comply 
with the requirements stated in R381-XXX-6(1). 



 

 

 (3)  The provider shall not engage in or allow conduct that 
endangers children in care; or is contrary to the health, morals, 
welfare, and safety of the public. 
 (4)  The provider shall have knowledge of and comply with all 
federal, state, and local laws, ordinances, and rules, and shall be 
responsible for the operation and management of a child care program. 
 (5)  The provider shall comply with licensing rules at all times 
when a child in care is present. 
 (6)  The provider shall post the original child care license on 
the facility premises in a place readily visible and accessible to the 
public. 
 (7)  The provider shall post a copy of the Department's Parent 
Guide at the facility for parent review during business hours. 
 (8)  The provider shall inform parents and the Department of any 
changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (9)  The provider shall establish, follow, and ensure that all 
staff and volunteers follow a written health and safety plan that is: 
 (a)  completed on the Department's required form, 
 (b)  submitted to the Department for initial approval and any 
time changes are made to the plan, 
 (c)  reviewed and updated as needed, 
 (d)  signed and dated at least annually, and 
 (e)  available for review by parents, staff, and the Department 
during business hours. 
 (10)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance, or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not have 
liability insurance. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that each parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (12)  The admission and health assessment form shall include the 
following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of people authorized by the parent to pick up the 
child; 
 (e)  name, address, and phone number of a person to be contacted 
in case of an emergency if the provider is unable to contact the parent; 
 (f)  if available, the name, address, and phone number of an 
out-of-area emergency contact person for the child; 
 (g)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
transportation releases with the parent's signature; 
 (h)  any known allergies of the child; 



 

 

 (i)  any known food sensitivities of the child; 
 (j)  any chronic medical conditions that the child may have; 
 (k)  instructions for special or nonroutine daily health care of 
the child; 
 (l)  current ongoing medications that the child may be taking;  
 (m)  any other special health instructions for the caregiver; and 
 (n) certification that all immunizations are current. 
 (13)  The admission and health assessment form shall: 
 (a)  be reviewed, updated, and signed or initialed by the parent 
at least annually; and 
 (b)  kept on-site for review by the Department. 
 (14)  Each child's information shall be kept confidential and 
shall not be released without written parental permission. 
 
R381-XXX-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that all employees and volunteers 
are supervised, qualified, and trained to: 
 (a)  meet the needs of the children as required by rule, and 
 (b)  be in compliance with all licensing rules. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the preschool program has a 
qualified director as required by licensing rules. 
 (3)  The director shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years of age; 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receive at least 2.5 hours of preservice training before 
beginning job duties; 
 (d)  complete the new director training offered by the Department 
within 60 working days of assuming director duties; 
 (e)  have knowledge of and follow all applicable laws and rules; 
and 
 (f)  complete at least 10 hours of child care training each year, 
based on the facility's license date. 
 (4)  New directors shall have one of the following educational 
credentials: 
 (a)  any bachelor's or higher education degree; 
 (b) at least 60 clock hours of approved Utah Early Childhood 
Career Ladder courses in child development, social/emotional 
development, and the child care environment; or 60 clock hours of 
equivalent training as approved by the Department; 
 (c)  at least 12 college credit hours of child development 
courses; 
 (d)  a currently valid national certification such as a Certified 
Childcare Professional (CCP) issued by the National Child Care 
Association, a Child Development Associate (CDA) issued by the Council 
for Early Childhood Professional Recognition, or other equivalent 
credential as approved by the Department; 
 (e)  at least a Level 9 from the Utah Early Childhood Career 



 

 

Ladder system;  
(f) a National Administrator Credential (NAC) and at least 60 

clock hours of approved Utah Early Childhood Career Ladder courses in 
child development, social/emotional development, and the child care 
environment; or 60 clock hours of equivalent training as approved by 
the Department; or 

(g) proof of at least 5 years of early education teaching 
experience.  
 (5)  The director shall be on duty at the facility for at least 
half of the time every week the program is open. 
 (6)  The director shall arrange for a designee who shall have 
authority to act on behalf of the director in the director's absence. 
 (7)  The director designee shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years of age; 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receive at least 2.5 hours of preservice training before 
beginning job duties; 
 (d)  have knowledge of and follow all applicable laws and rules; 
and 
 (e)  complete at least 10 hours of child care training each year, 
based on the facility's license date. 
 (8)  The director or the director designee shall be present at 
the facility whenever the program is open for care. 
 (9)  Caregivers shall: 
 (a)  be at least 16 years old; 
 (b) pass a CCL background check; 
 (c)  receive at least 2.5 hours of preservice training before 
caring for children; 
 (d)  have knowledge of and follow all applicable laws and rules; 
and 
 (e)  complete at least 10 hours of child care training each year, 
based on the facility's license date. 
 (10)  Substitutes shall: 
 (a)  be at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  pass a CCL background check; 
 (c)  be capable of providing care, supervising children, and 
handling emergencies in the caregiver's absence; 
 (d)  receive at least 2.5 hours of preservice training before 
caring for children; and 
 (e)  complete at least 1/2 hour of child care training for each 
month they work 10 hours or more. 
 (11)  All other employees such as drivers, cooks, and clerks 
shall: 
 (a)  pass a CCL background check, and 
 (b)  not have unsupervised contact with any child in care if the 
employee is younger than 16 years of age. 
 (12)  Volunteers shall: 



