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Section 1: Extension Request  

 

Utah is seeking a one-year extension of the Primary Care Network Demonstration 

Waiver.  The Utah State Legislature continues to debate the issue of Medicaid 

expansion for the optional adults.  Legislative Leadership indicates that this issue will be 

addressed further during the 2016 Legislative Session.  The General session is 

scheduled to run from January 25, 2016 through March 10, 2016.  In order to avoid any 

gap in coverage for the individuals currently covered under this waiver, Utah is asking 

for an additional one year extension. The State of Utah is not requesting any changes to 

the demonstration and the same waivers and expenditure authorities will apply in the 

extension period. 

 

Should the Utah Legislature approve expansion for the optional adult population, Utah 

will seek to amend this waiver as mechanism to obtain CMS approval for Utah’s 

expansion program.  If the Utah Legislature chooses not to expand Medicaid, Utah will 

submit a request for a full renewal of this current waiver by summer 2016.  

  

Letter from the Governor 

 

The State has included the letter from Governor Gary R. Herbert to Secretary Sylvia 

Matthews Burwell, Department of Health and Human Services dated June 26, 2015, 

requesting an additional one year extension of Utah’s 1115 waiver.   
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Section 2:  History of Utah’s 1115 Waiver 

In the first few months of Governor Michael Leavitt’s first term, Governor Leavitt 

introduced HealthPrint, a step by step incremental plan for reducing the rates of 

uninsured in Utah. Under HealthPrint, Utah implemented initiatives targeted at very 

specific populations to increase coverage for children, seniors and the disabled.   These 

initiatives were very successful in reducing the uninsured in Utah.  However, there was 

still a need to address the health care access needs of thousands of low income 

working adults who had no health care coverage at all.  These Utahns may be working 

in some cases but have no access to health care through their employer.  In some 

cases these are individuals with health issues not severe enough to qualify them as 

disabled for purposes of Medicaid, but clearly significant enough to interfere with their 

ability to find and maintain employment at a level that would also provide them with 

access to health care coverage.  Many of them are seasonal employees. 

The 2014 Utah Health Status Survey indicates that 10.3% of Utahns 

(303,500individuals) remained uninsured. Of those uninsured, 82% (249,000) are adults 

between the ages of 19 and 64.  With regards to income, approximately 85,600 

uninsured adults are between 0-138 percent FPL. 

 

The intent of Utah ‘s Primary Care Network Demonstration  waiver is to allow up to 

25,000 uninsured adults whose income is below 95% of the federal poverty  level  to 

access a limited health care benefit focused on preventative care. The Primary Care 

Network (PCN) provides these individuals with ongoing access to primary care, 

pharmacy (up to four prescriptions per month) and emergency room coverage as well 

as other limited services. 

 

In order to fund the cost of providing services to a portion of uninsured adults, under 95 

percent FPL, parent and care taker relatives with incomes below 46 percent FPL 
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receive a slightly reduced benefit package.  While reduced, the benefit package is still 

comprehensive and meets essential benefit requirements.       

 

HISTORY 

 

• The Utah PCN 1115 demonstration waiver was submitted on December 11, 2001, 

approved on February 8, 2002, implemented on July 1, 2002, and was originally 

scheduled to expire on June 30, 2007. 

 

• Amendment #1 - This amendment made a technical correction needed to ensure 

that certain current Medicaid eligibles (i.e., those age 19 and above who are eligible 

through sections 1925 and 1931) in the demonstration who become pregnant get the 

full Medicaid State plan benefit package. It eliminated or reduced the benefit 

package for Current Eligibles to conform to changes to the benefits available under 

the State plan. Finally, it increased the co-payment for hospital admissions from 

$100 to $220, again to conform with changes to the State plan. (Approved on August 

20, 2002, effective on July 1, 2002.) 

 

• Amendment #2 - This amendment provided a premium assistance option called 

Covered at Work (CAW) for up to 6,000 of the 25,000 potential expansion enrollees. 

Specifically, the State subsidizes the employee's portion of the premium for up to 5 

years. The employer-sponsored insurance must provide coverage equal to or 

greater than the limited Medicaid package. The subsidy is phased down over 5 

years, to provide a span of time over which employees' wages can increase to the 

point of unsubsidized participation in the employer-sponsored plan. With this 

amendment, the State was also granted authority to reduce the enrollment fee for 

approximately 1,500 General Assistance beneficiaries, who are either transitioning 

back to work or are awaiting a disability determination. These individuals were 

required to enroll in PCN, but the $50 fee was prohibitive as they earn less than 



Page 6 
 

$260 per month. For this population, the State reduced the enrollment fee to $15. 