 

 

 (a)  pass a CCL background check, and 
 (b)  not have unsupervised contact with any child in care if the 
volunteer is younger than 18 years of age. 
 (13)  Guests: 
 (a)  shall not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, 
 (b)  shall wear a guest nametag, and 
 (c)  are not required to pass a CCL background check. 
 (14)  Student interns who are registered and participating in a 
high school or college child care course: 
 (a)  are not required to pass a CCL background check, 
 (b)  shall not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, 
and 
 (c)  shall wear a guest nametag. 
 (15)  Parents of children in care: 
 (a)  shall not have unsupervised contact with any child in care 
except their own, and 
 (b)  do not need a CCL background check unless involved with child 
care in the preschool program. 
 (16)  Individuals who provide IEP or IFSP services such as 
physical, occupational, or speech therapists: 
 (a)  are not required to have a CCL background check as long as 
the child's parent has given permission for services to take place at 
the program, and 
 (b)  shall provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or a child at the facility. 
 (17)  Members from law enforcement or from Child Protective 
Services: 
 (a)  are not required to have a CCL background check, and 
 (b)  shall provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or a child at the facility. 
 (18)  Preservice training shall include the following: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
 (b)  current Department rule sections R381-XXX-7 through 22; 
 (c) the Department-approved health and safety plan that 
includes preparing for and responding to emergencies; 
 (d)  prevention, signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect, 
including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting requirements; 
 (e) recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (f) a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group; and 
 (g) an introduction and orientation to the children in care.  
 (19)  Documentation of each individual's preservice training 
shall be kept on-site for review by the Department and include the 
following: 
 (a)  training topics, 
 (b)  date of the training, and 



 

 

 (c)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 (20)  Annual child care training shall include the following 
topics: 
 (a)  current Department rule sections R381-XXX-7 through 22; 
 (b)  the Department-approved health and safety plan that 
includes preparing for and responding to emergencies; 
 (c)  the prevention, signs and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (d)  principles of child growth and development, including brain 
development; 
 (e)  positive guidance and interactions with children; and 
 (f) recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance. 
 (21)  At least 5 of the 10 hours of annual child care training 
shall be face-to-face instruction. 
 (22)  Individuals who are required to receive annual child care 
training and who begin employment partway through the facility's 
license year shall complete a proportionate number of training hours 
including the face-to-face instruction. 
 (23)  Documentation of each individual's annual child care 
training shall be kept on-site for review by the Department and include 
the following: 
 (a)  training topic, 
 (b)  date of the training, 
 (c)  whether the training was face-to-face or non-face-to-face 
instruction, 
 (d)  name of the person or organization that presented the 
training, and 
 (e)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 (24)  Whenever there are children at the facility, there shall 
be at least one caregiver present who can demonstrate English literacy 
skills needed to care for children and respond to emergencies. 
 (25)  At least one staff member with a current Red Cross, American 
Heart Association, or equivalent first aid and infant/child CPR 
certification shall be present when children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility, 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children, and 
 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (26)  CPR certification shall include hands-on testing. 
 (27)  The following records for each covered individual shall be 
kept on-site for review by the Department: 
 (a)  the date of initial employment or association with the 
program; 
 (b)  a current first aid and CPR certification, if required in 
rule; and 
 (c)  a six-week record of the times worked each day. 



 

 

 
R381-XXX-8.  Background Checks. 

(1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved with child 
care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal 
search to: 

(a) verify that the individual has a current CCL background 
check, and 

(b) associate that individual with their facility. 
(2) Before a new covered individual who does not show in the CCL 

provider portal search becomes involved with child care in the program, 
the provider shall: 

(a) have the individual submit an online background check form 
and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years and older, 

(b) authorize the individual's background check through the CCL 
provider’s portal, 

(c) pay all required fees, and 
(d) receive written notice from CCL that the individual passed 

the background check.  
(3) A covered individual without a current background check will 

not show in the CCL provider portal search. The Department may not 
consider a covered individual’s background check current when the 
covered individual has: 

(a) failed to pass a CCL background check;  
(b) moved outside of Utah; or  
(c) not been associated with an active, CCL approved child care 

facility for the past 180 days. 
 (4)  The fingerprints shall be prepared by a local law 
enforcement agency or an agency approved by local law enforcement. 
 (5)  If fingerprints are submitted through Live Scan 
(electronically), the agency taking the fingerprints shall follow the 
Department's guidelines. 
 (6)  The following background findings may deny a covered 
individual from being involved with child care: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings, 
 (b)  the individual's name appears on the Utah or national sex 
offender registry,  
 (c)  any felony convictions, or 

(d) for any of the reasons listed under R381-100-8(8). 
 (7)  The following convictions, regardless of severity, may 
result in a background check denial: 
 (a)  unlawful sale or furnishing alcohol to minors; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  cruelty to animals, including dogfighting; 
 (d)  bestiality; 
 (e)  lewdness, including lewdness involving a child; 
 (f)  voyeurism; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons to a minor; 



 

 

 (h)  a parent providing a firearm to a violent minor; 
 (i)  a parent knowing of a minor's possession of a dangerous 
weapon; 
 (j)  sales of firearms to juveniles; 
 (k)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (l)  sexual solicitation; 
 (m)  prostitution and related crimes; 
 (n)  contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 
 (o)  any crime against a person; 
 (p)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (q)  leaving a child unattended in a vehicle; and 
 (r)  driving under the influence (DUI) while a child is present 
in the vehicle. 
 (8)  A covered individual shall not be denied if the only 
background finding is a conviction or plea of no contest to a nonviolent 
drug offense that occurred 10 or more years before the CCL background 
check was conducted. 
 (9)  The Department may rely on the criminal background check 
findings as conclusive evidence of the arrest warrant, arrest, charge, 
or conviction; and the Department may revoke, suspend, or deny a 
license or employment based on that evidence. 
 (10)  If the provider has a background check denial, the 
Department may suspend or deny their license until the reason for the 
denial is resolved. 
 (11)  If a covered individual fails to pass a CCL background 
check, including that the individual has been convicted, has pleaded 
no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit that 
individual from being employed by the child care program or residing 
at the facility until the reason for the denial is resolved. 
 (12)  If a covered individual is denied a license or employment 
based upon the criminal background check and disagrees with the 
information provided by the Department of Public Safety, the covered 
individual may appeal the information as provided in Utah Code, 
Sections 77-18-10 through 77-18-14 and 77-18a-1. 
 (13)  If a covered individual disagrees with a supported finding 
on the Department of Human Services Licensing Information System 
(LIS): 
 (a)  the individual cannot appeal the supported finding to the 
Department of Health, and 
 (b)  the covered individual may appeal the finding to the 
Department of Human Services and follow the process established by the 
Department of Human Services. 
 (14)  Within 48 hours of becoming aware of a covered individual's 
arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, conviction, or 
supported LIS finding, the provider and the covered individual shall 
notify the Department.  Failure to notify the Department within 48 



 

 

hours may result in disciplinary action, including revocation of the 
license. 
 (15)  The Executive Director of the Department of Health may 
overturn a background check denial when the Executive Director 
determines that the nature of the background finding or mitigating 
circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R381-XXX-9.  Facility.  
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint is tested for lead.  If lead-based 
paint is found, the provider shall contact their local health 
department within 5 working days and follow required procedures for 
remediation of the lead hazard. 
 (2)  Each room and indoor area that is used by children shall be 
ventilated by mechanical ventilation, or by windows that open and have 
screens. 
 (3)  Windows and glass doors within 36 inches from the floor or 
ground shall be made of safety or tempered glass, or have a protective 
guard. 
 (4)  All rooms and areas shall have adequate light intensity for 
the safety of the children and the type of activity being conducted. 
 (5)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature between 
65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (6)  There shall be a working telephone at the facility, in each 
vehicle while transporting children, and during offsite activities. 
 (7)  There shall be at least 1 working toilet and 1 working sink 
when there are up to 15 children in the facility, and at least 2 working 
toilets and 2 working sinks when there are more than 15 children present 
in the facility.  

(8) If there is an outdoor area, it shall: 
(a) be safely accessible to the children, 
(b) be enclosed within a fence, wall, or solid natural 

barrier that is at least 4 feet high, and 
(c) have no gaps 5 by 5 inches or greater in or under the 

fence or barrier.   
 (9)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that is not 
emptied after each use: 
 (a)  the provider shall meet applicable state and local laws and 
ordinances related to the operation of a swimming pool and maintain 
the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (b)  when not in use, the pool shall be enclosed within at least 
a 4-foot-high fence or solid barrier that is kept locked and that 
separates the pool from any other areas on the premises, or covered 
with an approved enclosure that meets the ASTM F1346 standard. 
 (10)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor areas in 
good repair and safe condition including: 



 

 

 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 
 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (11)  Accessible raised decks or balconies that are 5 feet or 
higher, and open stairwells that are 5 feet or deeper shall have 
protective barriers that are at least 3 feet high. 
 (12)  If the facility is subdivided, any part of the building is 
rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the entire facility shall be inspected and covered individuals 
in the facility shall comply with all rules, except when all of the 
following conditions are met: 
 (a)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (b)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be used 
by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (c)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area used for child 
care, or a qualified caregiver is present when children are using a 
shared outdoor area of the facility. 
 
R381-XXX-10.  Capacity and Ratio. 

(1)  The maximum allowed capacity for a child care facility may 
be limited by local ordinances. 
 (2)  The number of children in care at any given time shall not 
exceed the capacity identified on the license. 

(3) The total capacity is based on the number of rooms and the 
ages of children cared for in those rooms.  

(4)  As listed in Table 1 for single-age groups of children, the 
provider shall: 

(a) maintain at least the number of caregivers, and 
(b) not exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-child 

ratio per room. 
 