(Approved on May 30, 2003, effective on May 30, 2003.) 

 

• Amendment #3 - This amendment reduced the enrollment fee for a second subset 

of the expansion population. Specifically, approximately 5,200 individuals with 

incomes under 50 percent of the FPL had their enrollment fee reduced from $50 to 

$25. (Approved on July 6, 2004, effective on July 6, 2004.) 

 

• Amendment #4 - This changed the way that the maximum visits per year for 

Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy/Chiropractic Services are broken out for the 

"Current Eligibles" ("non-traditional" Medicaid) population. Instead of limiting these 

visits to a maximum of 16 visits per policy year in any combination, the State 

provides 10 visits per policy year for Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy and 6 

visits per policy year for Chiropractic Services. (Approved on March 31, 2005, 

effective on March 31, 2005.) 

 

• Amendment #5 - This amendment implemented the adult dental benefit for the 

"Current Eligibles" population (section 1925/1931 and medically needy non-

aged/blind/disabled adults). (Approved on August 31, 2005, effective on October 1, 

2005.) 

 

• Amendment #6 - This amendment suspended the adult dental benefit coverage for 

Current Eligibles of Amendment #5 above. (Approved on October 25, 2006, effective 

on November 1, 2006.) 

 

• Amendment #7 - This amendment implemented an increase in the prescription co-

payments for the Current Eligible population from $2.00 per prescription to $3.00 per 

prescription. (Approved on October 25, 2006, effective on November 1, 2006.) 
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 Amendment #8 - This amendment implemented a Preferred Drug List (PDL) for 

Demonstration Population I adults in the PCN. (Approved on October 25, 2006, 

effective on November 1, 2006.) 

 

• Amendment #9 - This amendment implemented the State's Health Insurance 

Flexibility and Accountability (HIFA) application request, entitled State Expansion of 

Employer Sponsored Health Insurance (ESI) (dated June 23, 2006, and change #1 

dated September 5, 2006). Also, this amendment suspends Amendment #2 - for the 

CAW program, which was absorbed by the new HIFA-ESI program. (Approved on 

October 25, 2006, effective on November 1, 2006.) 

 

This amendment provides the option of ESI premium assistance to adults with 

countable household income up to and including 150 percent of the FPL, if the 

employee's cost to participate in the plan is at least 5 percent of the household's 

countable income. The State subsidizes premium assistance through a monthly 

subsidy of up to $150 per adult. The employer must pay at least half (50 percent) of 

the employee’s health insurance premium, but no employer share of the premium is 

required for the spouse or children.  Likewise, an ESI component for children 

provides CHIP-eligible children with family incomes up to and including 200 percent 

of the FPL with the option of ESI premium assistance through their parent's 

employer or direct CHIP coverage. The per-child monthly premium subsidy depends 

on whether dental benefits are provided in the ESI plan. If provided, the premium 

subsidy is $140 per month; otherwise, it drops to $120 per month. If dental benefits 

are not provided by a child's ESI plan, the State offers dental coverage through 

direct CHIP coverage. Families and children are subject to the cost sharing of the 

employee's health plan, and the amounts are not limited to the title XXI out-of-pocket 

cost sharing limit of 5 percent. Benefits vary by the commercial health care plan 

product provided by each employer. However, Utah ensures that all participating 

plans cover, at a minimum, well-baby/well child care services, age appropriate 

immunizations, dental services, physician visits, hospital inpatient, and pharmacy. 

Families are provided with written information explaining the differences in benefits 
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and cost sharing between direct coverage and the ESI plan so that they can make 

an informed choice. All children have the choice to opt back into direct CHIP 

coverage at any time.  

 

 Amendment #10- This amendment enables the State to provide premium 

assistance to children and adults for coverage obtained under provisions of the 

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986 (COBRA).  COBRA 

provides certain former employees, retirees, spouses, former spouses, and 

dependent children the right to temporary continuation of employer-based group 

health coverage at group rates.  COBRA coverage becomes available following the 

loss of employer-sponsored health insurance (ESI) due to specified qualifying 

events, such as an end of employment (voluntary or involuntary); divorce or legal 

separation; death of employee; entitlement to Medicare; reduction in hours of 

employment; and loss of dependent-child status.  Through this amendment, Utah will 

provide premium assistance to programmatically-eligible adults and children (as 

differentiated from individuals who are COBRA-eligible but not otherwise eligible for 

the Utah COBRA premium assistance program) toward the purchase of COBRA 

coverage, in a manner similar to the provision of premium assistance for the 

purchase ESI coverage.  (Medicare-eligible individuals who are also COBRA-eligible 

would be ineligible for the Utah COBRA Premium Assistance Program (CPAP) 

based on age or the State’s standard processes of cross-matching with SSI/SSDI 

eligibility files).   