 TABLE 1 
 Caregiver-to-Child Ratios 
                         
Ages of Children      # of Caregivers   # of Children    
 
2 years old           at least 1        7           
3 years old           at least 1        12          
4 years old           at least 1        15          
5 years old           at least 1        20          
  
 (5)  As listed in Tables 2-4 for mixed-age groups of children, 



 

 

the provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of caregivers, and 
 (b) not exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-child 
ratio per room. 
 
 TABLE 2 
 Two-to-five-year-olds 
 
# Caregivers Required          Age       # Children in the room 
 
     At least 1                 2 years             1-6 
                                3, 4, and 5 years   1-10 
              Maximum Total children in the room: 11 
  
 
 
 TABLE 3 
 Three-to-five-year-olds 
 
# Caregivers Required     Age       # Children in the room 
 
     At least 1            3 years              1-11 
                           4 years              1-14 
                           5 years              1-14 
             Maximum Total children in the room: 16 
 
 
 TABLE 4 
 Four-to-five-year-olds 
 
# Caregivers Required     Age       # Children in the room 
 
          At least 1       4 years               1-14 
                           5 years               1-17 
             Maximum Total children in the room: 18 
   
 (6)  The provider's or an employee's child age 4 years or older 
is not counted in the caregiver-to-child ratio when the parent of the 
child is working at the facility. 
 (8)  Caregivers who are 16 or 17 years old may be included in the 
caregiver-to-child ratio, but shall not have unsupervised contact with 
any child in care. 
 (7)  Volunteers may be included in the caregiver-to-child ratio 
if they: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old, and 
 (b)  receive at least 2.5 hours of preservice training before 
counting in the caregiver-to-child ratio.  



 

 

 (8)  Student interns who are registered in a high school or 
college child care course may count in the caregiver-to-child ratio 
when requirements in R381-XXX-7(14)(a)-(c) are met. 
 (9)  Guests shall not count in caregiver-to-child ratios. 
 
R381-XXX-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child at all times. 
 (2)  Active supervision shall include: 
 (a)  caregivers shall be physically present in the room or area 
with the children; 
 (b) caregivers shall know the number of children in their care 
at all times;  
 (c) caregivers' attention shall be focused on the children and 
not on caregivers' personal interests;  
 (d) caregivers shall be aware of the entire group of children even 
when interacting with a smaller group or an individual child; and  
 (e) caregivers shall position themselves so all children in their 
assigned group are actively supervised.  
 (3)  Whenever a child is in care, the child's parent shall have 
access to their child and the areas used to care for their child. 
 (4)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out; 
 (b)  only parents or persons with written authorization from the 
parent may sign out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child in or out is unknown to the provider; 
 (d)  persons signing children in and out use identifiers, such 
as a signature, initials, or electronic code; and 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and time 
each child arrives and leaves. 
 (5)  In an emergency, the caregiver shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child when the caregiver can confirm 
the identity of: 
 (a)  the person giving verbal authorization, and 
 (b)  the person picking up the child. 
 (8)  A six-week record of each child's daily attendance, 
including sign-in and sign-out records, shall be kept on-site for 
review by the Department. 
 
R381-XXX-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those who 
interact with the children of the program's behavioral expectations 
and how any misbehavior will be handled. 



 

 

 (3)  Individuals who interact with the children shall guide 
children's behavior by using positive reinforcement, redirection, and 
by setting clear limits that promote children's ability to become 
self-disciplined. 
 (4)  Caregivers shall use gentle, passive restraint with 
children only when it is needed to stop children from injuring 
themselves or others, or from destroying property. 
 (5)  Interactions with the children shall not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that produces 
physical pain or discomfort such as hitting, spanking, shaking, 
biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure such as a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any person who witnesses or suspects that a child has been 
subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall immediately notify 
Child Protective Services or law enforcement as required in Utah Code 
Section 62A-4a-403 and Section 62A-4a-411. 
 
R381-XXX-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The building, outdoor area, toys, and equipment shall be 
used in a safe manner and as intended by the manufacturer to prevent 
injury to children. 
 (2)  Poisonous and harmful plants shall be inaccessible to 
children. 
 (3)  Sharp objects, edges, corners, or points that could cut or 
puncture skin shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (4)  Choking hazards shall be inaccessible to children to 
children younger than 3 years of age. 
 (5)  Strangulation hazards such as ropes, cords, chains, and 
wires attached to a structure and long enough to encircle a child's 
neck shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (6)  Tripping hazards such as unsecured flooring, rugs with 
curled edges, or cords in walkways shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  Empty plastic bags large enough for a child's head to fit 
inside, latex gloves, and balloons shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (8)  Standing water that measures 2 inches or deeper and 5 by 5 
inches or greater in diameter shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  Toxic or hazardous chemicals such as cleaners, 
insecticides, lawn products, and flammable materials shall be: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children, 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions, and 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with their contents. 



 

 

 (10)  Items and substances that could burn a child or start a fire 
shall be inaccessible, such as: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning stoves, 
and fireplaces of all types. 
 (11)  Children shall be protected from items that cause 
electrical shock such as: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  electrical outlets and surge protectors without protective 
caps or safety devices when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or as otherwise allowed by law, firearms such 
as guns, muzzles loaders, rifles, shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and 
automatic guns shall: 
 (a)  be locked in a cabinet or area with a key, combination lock, 
or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  Weapons such as paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, 
sling shots, arrows, and mace shall be inaccessible to children. 
 (14)  Alcohol, illegal substances, and sexually explicit 
material shall be inaccessible, and shall not be used on the premises, 
during offsite activities, or in program vehicles any time a child is 
in care. 
 (15)  If there is an outdoor area used by the children, an outdoor 
source of drinking water shall be available to each child whenever the 
outside temperature is 75 degrees or higher. 
 (16)  Areas accessible to children shall be free of heavy or 
unstable objects that children could pull down on themselves, such as 
furniture, unsecured televisions, and standing ladders. 
 (17)  Hot water accessible to children shall not exceed 120 
degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (18)  Tobacco, e-cigarettes, e-juice, e-liquids, and similar 
products shall be inaccessible and, in compliance with the Utah Indoor 
Clean Air Act, not used: 
 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in care, 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care, 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care, or 
 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor area 
occupied by a child in care. 
 
R381-XXX-14.  Emergency Preparedness and Response. 
 (1)  The provider shall post the facility's street address and 
emergency numbers, including ambulance, fire, police, and poison 



 

 

control, near each telephone in the facility or in an area clearly 
visible to anyone needing the information. 
 (2)  The provider shall keep first-aid supplies in the facility, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills monthly.  
Drills shall include a complete exit of all children, staff, and 
volunteers from the building. 
 (4)  The provider shall document each fire drill, including: 
 (a)  the date and time of the drill, 
 (b)  the number of children participating, 
 (c)  the name of the person supervising the drill, 
 (d)  the total time to complete the evacuation, and 
 (e)  any problems encountered. 
 (5)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other than 
fires at least once every 6 months. 
 (6)  The provider shall document each disaster drill, including: 
 (a)  the type of disaster, such as earthquake, flood, prolonged 
power or water outage, or tornado; 
 (b)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (c)  the number of children participating; 
 (d)  the name of the person supervising the drill; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered. 
 (7)  The provider shall vary the days and times on which fire and 
other disaster drills are held. 
 (8)  The provider shall keep documentation of the previous 12 
months of fire and disaster drills on-site for review by the 
Department. 
 (9)  In case of an emergency or disaster, the provider and 
employees shall follow procedures as outlined in the preschool 
program's health and safety plan unless otherwise instructed by 
emergency personnel. 
 (10)  The provider shall give parents a written report of every 
incident, accident, or injury involving their child. The caregivers 
involved, the program director or director designee, and the person 
picking up the child shall sign the report on the day of occurrence. 
 (11)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the child's parent shall be contacted 
immediately. 
 (12)  In the case of a life-threatening injury to a child, or an 
injury that poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb: 
 (a)  emergency personnel shall be called immediately; 
 (b)  after emergency personnel are called, then the parent shall 
be contacted; and 
 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, staff shall try to contact 
the child's emergency contact person. 
 (13)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 



 

 

 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the Department 
within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the Department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within 5 business days of the 
incident. 
 (14)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of every 
incident, accident, and injury report on-site for review by the 
Department. 
 
R381-XXX-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The building, furnishings, equipment, and outdoor area 
shall be kept clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls, and flooring shall be clean and free of spills, dirt, 
and grime; 
 (b) the building and grounds shall be free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; and  
 (c) the facility shall be free of animal feces.    
 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  Fabric toys and items such as stuffed animals, cloth dolls, 
pillow covers, and dress-up clothes shall be machine washable and 
washed weekly, and as needed. 
 (4)  Water play tables or tubs shall be cleaned and sanitized 
daily, if used by the children. 
 (5)  Bathroom surfaces including toilets, sinks, faucets, and 
counters shall be cleaned and sanitized each day. 
 (6)  Toilet paper shall be accessible to children and kept in a 
dispenser. 
 (7)  The provider shall post handwashing procedures that are 
readily visible from each handwashing sink and shall ensure that the 
procedures are followed. 
 (8)  Staff and volunteers shall wash their hands thoroughly with 
liquid soap and running water at required times including: 
 (a) after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet,  
 (b) after contact with a body fluid,  
 (c) after cleaning up or taking out garbage,  
 (d) after diapering a child, and 
 (d) before administering medications to children.  
 (9)  Caregivers shall teach children how to wash their hands 
thoroughly and shall oversee handwashing whenever possible. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their hands 
thoroughly with liquid soap and running water at required times 
including: 
 (a) after using the toilet,  
 (b) after contact with a body fluid,  
 (c) before using a water play table or tub, and 



 

 