 

During its initial period of operation, Utah’s COBRA Premium Assistance Program 

(CPAP) will work in tandem with the subsidy provided under the American Recovery 

and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) for the purchase of COBRA coverage.  

Specifically, ARRA provides a Federal subsidy of 65 percent of the cost of COBRA 

coverage, to individuals and families affected by involuntary job loss occurring 

September 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009.  As long as the individual receives the 

ARRA subsidy, the State would provide the family with premium assistance based on 

the number of programmatically-eligible individuals, but limited to the lower of 35 
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percent of the cost of COBRA that remains the individual’s responsibility or the 

maximum amounts allowable by the State under these STCs.   

 

The ARRA COBRA subsidy is of limited duration and eligibility is scheduled to end 

February 28, 2010.  The ARRA COBRA subsidy can last for up to 9 months, whereby 

individuals qualifying on December 31, 2009 could receive a subsidy through 

September 30, 2010.  Once the ARRA subsidy ends, or for those not eligible for the 

ARRA COBRA subsidy, the  Utah CPAP  will continue to provide a monthly payment for 

up to 18 months to offset the cost of COBRA coverage.  Under the Utah program, the 

amount of premium assistance available to a family will be based on the number of 

programmatically-eligible individuals in the household.  However, as with the existing 

ESI program, the State will use various administrative databases to ensure that it does 

not exceed the individual/family’s share of the cost of the COBRA premium. 

 

 The Utah CPAP program will provide premium assistance to programmatically-eligible 

individuals and families with existing COBRA coverage, whether or not the individual 

qualifies for the ARRA COBRA subsidy.  Individuals and families, who are COBRA-

eligible but, uninsured, may also apply for enrollment in the Utah CPAP.   Once the 

Utah CPAP has been implemented, the State may provide premium assistance for up to 

three months of retroactive eligibility, but the first date of retroactive eligibility may not 

pre-date the first day the State was approved to amend the section 1115 PCN 

Demonstration.  CPAP assistance will be limited to the maximums set in the ESI 

program, will last for the period of COBRA coverage, and will not exceed the family’s 

share of the cost of the premium or the maximum amounts allowable as set by the State 

under these STCs.  The State plans to implement CPAP on or about November 1, 

2009.   

 

• Amendment #11-This amendment raised the income eligibility for premium 

assistance for adults between the ages of 19 and 64 [Demonstration populations III 

(ESI) and V (COBRA) from 150% of the FPL to 200 % of the FPL.  This amendment 

was approved by CMS on September 28, 2012. 
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Section 1115(e) Extension - On June 23, 2006, the State of Utah formally requested 

an extension of their PCN 1115 demonstration waiver under the authority of Section 

1115(e) of the Social Security Act. The demonstration, which would have expired on 

June 30, 2007, was approved for a 3-year extension from July 1, 2007, through June 

30, 2010. 

 

Section 1115(f) Extension- On February 3, 2010 the State of Utah formally requested 

an extension of their PCN 1115 Demonstration waiver under the authority of Section 

1115(f) of the Social Security Act. The demonstration, which would have expired on 

June 30, 2010, was approved for a 3-year extension from July 1, 2010, through June 

30, 2013. 

 

Section 1115(f) Extension – On December 28, 2012 the State of Utah formally 

requested an extension of their PCN 1115 Demonstration waiver under the authority of 

Section 1115(f) of the Social Security Act. The demonstration was set to expire June 30, 

2013.  The request was to renew the waiver for the period of July 1, 2013-June 30, 

2016. CMS never acted on the request for extension.  The extension was informally 

placed on hold pending Utah’s decision to expand Medicaid to the optional adult 

population between 0-138 percent FPL.  

 

Request for One Year Extension- Effective December 24, 2013, CMS extended the 

Waiver until December 31, 2014. 

 

Request for One Year Extension- effective December 19, 2014, CMS extended the 

Waiver until December 31, 2015. 
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Section 3: Program Description and Objectives  

Utah’s Primary Care Network (PCN) is a statewide section 1115 Demonstration to 

expand Medicaid coverage to certain able-bodied adults who are not eligible for State 

plan services and to offer these adults and children eligible for CHIP an alternative to 

traditional direct coverage public programs.  For State plan eligibles who are 

categorically or medically needy parents or other caretaker relatives, the Demonstration 

provides a reduced benefit package and requires increased cost-sharing.  Savings from 

this State plan population fund a Medicaid expansion for up to 25,000 uninsured adults 

age 19 to 64 with family incomes up to 95 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). 