 (d) before eating a snack.  
 (11)  Only single-use towels from a covered dispenser or an 
electric hand dryer may be used to dry hands. 
 (12)  Personal hygiene items, such as toothbrushes, combs, and 
hair accessories, shall not be shared and shall be stored so they do 
not touch each other, or they shall be sanitized between each use. 
 (13)  A child's clothing shall be promptly changed if the child 
has a toileting accident. 
 (14)  Children's clothing that is wet or soiled from a body fluid 
shall: 
 (a)  not be rinsed or washed at the facility, 
 (b)  be placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name, and 
 (c)  be returned to the parent, or 
 (d)  thrown away with parent consent. 
 (15)  Staff shall take precautions when cleaning floors, 
furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by blood, urine, feces, or 
vomit.  Except for toileting accidents, staff shall: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
 (e) throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, such as paper towels, that were used to clean up the body 
fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to clean 
up the body fluid, such as cleaning cloths, mops, or reusable rubber 
gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 
 (16)  A child who is ill with an infectious disease may not be 
cared for at the facility except when the child shows signs of illness 
after signed in. 
 (17)  When a child becomes ill while in care: 
 (a)  the provider shall contact the child's parent or, if the 
parent cannot be reached, an individual listed as the emergency contact 
to immediately pick up the child; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, the child 
shall be made comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is separated 
from the other children until the parent arrives. 
 (18)  When any child or employee has an infectious disease, an 
unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the 
provider shall notify the local health department on the day the 
illness is discovered. 
 (19)  The provider shall post a notice at the facility when any 
staff member or child has an infectious disease or parasite.  The 
notice shall: 
 (a)  not disclose any personal identifiable information, 



 

 

 (b)  be posted in a conspicuous place where it can be seen by all 
parents, 
 (c)  be posted and dated on the same day that the disease or 
parasite is discovered, and 
 (d)  remain posted for at least 5 days. 
 
R381-XXX-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
 (1)The provider shall ensure that each child is offered a snack 
when services are provided for 3 or more hours. 
 (2)  The person who serves snacks to children shall: 
 (a)  be aware of the children in their assigned group who have 
food allergies or sensitivities, and 
 (b)  ensure that the children are not served the snack they are 
allergic or sensitive to. 
 
R381-XXX-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  Nonrefrigerated medications shall be stored at least 48 
inches above the floor or shall be locked. 
 (2)  Refrigerated medications shall be stored at least 36 inches 
above the floor or shall be locked, and if liquid, they shall be stored 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  All over-the-counter and prescription medications supplied 
by parents shall: 
 (a)  be labeled with the child's full name, 
 (b)  be kept in the original or pharmacy container, 
 (c)  have the original label, and 
 (d)  have child-safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication permission form 
completed and signed by the parent before administering any medication 
supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The medication permission form shall include: 
 (a)  the name of the child, 
 (b)  the name of the medication, 
 (c)  written instructions for administration, and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The instructions for administering the medication shall 
include: 
 (a)  the dosage, 
 (b)  how the medication will be given, 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication, and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication for 
children's use, the medication shall not be administered to any child 
without previous parental consent for each instance it is given.  The 
consent shall be: 
 (a)  prior written consent; or 
 (b)  verbal consent if the date and time of the consent is 



 

 

documented, and is signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The caregiver administering the medication shall: 
 (a)  wash their hands, 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name if 
the parent supplied the medication, 
 (c)  check the medication label or the package to ensure that a 
child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by the health 
care professional or manufacturer, and 
 (d)  administer the medication. 
 (9)  Immediately after administering a medication, the caregiver 
giving the medication shall record the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 
 (b)  any errors in administration or adverse reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report a child's adverse reaction to a 
medication or error in administration to the parent immediately upon 
recognizing the reaction or error, or after notifying emergency 
personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  If the provider chooses not to administer medication as 
instructed by the parent, the provider shall notify the parent of their 
refusal to administer the medication before the time the medication 
needs to be given. 
 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of medication 
permission and administration forms on-site for review by the 
Department. 
 
R381-XXX-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support each 
child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and language 
development.   
 (2)  Physical development activities shall include light, 
moderate, and vigorous physical activity for a daily total of at least 
15 minutes for every 2 hours children spend in the program. 
 (3)  The provider shall post a daily schedule that includes 
activities that support children's healthy development. 
 (4)  Toys, materials, and equipment needed to support children's 
healthy development shall be available to the children. 
 (5)  Except for occasional special events, the children's 
primary screen time activity on media such as television, cell phones, 
tablets, and computers shall be limited for to 30 minutes per day, or 
2.5 hours per week. 
 (6)  If swimming activities are offered or if wading pools are 
used: 
 (a)  the provider shall obtain parental permission before each 
child in care uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers shall stay at the pool supervising whenever a 
child is in the pool or has access to the pool, and whenever a wading 



 

 

pool has water in it; 
 (c) diapered children shall wear swim diapers whenever they are 
in the pool; 
 (d) wading pools shall be emptied and sanitized after use by each 
group of children;  
 (e) if the pool is over 4 feet deep, there shall be a lifeguard 
on duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved 
certification program any time children have access to the pool; and  
 (f) lifeguards and pool personnel shall not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio.  
 (7)  If offsite activities are offered: 
 (a)  the provider shall obtain written parental consent before 
each activity; 
 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision shall 
be maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
band-aids, and tweezers shall be available; 
 (d)  children shall wear or carry with them the name and phone 
number of the program; 
 (e)  children's names shall not be used on nametags, t-shirts, 
or in other visible ways; and 
 (f)  there shall be a way for caregivers and children to wash 
their hands with soap and water, or if there is no source of running 
water, caregivers and children shall clean their hands with wet wipes 
and hand sanitizer. 
 (8)  On every offsite activity, caregivers shall take the written 
emergency information and releases for each child in the group.  The 
information shall include: 
 (a)  the child's name, 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number, 
 (c)  the name and phone number of a person to notify in case of 
an emergency if the parent cannot be contacted, 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick up the 
child, and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency medical 
transportation releases. 
 