This expansion population of parents, caretaker relatives, and childless adults is 

covered for a limited package of preventive and primary care services.  Also high-risk 

pregnant women, whose resources made them ineligible under the State plan, were 

covered under the Demonstration for the full Medicaid benefits package until January 1, 

2014.  The implementation of ACA eliminated the need for a waiver for this population. 

 

The PCN Demonstration was amended in October 2006 to also use Demonstration 

savings to offer assistance with payment of ESI premiums through Utah’s Premium 

Partnership for Health Insurance (UPP).  The UPP program uses Title XIX funds to 

provide up to $150 per month in ESI premium assistance to each uninsured adult in 

families with income up to 150 percent FPL.  UPP also uses Title XXI funds to provide 

premium assistance up to $120 per month per child for CHIP eligible children with family 

income up 200 percent FPL.  UPP children receive dental coverage through direct CHIP 

coverage or they receive an additional $20 per month if they receive dental coverage 

through the ESI. 

 

Effective December 18, 2009, the PCN Demonstration was further amended to enable 

the State to provide premium assistance to children and adults for coverage obtained 

under the provisions of COBRA.  
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 Effective September 2012, the waiver was further amended to allow adults up to 200% 

of the FPL be eligible for premium assistance for ESI or COBRA continuation coverage. 

Effective January 1, 2014, the PCN Demonstration was amended to reduce the 

eligibility income level for Demonstration Population I to 100 percent FPL consistent 

with the changes in eligibility with the implementation of ACA.  In addition, this extension 

required Utah to use MAGI based methodologies for determining income.  Further the 

extension approved a transition plans to move Demonstration I individuals with incomes 

at 100 percent FPL or greater off of the PCN program and to the federal marketplace.  

Finally this extension also amended the waiver to require cost sharing for all 

demonstration populations, where applicable, consistent with the Utah Medicaid state 

plan. 

Section 4: Compliance with Special Terms and Conditions  

 

Utah has successfully completed all deliverables required by the Primary Care Network 

Special Terms and Conditions and continues to work diligently to assure compliance 

with all waiver requirements. The State maintains comprehensive administrative rules, 

eligibility policies, and provider manuals that are regularly updated to reflect the most 

current operational policies and procedures of the Primary Care Network demonstration 

waiver.  

 

Utah has complied with all applicable Federal statues relating to nondiscrimination. 

 

Utah has complied with all applicable requirements of the Medicaid and CHIP  

expressed in laws, regulations, and policy statements, not expressly waived or identified 

as non applicable in the Special Terms and Conditions (STCs), apply to Utah’s 1115 

Demonstration Waiver, Primary Care Network. 

 

Utah has complied with and has come into compliance with all changes in Federal law 

affecting the Medicaid or CHIP program that have occurred after the approval of the 

demonstration award date. 
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Utah’s 1115 Demonstration Waiver adheres to all requirements of the approved 1115 

waiver. 

 

Utah remains within the budget neutrality expenditure cap for all populations. 

 

Section 6: Compliance with Budget Neutrality    
   Requirements 

   See Attachment  

Section 7: Program Evaluation 

   See Attachment  

 

Section 8: Public Notice and Tribal Consultation 

Public Notice of the State’s request for renewal and amendment and notice of Public 

Hearing was published in the Utah State Bulletin on October 15, 2015  

On October 22, 2015 the State held a public hearing from 3:30 PM to 5:30 PM to take 

public comment on the extension request.  

On September 11, 2015, a presentation regarding the request for renewal of Utah’s 

1115 Waiver and amendments was provided to the Utah Indian Health Advisory Board. 

This is the first step in our approved consultation process.  The Tribes did not request 

additional consultation.    

On June 16, 2015, the State’s request for an additional one year extension of the PCN 

Waiver was discussed during the Medical Care Advisory Committee from 1:30PM to 

3:30 PM and took  public comment on the PCN Demonstration Waiver extension 

request.  
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Section 9: Quality Initiatives 

State plan eligibles in thirteen counties receive physical health services through full risk 

capitated Medicaid Accountable Care Organizations (ACO) managed care plans.  

Mental health and Substance Use Disorder services for populations covered under this 

waiver are also provided through pre-paid mental health plans (PAHPs).  A copy of the 

State’s latest External Quality Review Organization report is included with this request 

for renewal.  

A copy of Utah’s most current Consumer Assessment of Health Plans Survey (CAHPS) 

is included with this request for renewal.  
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