R381-XXX-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play equipment 
use it safely and in the manner intended by the manufacturer. 
 (2)  Stationary play equipment shall have a surrounding use zone 
that extends from the outermost edge of the equipment.  With the 
exception of swings, stationary play equipment shall have at least a 
6-foot use zone if any designated play surface is higher than 20 inches. 
 (3)  The use zone in the front and rear of a single-axis, enclosed 
swing shall extend at least twice the distance of the swing pivot point 
to the swing seat. 



 

 

 (4)  The use zone in the front and rear of a single-axis swing 
shall extend at least twice the distance of the swing pivot point to 
the ground. 
 (5)  The use zone for a multi-axis swing, such as a tire swing, 
shall extend at least the measurement of the suspending rope or chain 
plus 6 feet. 
 (6)  The use zone for a merry-go-round shall extend at least 6 
feet in all directions from its outermost edge. 
 (7)  The use zone for a spring rocker shall extend least 6 feet 
from the outermost edge of the rocker when at rest if the seat is higher 
than 20 inches. 
 (8)  The following use zones shall not overlap the use zone of 
any other piece of play equipment: 
 (a)  the use zone in front of a slide; 
 (b)  the use zone in the front and rear of any single-axis swing, 
including a single-axis enclosed swing; 
 (c)  the use zone of a multi-axis swing; and 
 (d)  the use zone of a merry-go-round if the platform diameter 
measures 20 inches or more. 
 (9)  Unless prohibited in R381-XXX-19(8), the use zones of play 
equipment may overlap when there is at least 6 feet between the pieces 
of equipment if the designated play surface is 30 inches or lower, or 
there is at least 9 feet between the pieces of equipment if the 
designated play surface is higher than 30 inches.  
 (10)  Stationary play equipment without moving parts children 
sit or stand on shall not be placed on concrete, asphalt, dirt, a bare 
floor, or any other hard surface, but may be placed on grass or other 
cushioning, if the highest designated play surface measures between 
6 to 20 inches, and the use zone shall extend at least 3 feet from the 
outermost edge of the equipment. 
 (11)  Protective cushioning shall cover the entire surface of 
each required use zone and its depth or thickness shall be determined 
by the highest designated play surface of the equipment. 
 (12)  If sand, gravel, or shredded tires are used as protective 
cushioning, the depth of the material shall meet the CPSC guidelines 
in Table 6. 
 (a)  the provider shall ensure that the cushioning is 
periodically checked for compaction and loosened to the depth listed 
in Table 5 if compacted; and 
 (b)  if the material cannot be loosened due to extreme weather 
conditions, the provider shall not allow children to play on the 
equipment until the material can be loosened to the required depth. 
 
 TABLE 5 
 
 Depths of Protective Cushioning Required 
 for Sand, Gravel, and Shredded Tires 



 

 

 
Highest Designated 
Play Surface, 
Climbing Bar, or 
Swing Pivot Point  Fine   Coarse  Fine    Medium    Shredded 
                   Sand    Sand   Gravel   Gravel   Tires 
 
4' high or less    6"      6"       6"      6"       6" 
Over 4' up to 5'   6"      6"       6"      6"       6" 
Over 5' up to 6'   6"      9"       6"      9"       6" 
Over 6' up to 7'   9"      not      9"      not      6" 
                           allowed          allowed 
Over 7' up to 8'   9"      not      9"      not      6" 
                           allowed          allowed 
Over 8' up to 9'   9"      not      9"      not      6" 
                           allowed          allowed 
Over 9' up to 10'  not     not      9"      not      6" 
                   allowed allowed          allowed 
Over 10' up to 11' not     not      not     not      6" 
                   allowed allowed  allowed allowed 
Over 11' up to 12' not     not      not     not      6" 
                   allowed allowed  allowed allowed 
  
 (13)  If shredded wood products are used as protective 
cushioning: 
 (a)  the provider shall keep on-site for review by the Department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the wood product meets ASTM 
Specification F1292, 
 (b)  there shall be adequate drainage under the material, and 
 (c)  the depth of the shredded wood shall meet the CPSC guidelines 
in Table 6. 
 
 TABLE 6 
 
 Depths of Protective Cushioning Required 
 for Shredded Wood Products 
 
Highest Designated 
Play Surface, 
Climbing Bar, or 
Swing Pivot Point    Engineered    Wood   Double Shredded 
                     Wood Fibers   Chips     Bark Mulch 
 
4' high or less         6"          6"         6" 
Over 4' up to 5'        6"          6"         6" 
Over 5' up to 6'        6"          6"         6" 
Over 6' up to 7'        9"          6"         9" 



 

 

Over 7' up to 8'        9"          9"         9" 
Over 8' up to 9'        9"          9"         9" 
Over 9' up to 10'       9"          9"         9" 
Over 10' up to 11'      9"          9"         9" 
Over 11'                9"         not         not 
                                   allowed     allowed 
  
 (14)  If a unitary cushioning is used, the provider shall ensure 
that the material meets the standard established in ASTM Specification 
F1292.  The provider shall maintain on-site for review by the 
Department documentation from the manufacturer that the material meets 
these specifications. 
 (15)  If a unitary cushioning is used, the provider shall ensure 
that the cushioning material is securely installed, so that it cannot 
become displaced when children jump, run, walk, land, or move on it, 
or be moved by children picking it up. 
 (16)  A play equipment platform that is more than 30 inches above 
the floor or ground shall have a protective barrier that is at least 
29 inches high. 
 (17)  There shall be no gap greater than 3-1/2 inches in or under 
a required protective barrier on a play equipment platform. 
 (18)  Stationary play equipment shall be stable or securely 
anchored. 
 (19)  There shall be no trampolines on the premises that are 
accessible to any child in care. 
 (20)  There shall be no entrapment hazards on or within the use 
zone of any piece of stationary play equipment. 
 (21)  There shall be no strangulation hazards on or within the 
use zone of any piece of stationary play equipment. 
 (22)  There shall be no crush, shearing, or sharp edge hazards 
on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play equipment. 
 (23)  There shall be no tripping hazards such as concrete 
footings, tree stumps, tree roots, or rocks within the use zone of any 
piece of stationary play equipment. 
 (24) For preschool programs operating before January 1, 2020 that 
need to make compliance modifications to existing play equipment, CCL 
will facilitate a phase-in schedule for up to five years from the 
initial inspection. 
 
R381-XXX-20.  Transportation. 
 If transportation services are offered: 
 (1)  For each child being transported, the provider shall have 
a transportation permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent, and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the Department. 
 (2)  Each vehicle used for transporting children shall: 
 (a)  be enclosed with a roof or top, 



 

 

 (b)  be equipped with safety restraints, 
 (c)  have a current vehicle registration, 
 (d)  be maintained in a safe and clean condition, and 
 (e)  contain first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
band-aids, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The safety restraints in each vehicle that transports 
children shall: 
 (a)  be appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  be properly installed; and 
 (c)  be in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The driver of each vehicle who is transporting children 
shall: 
 (a)  be at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  have and carry with them a current, valid driver's license 
for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  have with them the written emergency contact information for 
each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensure that each child being transported is in an individual 
safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
 (e)  ensure that the inside vehicle temperature is between 60-85 
degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leave a child in the vehicle unattended by an adult; 
 (g)  ensure that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leave the keys in the ignition when not in the driver's 
seat; and 
 (i)  ensure that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  When the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  each child being transported has a completed transportation 
permission form signed by their parent, 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively supervises 
them, 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained, and 
 (d)  caregivers take each child's written emergency contact 
information and releases with them. 
 
R381-XXX-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of animals 
allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  There shall be no animal on the premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one person. 



 

 

 (3)  Animals at the facility shall be clean and free of obvious 
disease or health problems that could adversely affect children. 
 (4)  There shall be no animal or animal equipment in food 
preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  Children younger than five years old shall not assist with 
the cleaning of animals or animal cages, pens, or equipment. 
 (6)  If children five years old help in the cleaning of animals 
or animal equipment, the children shall wash their hands immediately 
after cleaning the animal or equipment. 
 (7)  Children and staff shall wash their hands immediately after 
playing with or touching reptiles and amphibians. 
 (8)  Dogs, cats, and ferrets that are housed at the facility shall 
have current rabies vaccinations. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination records 
on-site for review by the Department. 
 
R381-XXX-22.  Diapering. 
 If the provider accepts children who wear diapers: 
 (1)  The provider shall post diapering procedures at each 
diapering station and ensure that they are followed. 
 (2)  Caregivers shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
 (a)  checked at least once every 2 hours, and 
 (b)  promptly changed when wet or soiled.  
 (3)  Caregivers shall change children's diapers at a diapering 
station.  Diapers shall not be changed on surfaces used for any other 
purpose. 
 (4)  The diapering surface shall be smooth, waterproof, and in 
good repair. 
 (5)  Caregivers shall not leave children unattended on the 
diapering surface. 
 (6)  Caregivers shall clean and sanitize the diapering surface 
after each diaper change, or use a disposable, waterproof diapering 
surface that is thrown away after each diaper change. 
 (7)  Caregivers shall wash their hands after each diaper change. 
 (8)  Caregivers shall place wet and soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid, 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a 
tight-fitting lid, or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  Indoor containers where wet and soiled diapers are placed 
shall be cleaned and sanitized each day. 


